We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative to Robe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Always intended to stop here on way to Victor Harbour and wasn't disappointed. Quiet spot, great night's sleep in comfy beds, clean and tidy. Reasonable room rates and very nice location. Could recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseyj1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well to be honest this was not our first choice of accommodation as we wanted to stay in Robe, 44 km down the road, but found that all the places there were full. However we found that the Lacepede was pleasant enough and a welcome sight after a days travelling!

The rooms were nice enough, large and roomy, if not stuck in the 1980s a little. The bathrooms were clean and there was plenty of warm water, the beds were firm but comfy, large and well positioned. The table and chairs were a nice touch and the luggage storage was also nice.

However the two doors at each end of the room made the place feel a little less secure and especially as the window looked out on to a corridor and the curtains didn't close fully. the lack of a safe also seemed to be a factor as it would have been nice to have been able to store passports and other valuables. We also found that some of the sheets were stained which made the place feel downmarket and cheap, which it wasn't. Also a large hole in the bathroom wall where the door knob had banged in to it betrayed what was otherwise a very nice place to wash and shower!

While i did ask about where to eat in Kingston i got the impression that the lady on reception was more keen to have us eat in the resultant attached than give us advice on where else to eat.I highly doubted that this was the only place to eat in Kingston as I was informed and it gave the impression that echoed the general feel of Kingston as the poorer relation to the more popular Robe! As a result we drove to Robe anyway to eat, which was only 20 mins away down the road!

Highlights and plus points:

Good sized rooms
Clean bathroom
Luggage storage
Good sized TV
Free parking

Negative points:

WiFi didn't work
Stained sheets
Broken curtain
Hole in bathroom wall
Lack of safe and secure storage
Two doors made the place feel seedy
Slightly abrupt staff

Overall though it was fine for one night, if you can try and get into Robe to stay, but if you cant then here will suit you fine for the casual stay. I'm sure the sheets and the curtain are one offs and i have to be fair, i did sleep very well regardless.

Room Tip: Cant really say as we got a view of a misty corridor window! But if your staying long, then a sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent 2 nights here and enjoyed the motel facilities. The weather was very hot and thankfully the air con worked well. The swimming pool was great for a cooling dip! Unfortunately the restaurant is only open three nights a week and was not open when we stayed. We ate at the Crown Inn both evenings and enjoyed good food and service at fair prices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Kingston SE has a remarkably down-market feel; not as fashionable as nearby Robe, but lovely nonetheless.

The Lacepede Bay Motel faces West with a lengthy jetty stretching far over the shallow bay.

Comfortable, scrupulously clean and well positioned, the motel is a delight.

The only downside is the periodic wafts of rotting sea grass which is swept up in huge drifts between the jetty and nearby rock groyne. When we visited in early January 2014, a large bulldozer was turning this over to produce a good mulch.

Room Tip: Better away from the beach - smell of rotting sea-grass can be a surprise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

the room was a good size. The bed was comfortable. Owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good value. Will definitely stay there again. Have nothing bad to write about the motel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed in exec room and found it to be clean and comfortable, staff were pleasant and could answer our questions. The major disappointment was I would not recommend anyone eat there until they get a chef who knows how to cook and not serve up over priced very basic home cooked type food. We stayed there on recommendation from locals but should have listened and went into town to eat. A Prawn salad you had to clean your own prawns with no bowl of water with lemon ( even though someone took the time to peel the body and cut up the pretty tomatoes) made for an unpleasant entree with overcooked, greasy cold main meal to follow. I wish the new owners well and hope they take on board the comments made about meals. I have to say the breakfast the next morning served in our room was quite tasty and well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Staff are friendly. The motel is a little tired and in need of some TLC. The restaurant is highly over priced for the quality of the food. Steak, chips and vegetables, one wonders how you could stuff that up. Both of the local hotels strongly recommended for dining

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston SE
0.7 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
23.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn Hotel
Crown Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel
23.7 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
24.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant

Address: 1 Marine Pde, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kingston SE
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Price Range: $74 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for peaceful accommodation and scenic views? Come and stay with us at the Lacepede Bay Motel. We're more than just a room! Situated opposite the Kingston Jetty and Foreshore in the heart of the Limestone Coast. Within walking distance to shops, cafes, hotel, restaurant, park and beach. Featuring a swimming pool, bbq area, guest laundry and conference/function facilities. Offering free Wifi, free onsite parking and free pick up from the Kingston Airport. With 30 rooms to choose from (Standard, Deluxe, Ocean View, Family & Spa), we're certain you will find accommodation to suit your budget and needs. All rooms include air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and an ensuite bathroom. You can enjoy breakfast cooked to order daily in our Restaurant or in the comfort of your room. Our Restaurant can be available for dinner for large group bookings (minimum 20 people). Looking for somewhere to hold your next function or meeting? We have a fully furnished Conference room which can be personalised to suit any occasion. Ask us about our function packages! We're standing by to offer you the lowest rates & helpful local information, call us now on (08) 8767 2444! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacepede Bay Hotel Kingston Se
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Se Best Western
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant Kingston SE, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing