We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and beautiful property!”
Review of Bicheno by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Bicheno By The Bay was a lovely surprise. We struck bad weather but it didn't matter at all as we stayed in the units by the little lake and were treated to little kangaroos and wallabies coming by our window to eat and drink, every morning and evening. Wonderful! The rooms were new and well appointed with a bathroom rivalling the newest and best big hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. TV reception is poor, so there are DVDs for very cheap hire at the office. Will be going back to spend more time in this great place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 252 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in January with 2 adults and 3 kids, had an extremely enjoyable holiday. Slight hiccup with the booking but quickly sorted out, found staff extremely helpful and friendly. Pirate ship playground, canoe lake, pool, fire pit for roasting marshmallows and so close to everything in Bicheno made this perfect family accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Recently returned from a 7 day stay in Tasmania. I chose the Motel Units at Bicheno by the Bay for a 3 night stop over. Julie is very helpful and will give you the rundown on what to see around Bicheno. The Motel Units are absolutely beautiful, excellent beds, beautiful bathroom and everything you need is available in the unit. Pictures on the website are true to what you see. The Motel Units are built away from the other accommodation cottages and is very quiet, great for sleeping. Bicheno is a good base for day trips to Freycinet and Swansea. The people of Bicheno are very friendly, Pasinis restaurant is a great eatery but book early for dinner. There is also a great bakery in the town and seafood restaurant with live music looking out over the bay, book for this one also.

Room Tip: For two people choose the Motel Units, there are 4 only, all new and very beautiful and very peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austi_junglebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We are happy repeat customers of Bicheno by the Bay having stayed a few nights in 2004 with our family of four. The recent visit in December 2011 was even more enjoyable and of longer duration. The chalet was happily the same one as last visit and we found it just as comfortable and well appointed for our family. Being close enough to walk to town yet see and hear the ocean from our chalet was a treat. The children (13 and 11) enjoyed the heated pool and tennis court. A personal introduction to the local penguins one night at the blowhole was a highlight for all. Whilst the kitchen provided everything needed to dine at home, we had chosen to eat out every meal this holiday and the variety of cafe and restaurant options in Bicheno gave ample opportunity to do so. Our favourites were Pasinis and the bakery. Bicheno provided a great base for walks at Freycinet, cruise to Maria Island, visit to St Helens, fruit picking at Sorel as well as exploring the walks at Bicheno. Our host Vicki was generous with information and assistance to ensure we experienced a fabulous holiday. We would highly recommend Bicheno by the Bay. They have accomodation options to suit many needs. The chalets are well spaced to ensure that although quite a few other groups were booked in during our stay, we felt the resort was our own.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

On first inspection of the accommodation, from the outside, everything seemed to look quite nice. A pool near reception, tennis courts next door and a great looking little play area for the kids.
Our first mistake was in our decision to turn the engine off.
Once we were shown to the location of our cottage, that was expected to accommodate 10 people, we were greeted with floors so filthy that we had to sweep them out before we would take our shoes off.
It was extremely fortunate that we didn’t actually have 10 people staying with us on our trip, after all when the dining room only seated 8 and the lounge room seated only 4, everyone would have had to work out a meal and relaxation roster just to fit in. Not that there was enough crockery to support a group of 10 either.
The accommodation, we were told, was constructed around the mid 1970's and, from the perspective of someone who has worked in the building and construction industry for the last 18 years, it is quite apparent that some time in the 1970's was also the last time any maintenance appears to have been performed on the buildings, a fact that the owner was not only aware of but scorned at the suggestion that it should be any other way.
The microwave was also straight from the early 80's, as was the heater that was found to be faulty when turned on.
The electrics in the building were so far below any standard it is quite amazing that the older buildings haven’t had a catastrophic event already. From old fuses, with burn and melt marks on the plastic enclosure to what appeared to be battery, yes that’s right BATTERY SMOKE ALARMS. The kitchen was absolutely ideal, assuming you are a group of 16-year-old runaways preparing to cook up a nice batch of meth amphetamine.
While on our way to try and negotiate a cheaper tariff, after all they were charging $340 a night for this abomination they called a chalet, we walked past the children’s playground. Here we found rusty metal screws sticking out all over the "pirate ship" play area, and the tennis courts looked like they were left last summer and not attended since.
When we finally got to the reception and questioned the quality and suitability of the accommodation, keeping in mind we had just spent the previous 3 weeks travelling throughout Tasmania and had seen a vast amount of accommodation to use as a comparison, we were told directly by the owner that "the accommodation is priced for 10 guests, its not my (her) fault if your (our group) only have 7". The 7 she was referring to were 2 adult couples and 3 children aged 1,2 and 4.
So with no luck there and the threat of loosing the full amount of the accommodation for the 2 nights, that's right $680, we went back to make the most of a bad situation.
What topped it off was when the last 3 of our party arrived and the adult couple finally got to fall into bed, they had to race down stairs to get the bug spray to eliminate the ants that were infesting their bed.

Room Tip: anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gerard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Wattlegrove, one of the chalets. Good views on the sea, very close to town centre, to blowhole, to penguins. Nice place for families; there is a heated pool, a canoe lake, a tennis court (rackets for hire), a big open fire place to toast marshmallows, and a playground with a cute mini chalet as a cubby house.

Chalets are all made of wood, very cozy. Ours had one bedroom (double bed, wardrobe, very bright TL-bed lights) and a sofa-bed (not foldabe, so mattress was the sofa) in the living room. Open kitchen with only the necessary supplies. Dark and small bathroom/ laundry. A little balcony on the front with 2 chairs.
Overall we enjoyed our stay here BUT what's up with all the little notes with house rules (all over the place) and the big-rule-book?? That was a little annoying and made us feel unwelcome; we're guests not naughty schoolkids, and we're on a holiday, give us a break! Also the lady at the reception could be friendlier, she was a little moody.
What we missed: a bbq! Many places with self contained cottages offer bbq's (shared or private).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at one of the renovated rooms next to the canoe lake. Just a 5 minute walk to town and most importantly, Pasini, our favorite Italian restaurant.

You can also walk on the Bicheno trail, the trail head at the Blow Hole is also steps away.

Our front desk reception was also extremely helpful and very very knowledgeable. This was our base between Bicheno, Freycinet, Coles Bay - just a 30 min easy drive.

Room Tip: Take one of the renovated rooms - it's wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vilasinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
400 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
2.2 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.7 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bicheno Cabins
Bicheno Cabins
#7 of 12 in Bicheno
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno by the Bay

Address: The Esplanade, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $142 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bicheno by the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno by the Bay (BBTB) Bicheno. Self-contained family accommodation on Tasmania's sunny east coast - 19 bungalows and 5 motel rooms, right in town, right on the ocean front. BBTB is located on 8 acres in a coastal bush setting. All bungalows stand alone and are appointed with open plan lounge and kitchen areas, separate bedrooms, deck and covered carport. Each bungalow is generously equipped with cooking and eating utensils, conventional oven and microwave, bedding including doonas and electric blankets, television, DVD and hairdryer. No charge washing machines are available. Four of the motel rooms are located in a quiet part of the property overlooking a man-made lake. Each unit has a tranquil view of water and gum trees, and various decks from which to enjoy the ambiance. Extract from testimonial regards BBTB - "in an amazing location just across from a gorgeous rocky coastline with penguins nesting nearby so you could hear their songs in the night." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bicheno by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno By The Bay Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing