We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A motel trapped in the 70s and looks like it has not been updated since. Our room was dark and dingy and the headboard for the bed was configured for two singles but a queen had been put in. The tiny bathroom was equally baffling as it looked like the shower had been cut in half some time in the distant past. There was a glass enclosed verandah with cane furniture but the smell of outgassing from this furniture was so strong it was impossible to sit to enjoy the view. It didn't help that the ocean had thrown up tons of seaweed that was making its presence known to any working nose. There are only 2 motels in town and Kingston is a long way from anywhere else on this coast so you just might have to choose this one if you are coming this way. The major advantages are that it is quiet and that the new managers are trying to make a go of it. Good luck!

Room Tip: Look before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The owners have just taken over this motel and they provide a friendly welcoming experience. The motel is situated on the beach front providing the opportunity to walk along the jetty. It is also within walking distance of the Main Street.

Room Tip: This is a two story property with no lift so if you have difficulties climbing stairs ask for a grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clansman5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed at the Motel recently and we found the owners very friendly and could'nt do enough to make our stay lovely. They had only been there themselves a short time so we wish them well.
The rooms are very clean and the staircase from the reception to our room above was very convenient. Balcony is enclosed which makes it very comfortable in the winter with lots of lovely cane furniture to sit on opposite each of the rooms. Will need some updating but that is only minor when you get such friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The standard rooms are clean but very basic and are probably in need of updating. Space for a double bed or two twin beds - reasonably comfortable, a noisy AC/heater, and a tiny bathroom (you really need to do something about those sliding doors - they slide all over the place!). The staff is very friendly and helpful and the presence of a WiFi network a nice plus. The restaurant seems to have good reviews below but we made the mistake of ordering the burrito special. Not a great idea in a remote spot down under - probably exactly on the other side of the Earth from the home of the burrito! Let's just say that we gave up and had sandwiches instead. Given the cost of our stay (two adjoining rooms for our family), I'd say this was pretty much appropriately priced.

Room Tip: Though I haven't seen the other rooms, based on the reviews here you might want to trade up from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingLama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

rooms were clean and quiet. Had tea in the hotel next door which was fab, good value, excellent service and really friendly - great with the kids. Wifi available which is unusual for australian hotels. Recommend this motel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyUKSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Enjoyed unit. Wasn't looking for the Taj Mahal or that . Bed was a little uncomfy for us .All comodities in room were satisfactory . Weather was very bad . Balcony warm and cosy looking out to sea.
Meal we had was great ..STEAK .. at that. Done to our liking. Would return again if travelling thru'. Pity we missed Cray season . Was hanging out for that . Nick/Jan 16/08/2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent value for money. Clean rooms quiet and well furnished. Breakfast available in the morning at a reasonable cost. had tea in the local hotel almost next door to the hotel and this was also value for money. Wifi available. Staff friendly. Lovely view out to the sea as you have breakfast.

Room Tip: Had a downstairs room just along from the office. Never heard any noise. Walked no more than 100 met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edi361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston SE
0.7 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn Hotel
Crown Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
21 reviews
23.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#1 of 7 in Robe
384 reviews
23.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
23.8 mi away
Guichen Bay Motel
Guichen Bay Motel
#4 of 7 in Robe
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant

Address: 1 Marine Pde, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kingston SE
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Price Range: $76 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for peaceful accommodation and scenic views? Come and stay with us at the Lacepede Bay Motel. We're more than just a room! Situated opposite the Kingston Jetty and Foreshore in the heart of the Limestone Coast. Within walking distance to shops, cafes, hotel, restaurant, park and beach. Featuring a swimming pool, bbq area, guest laundry and conference/function facilities. Offering free Wifi, free onsite parking and free pick up from the Kingston Airport. With 30 rooms to choose from (Standard, Deluxe, Ocean View, Family & Spa), we're certain you will find accommodation to suit your budget and needs. All rooms include air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and an ensuite bathroom. You can enjoy breakfast cooked to order daily in our Restaurant or in the comfort of your room. Our Restaurant can be available for dinner for large group bookings (minimum 20 people). Looking for somewhere to hold your next function or meeting? We have a fully furnished Conference room which can be personalised to suit any occasion. Ask us about our function packages! We're standing by to offer you the lowest rates & helpful local information, call us now on (08) 8767 2444! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacepede Bay Hotel Kingston Se
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Se Best Western
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant Kingston SE, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing