We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold Showers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bicheno Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cold Showers”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in ‘The Shack’, the separate outbuilding on Foster Street in June / winter. There was only a very small electric heater in our room that by no means raised the temperature to warm. We shared one single shower with two other three bed rooms (nine people) and after three people had showered in the morning, there was absolutely no hot water left, so there was only a choice between braving an icy shower or not showering at all. There is no heater in the shower room, so that was like walking into a fridge before you even attempt the icy shower itself! We could all see our own breath while eating dinner. The room was not particularly clean & it was small. A total disappointment; I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mongosemporium, General Manager at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review The Shack and provide Bicheno Backpackers with its first terrible review.

In response to your review.

1. At no time were there 9 people staying in the building throughout June.
2. There are in fact 2 bathrooms that share 3 bedrooms in the main part of the house and a further 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms in the cottage out the back.
3. The Shack was opened in January 2013 with two new commercial hot water systems that made it through peak season with not one cold shower reported.
4. As budget/backpacker accommodation we are lawfully obliged to provide one toilet and shower per 10 people, our ratio is over and above this.
6. We endeavour to turn heaters on in the afternoon when we know we have guests arriving. Even though you choose to travel in Tasmania in winter - we do not expect nor want you to get cold. We had an unusually cold and wet couple of weeks in June with no sunshine.
7. It would be helpful that if there were a problem with the hot water, it would be reported to reception so that we can fix it, similarly if you were feeling the cold we would have provided an extra heater and or blankets for you. There is a duty manager contactable at all times.
8. As for the cleanliness - I will let previous reviews regarding this issue speak for themselves.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to write the review for issues that could have been rectified or compensated for at the time of your stay.

Suzanne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    61
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
45
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my partner.

The accommodation was clean, the place was quiet, the shower was excellent, and the kitchen was well equipped. Definitely not a place for partying, which I appreciated.

Overall a nice, basic place to stay. Would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful, clean, safe place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mongosemporium, General Manager at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. It is much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Safe travels
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a night. The dorm feels very nice and cozy. The toilets are very clean and good. The only concern I have while staying here is the limited socket that I could use to charge my gadgets in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 6th March.Arrived late,upon seeing our room was confussed to find we had been put into a cramed bunk dorm.I had asked for a room with three separate single beds!So we ended up using another bed in a injoining room off the shared bathroom that was empty.I was charged a extra $75 to my card without any phone call.The next day i phoned to sort it out,i offered to pay a additional charge of $33-what we payed per person originaly-to cover the changing of the sheets.The owner said no way it had to be $50 min,she was aggressive in her manner and tone of voice,it ened up taking to the 22nd March to get a $25 refund after numerous e-mails.Dealing with the owner was the worst experience i`ve ever had in customar service,she was unresonable and rude and i would never stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mongosemporium, Owner at Bicheno Backpackers, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
“Bad Customer”
In an amicable conversation following your unauthorised entry to our Ensuite room that retails at $90 per night, we both admitted misunderstanding over a long standing booking and came to an agreement without tone or aggression.
We discussed that if you were not happy with the room, a visit or phone call to reception would have avoided this situation. We are generally sympathetic to customers’ individual plights & do what we can to make our customers comfortable.
You chose to “help yourself” to our only vacant room and chose not to contact reception either that evening or the next morning, hence why the charge was applied. You would find that most accommodation business’ would not take too kindly to having one or their rooms broken into.
I admitted a clerical error that held up your refund, which you were lucky to get in the first place given the circumstances.
As for never staying here again – you would not be welcome anyway.
Suzanne
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here one night and there were just 3 of us in a 6 bed room so think we were quite lucky. its a bit old but clean and with a big communal area. staff very friendly. only downside was that there was only one toilet in our part of the hostel which didn't seem enough. But otherwise it was all great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a twin room at The Shack, the new part away from the hostel itself. It was all new, super clean, big kitchen, big living room with large tv. We paid $ 65 (55 for the room for 1 person plus 1 person extra) and expected something really really small, and we were pleasantly surprised. Close to everything (there is not much in Bicheno...), near the coastal walk. No wifi, more or less no internet anywhere in town. The lady who checked us in, was far from friendly but we never saw her afterwards, so no bother

When you're in Bicheno, don't miss the East Coast Natureworld, what an awesome place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrossThatBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were 3 friends and booked a 4bed dorm. Bicheno being a small town, it was easy to find the hostel. It is walking distance from the main market with many food options available (do try the takeaway place!!). We stayed in the new building down the road from the main backpackers building. I have to say it was like living in a hotel at a backpackers price! The rooms, bedding, kitchen and bathroom were very clean. Since this is a new block, all the fittings etc were new. The staff was very friendly and gave us a map of Bicheno with suggestions on must see places.

I highly recommend staying in this backpackers hostel when you visit Bicheno.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhawnaAhlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.2 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Backpackers

Property: Bicheno Backpackers
Address: 11 Morrison St | PO Box 177, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bicheno Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bicheno Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing