We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willowbrook Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naracoorte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willowbrook Cottage
Ranked #3 of 6 Naracoorte B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

It was warm, charming, clean, pretty, confortable and very at very good prize.
We went to the old cottage, and all was just waiting for us. The fireplace, the movies for the children, the nextday breakfast...Pretty garden and quiet place. Different option from a motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dickinsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a lovely 2 night stay in January 11. Visiting Naracoorte to attend a wedding, the cottage was cosy and very comfortable. The rate was very reasonable compared to the prices for motels in the area. We will definitely stay here next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooshbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We found this lovely three bedroom cottage, quite by chance, and were probably lucky to find it available for a stay that started off as one night but eventually extended to four as we found more and more "must do" things in the area. The owner lives next door, and couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming.

The "cottage" consisted of a comfy loungeroom, a decent bed in a fair-sized main bedroom plus two more bedrooms which we hardly even went into (although it was nice to have space to set up a clothes horse to dry clothes in very unsettled weather), a huge bathroom containing a lovely claw-footed bath, shower and washing machine, fairly well equipped kitchen, and a really lovely garden with table and chairs under a huge shady willow. A big BBQ and big fridge topped off all the useful amenities.

In the kitchen, I would probably have liked slightly better knives - it was lovely to have a proper kitchen to do some real cooking in after a week or two in motels, and some good equipment would have made it perfect.

Breakfast was included with the price, and we were a little disappointed that the breakfast for our second two nights was rather meagre by comparison with the first two. For example, for the first two we were given 10 rashers of bacon, six eggs and some little pots of jam, honey and marmalade as well as bread, juice and so on; the last two nights was only six rashers of bacon (that's one and a half per person per day) and four eggs, and the marmalade and jam we had used was not replenished. Probably an oversight as the owner was lovely and I'm sure would have made up the shortfall if we'd asked, but it's just one of those little things...

Apart from that small whinge, this was a really lovely place to spend four days in a great and very interesting part of the world.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

We spent 3 nights here. I was immediately drawn to the huge willowtree in the back yard. Shading a large lawn it was a perfect space to sit with a cuppa or do morning yoga. The house is cosy and quaint and very well furnished. Large comfortable rooms with plenty of space throughout. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only downside was the road which has trucks passing by, so it can be a little noisy, but by closing the windows, it wasn't a problem. There is a second cottage on a block behind the one we stayed in, so that would be an option. Willowbrook was very good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angekab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

This accomodation was beautiful!! The cottage was big and cozy with great heating which is a must in Australia in the winter which is hard to find. The cottage had wood floors and tile which was extremly clean and well mantained. The kitchen had all the modern ammentities except a dishwasher and was all new and functional. All the necessary dishes, pans and utensils were provided as well as breakfest provisions. The beds all had heaters and each room had its own theme and decor that were comfy and warm. The bathrooms were clean and large they had both a bathtub and shower. The toilet was in a seperate room which was convient with a large family. The cottage had a washer but no dryer. There was a large living room with a fireplace and ample information on things to do in the area. There was plenty of seating for 6 people. The cottage has skytv with plenty of channels as well as a dvd player and plenty of dvds to keep everyone entertained. Our stay was excellent and we highly reccomend it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jkihorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naracoorte hotels
2.0 mi away
Carolynne's Cottages
Carolynne's Cottages
#1 of 6 in Naracoorte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
William Macintosh Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Country Roads Motor Inn
Country Roads Motor Inn
#2 of 6 in Naracoorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Naracoorte Holiday Park
Naracoorte Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Naracoorte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Naracoorte Hotel Motel
Naracoorte Hotel Motel
#2 of 2 in Naracoorte
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Limestone View
Limestone View
#4 of 6 in Naracoorte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Cottage

Property: Willowbrook Cottage
Address: 3 Jenkins Tce, Naracoorte, South Australia 5271, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Naracoorte
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Naracoorte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing