We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a beautiful night's stay at the cozy Bicheno Backpackers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bicheno Backpackers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bicheno Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Had a beautiful night's stay at the cozy Bicheno Backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed my stay. I was on a tour with under down under, so there were eight of us staying overnight. As soon as we arrived, I was struck by the cozy, hippie, and beautifully home like atmosphere I felt. I was really comfortable, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling through. I normally just expect hostel bathrooms to be a bit disgusting, but this one was surprisingly clean. Lovely. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    59
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
44
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed there for just 1 night last week on our tour around Tasmania. We had booked the double room with a balcony and sea view on the internet well in advance. Good move. We had a lovely comfortable Queen size bed with a large exclusive balcony and outdoor table and chairs to sink stubbie or 2 whilst watching the sea view and having a quiet read. Matt and Hannah couldn`t have been more helpful. I managed to lock my car keys inside our car, but Hannah arranged for the local RAC man to come out and retrieve them first thing in the morning, at no cost to us!!! It is only a 30 minute drive from here to the Freycinet National Park with its famous walk to view Wineglass Bay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sixties-Icon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We made our booking over the internet and it was confirmed by staff. Hannah and Matt were very welcoming and friendly as well as extremely helpful with everything. From the moment we arrived we were impressed, for us it was very much a home away from home. We had a double room which was excellent value for money and included full use of the good sized community kitchen and lounge facilities. All you needed was supplied including coffee/tea, milk, cereal and bread for breakfast. Our room was clean and tidy, with a heater and TV. The bed was very comfortable. The location was excellent, just off the main highway, and very close to all Bicheno amenties including restaurants and takeaways. Only a short walk down to the beach to see the penguins at night. On a scale of 1 -10 we would rate Bicheno Backpackers 9.5 and would encourage others to take advantage of their facilities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pavitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

Stayed 1 night and found this to be a very decent hostel. The location in the small, quiet town of Bicheno is excellent. It is a very short walk to the centre of town with a pub, a few restaurants, a supermarket, bakery etc. The rooms were cosy and comfortable enough, kitchen and bathrooms were fine for a hostel. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm with 4 bunks. The beds are quite well positioned and actually quite private considering you're in an 8 bed dorm as the beds are separated by small curtains. I would stay there again if travelling through Bicheno and would recommend to anyone looking for hostel accommodation in this fantastic part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

This place blew me over for friendliness and hospitality. The amenties were great. It was so clean and comfortable. Location was a quick walk from other shops and the beach. Kitchen was extremely clean. Sheets and decor were pretty and interesting. Not your boring white sheets and green/white/pale walls. The private room had a tv, hanging space, lamp, side tables and chair.

The beach walk and blow hole was really a lot of fun. We went to the pub for dinner. Oysters were yum, the fishermans basket was a little so-so. Looks like they did great steaks, as everyone was ordering them.
In the early morning, the food & coffee at the bakery next door was delicious.

The only thing I would recommend to the staff would be to vacuum the carpetted bedroom floors. Or if against using electricity to rip out the carpet.
Whoops.. and to update the local restaurant menus in their booklet. The prices had changed dramatically.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbtraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed one night at the Bicheno Backpackers. This was our first stay at a backpackers place and it was really a lot nicer than expected. Our room was very comfortable and the bed was a nice size for two people. We stopped at the grocery and grabbed some breakfast things and stowed them in the full equipped kitchen for the morning.
The one drawback was that the girl who checked us in offered to make dinner reservations at a few of the more pricey eateries in town. This would have been expected at the Ritz-Carlton, but this being a backpackers hotel we were a little thrown off by her offer. Most of the places she mentioned were at least $25-$30/person AUS. We found an alternative to the pricey options in the end.
All in all a nice, quiet and relaxing place in Bicheno.

  • Liked — location, great murals, bed
  • Disliked — offer to book expensive restaurant, pot smoking on the porch
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahavakamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bichenobackpackers, Manager at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
In response to "pot smoking on the porch"... We have a reception phone available to our guests to use in order to contact us. We would hope if offensive behaviour is taking place, any guest would call us to ask for assistance or at the very least approach us in person at any time to discuss the matter. This type of activity is not something we encourage nor condone and hope that our guests in the future will take the opportunity to contact us should they have any problems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

Located just minutes from the centre of Bicheno, this hostel is the sort of place that gives hostels a good name.

Tidy rooms, with excellent facilities, a comfortable lounge area and great views towards the sea.

Although we arrived while the owners were away from the property, they have a neat system with a phone in a box, and directed us to our room & keys.

Our deluxe double had a large private balcony, as well as a television, both unusual features at the hostels we have have stayed at.

Everything was spotlessly clean, and the information on the town & local area in the common lounge was extensive. The owners were also extremely cheerful when we paid later on in the day.

The unit we were in seemed to sleep 6-8 people, so the single shower could be a problem during busy periods, but that's the only thing that could have been improved.

We would happily stay here again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness & great location
  • Disliked — Limited shower facility
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleneAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
1.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.2 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
20.7 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Backpackers

Property: Bicheno Backpackers
Address: 11 Morrison Street | PO Box 177, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bicheno Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bicheno Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing