We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, good location, needs updating”
Review of Bicheno by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Price: special deal $112/night, 2 adults, 3 young boys, fantastic value
Location: good location near waterfront, large grounds, separate chalet, 2 min drive to town
Kitchen : full kitchen , adequate, dining table
Lounge : needs updating, small CRT TV needs replacing with LCD
Bedrooms : two upstairs , one queen , 3 single, comfortable beds, needs TV in main room.
Bathroom : small but clean, with heater, no bath , small shower, washing line outside
Additional : pool (supposed to be 30 degrees but not), kayaks, playarea for kids, wildlife

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallibull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 247 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

Fantastic amenities. Very friendly staff. Had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

i stayed here with my partner and 2 other friends and was very please with all they offered. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed and more.
the whole place had great amenities with a heated pool, playground camp fire and a lake to canoe in, and the walk to the beach or the town was only a few minutes away.
the staff were very friendly and we had a great stay. i would recommend to others and will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed in one of the four new hotel/motel style villas at Bicheno by the Bay. As soon as we arrive we shown where to eat for dinner and Breakfast and then to one of the great short walks Bicheno has to offer. During this walk we got to see the blow hole and an area where the penguins. Alas there were no penguins on this night but the panoramic views from the blow hole were spectactular. A quick few photos near the blow hole and then we were back to the Hotel. The room we stayed in had very moden decor and made us feel like we were staying in a modern city 5 Star hotel. The rooms also had a private deck that you could sit in and overlooked the small lake. This was a great spot to stay with friendly staff. The last thing was the cost. $100 (we would have easily paid more for these rooms) a night was by far the cheapest we stayed in on our East Coast Tassie (From Hobart to Launceston) trip, however it was the best accommodation by far. Make sure you check them out and stay in one of their new Hotel/Motel style rooms as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1styearmarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is really a set of self-contained bungalows. Ours was typical of the others and very pleasant. It is a five-minute stroll to the edge of the water (Maclean Bay, part of the Tasman Sea), where we saw, close-up, marine birds and scrambled along brightly-colored coastal boulders. It is also a five- minute walk (in the other direction) to a small, local grocery store. The manager was friendly and inviting. One of Tasmania's national parks is only minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigNat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I have just spent 3 nights at Bicheno by the Bay with friends. Two couples in all. We had a two bedroom bungalow which was really well appointed. Clean, comfortable & roomy. Real value for money. Infact , knowing the property is rated as only a three star was expecting a lot less. Give yourselves at least another half to one star. Very under rated. Lovely accommodation.Close to everything including the beautiful little fairy penquins to wander down to in the evenings. No need for a tour as they are so close. Vicki , the owner was so welcoming when we arrived and was happy to share lots of local knowledge with us. I have no hestitation in recommending this lovely property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolley06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed in the motel style cabins with a view of a small pond where children could use canoes. We saw wallabies and rabbits a few times outside our window which was pretty cool. The rooms were very clean and pretty new with contemporary furniture (leather armchairs) and very comfy bed. Only downside was lack of reception for phone and TV at night. It has a good size front porch with a table and it is tailor made for a few drinks and nibbles at the end of the day. We had dinner at a nearby restaurant, Pisani's and the food was great - pretty crowded though - must book a table. A little on the expensive side for the restaurant.
Bicheno on the Bay however was well priced and clean plus they were able to book the penguin tour for us which was great. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrissieGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
2.2 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.3 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
20.8 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno by the Bay

Address: The Esplanade, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $136 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bicheno by the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno by the Bay (BBTB) Bicheno. Self-contained family accommodation on Tasmania's sunny east coast - 19 bungalows and 5 motel rooms, right in town, right on the ocean front. BBTB is located on 8 acres in a coastal bush setting. All bungalows stand alone and are appointed with open plan lounge and kitchen areas, separate bedrooms, deck and covered carport. Each bungalow is generously equipped with cooking and eating utensils, conventional oven and microwave, bedding including doonas and electric blankets, television, DVD and hairdryer. No charge washing machines are available. Four of the motel rooms are located in a quiet part of the property overlooking a man-made lake. Each unit has a tranquil view of water and gum trees, and various decks from which to enjoy the ambiance. Extract from testimonial regards BBTB - "in an amazing location just across from a gorgeous rocky coastline with penguins nesting nearby so you could hear their songs in the night." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bicheno by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno By The Bay Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing