We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
109
119
26
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
119
26
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblow holebedroom bungalowcreaky floorsstyle roomtennis courtscoffee plungerfunctional kitchenlookout walkstayed longerbush settingfish and chipsgreat familyclose to town centrewithin walking distanceself containedfew minutes walkpenguin tour
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 272 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed in one of the four new hotel/motel style villas at Bicheno by the Bay. As soon as we arrive we shown where to eat for dinner and Breakfast and then to one of the great short walks Bicheno has to offer. During this walk we got to see the blow hole and an area where the penguins. Alas there were no penguins on this night but the panoramic views from the blow hole were spectactular. A quick few photos near the blow hole and then we were back to the Hotel. The room we stayed in had very moden decor and made us feel like we were staying in a modern city 5 Star hotel. The rooms also had a private deck that you could sit in and overlooked the small lake. This was a great spot to stay with friendly staff. The last thing was the cost. $100 (we would have easily paid more for these rooms) a night was by far the cheapest we stayed in on our East Coast Tassie (From Hobart to Launceston) trip, however it was the best accommodation by far. Make sure you check them out and stay in one of their new Hotel/Motel style rooms as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1styearmarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

This is really a set of self-contained bungalows. Ours was typical of the others and very pleasant. It is a five-minute stroll to the edge of the water (Maclean Bay, part of the Tasman Sea), where we saw, close-up, marine birds and scrambled along brightly-colored coastal boulders. It is also a five- minute walk (in the other direction) to a small, local grocery store. The manager was friendly and inviting. One of Tasmania's national parks is only minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigNat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

I have just spent 3 nights at Bicheno by the Bay with friends. Two couples in all. We had a two bedroom bungalow which was really well appointed. Clean, comfortable & roomy. Real value for money. Infact , knowing the property is rated as only a three star was expecting a lot less. Give yourselves at least another half to one star. Very under rated. Lovely accommodation.Close to everything including the beautiful little fairy penquins to wander down to in the evenings. No need for a tour as they are so close. Vicki , the owner was so welcoming when we arrived and was happy to share lots of local knowledge with us. I have no hestitation in recommending this lovely property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolley06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed in the motel style cabins with a view of a small pond where children could use canoes. We saw wallabies and rabbits a few times outside our window which was pretty cool. The rooms were very clean and pretty new with contemporary furniture (leather armchairs) and very comfy bed. Only downside was lack of reception for phone and TV at night. It has a good size front porch with a table and it is tailor made for a few drinks and nibbles at the end of the day. We had dinner at a nearby restaurant, Pisani's and the food was great - pretty crowded though - must book a table. A little on the expensive side for the restaurant.
Bicheno on the Bay however was well priced and clean plus they were able to book the penguin tour for us which was great. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrissieGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

If you choose to stay here the motel rooms (only 4) are almost brand new. Id say less than 6 months old.

They are tastefully decorated and the bathroom and shower are fantastic.

We stayed in motel room number 4 for 1 night and were totally satisfied.

they are also only 5 minutes walk to the blowhole and to the centre of town

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlwhubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews