We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

A friend and I stayed here early January 2012. It was more like staying in a friendly house than a backpackers. Very well located, excellent value, super friendly manager (thanks, Catherine!), and very clean. The house had a well equiped kitchen, and the outlook to the ocean was superb. Definitely the high point of our Tasmanian holiday, with stunning Freycinet NP/Wineglass Bay a 30 minute drive away. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 166 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

I'd pre-booked a single room in the main house, a good move: double bed and my own tv. Luxury! There is a communal living room and kitchen plus two showers etc, all more than adequate. The garden view offers bunnies and ocean glimpses. I really enjoyed staying here, the ideal base for a day trip to Wineglass Bay/Freycinet National Park, which was STUNNING. The Backpackers' management were affable and helpful. My only suggestion to the owners is that they install WiFi - it's a bit of a schlepp to the I.T Centre or White Dog Cafe (slowest Internet I've ever used in Oz). I'd rather have had the option of paying the Backpackers for WiFi and having the onsite convenience. (P.S, If you arrive on the 4pm bus from Launceston bring your groceries with you. Bicheno's Supermarket closes at 6 30pm - thankfully I'd already confirmed this.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoRove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Thought we had booked a double room ensuite but it turns out that none of the rooms have their own shower. Ours had a private toilet though.

The room was fine, had a tv and was quite spacy.

The kitchen was clean and well equipped. The bathrooms were clean too. The place was very relaxed and cosy. We enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikkelbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is a great Backpackers Hostel! We would have preferred to have had a double room, but the only available accomodation for us was in a mixed dorm. This was fine - probably the best dorm accomodation we have seen. Loads of secure space for your luggage (if you have your own padlock) and curtains around every bunk for complete privacy. There are no individual lights for the bunks, but that's fine if you have a head-torch. Clean kitchen, good equipment and reasonably comfortable TV lounge (would be on the small side if the dorms were all full).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I was looking for accommodation for a large family get-together and while we didn't end up staying here, if their helpfulness and friendliness online is any indication, I couldn't recommend them highly enough! They replied to my emails promptly and with all the info we needed, and even recommended other places when it turned out theirs wouldn't quite meet our needs. Tourism in Tasmania needs more people and places like this!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank SharonHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in a double room which was big and bright with it's own balcony. The kitchen was wel equipped ant the bathroom is okay. Very friendly staff and a big common room with comfy couches.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

nice & cosy place. arrived late on rainy day evening, thought that i will have difficulites to find the place due to the dark. but, it's quite easy to locate it from the main road. just look out for the signboard as you approach the town center from Coles Bay direction. located behind a white church building.
the moment i saw the room, first thing that came into my mind is 'comfortable'. two different buildings with different kind of rooms. i stayed in the dorm rooms building. overall, it's a warm and cozy place. you can get a lot of informations about what to do in Tassie in the living room. there is a TV with some viewable channels,i am refering to the reception quality here.
you can find all you need to cook up a storm in the kitchen. it's well kept by the hostel management. so if u find it in an unpleasant condition, it's the fault of an irresponsible traveller.
note that you have to make sure that your foods are labeled if you stored it in either the refrigerator or the kitchen cabinet. otherwise, it will be dumped.
toilets are clean. the washing machine doesnt spin dry.
restaurant, stores and some attractions are within walking distance from the backpacker hostel.
btw, no free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nukesryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
20.8 mi away
Swansea Backpackers
Swansea Backpackers
#6 of 9 in Swansea
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
20.9 mi away
Swansea Holiday Park  Schouten Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Backpackers

Address: 11 Morrison St | PO Box 177, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $50 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bicheno Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Bicheno Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing