We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bicheno Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Beachfront Bicheno(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$133
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wintersun Gardens Motel(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,609
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edge of the Bay Resort(Coles Bay)(Great Value!)
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Swansea Motor Inn(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$77
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$215
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
73
67
20
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
67
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenbed dormenjoyed my stayclean tea towelscommon roomplace to staylovely townfree wifiwineglass baysmall balconygreat facilitiesiga supermarketclose to shopsspent one nightthe east coastnational parkhot shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 172 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed in a double room which was big and bright with it's own balcony. The kitchen was wel equipped ant the bathroom is okay. Very friendly staff and a big common room with comfy couches.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

nice & cosy place. arrived late on rainy day evening, thought that i will have difficulites to find the place due to the dark. but, it's quite easy to locate it from the main road. just look out for the signboard as you approach the town center from Coles Bay direction. located behind a white church building.
the moment i saw the room, first thing that came into my mind is 'comfortable'. two different buildings with different kind of rooms. i stayed in the dorm rooms building. overall, it's a warm and cozy place. you can get a lot of informations about what to do in Tassie in the living room. there is a TV with some viewable channels,i am refering to the reception quality here.
you can find all you need to cook up a storm in the kitchen. it's well kept by the hostel management. so if u find it in an unpleasant condition, it's the fault of an irresponsible traveller.
note that you have to make sure that your foods are labeled if you stored it in either the refrigerator or the kitchen cabinet. otherwise, it will be dumped.
toilets are clean. the washing machine doesnt spin dry.
restaurant, stores and some attractions are within walking distance from the backpacker hostel.
btw, no free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nukesryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Bicheno Backpackers was the best hostel we stayed in during our visit to Tasmania. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location to walk down to the bay or Bicheno blowhole. The staff were really friendly, the dorm rooms although very small, were clean and comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. The only downside is the toilet and shower facilities which could do with updating. 2 toilets and 2 showers also isn’t really enough, especially when the hostel is full. The building we were in had a kitchen in the centre and then all the rooms came off it so it was really sociable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JHG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I had a great stay at the bicheno hostel last month. The dorm beds are comfy, and have individual curtains for privacy, and hooks and cubbies to store your stuff conveniently. The kitchen and washrooms were very clean, large and easy to share with others. Also, the shuttle to the national park to hike around wine glass bay stops just in front of the property which is super convenient, especially when you are short on time. The couple that manages this hostel are wonderful, and go out of their way to give you travel adivce, and make sure that you are happy with your stay. They actually drove me to hobart, including me on their family trip, saving me a day wait for the bus and allowing me to see the salamanca markets. I was totally amazed at their generousness and cannot thank them enough!! I would highly reccomend this hostel to anyone traveling on Tasmania, it's deffinitley worth the trip to bicheno. Thanks again guys.

Room Tip: the dorms- beds are much better than other hostels
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canadian_chick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights to go visit Freycinet NP. The hostel is popular with groups but the hostel has 2 buildings with a kitchen each and so thankfully we stayed in the "quiet" building. Everything was clean and tidy. We had a twin room with 1 double and 1 bunk bed. The hostel is in the town centre and you can walk to coffee shops and supermarket. Make sure to go to see the blowhole which is nearby by the granite rocks.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews