We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The motel is in a very convenient & picturesque location in Kingson. The restaurant was very roomy & food was top notch. The room was a nice size & everything worked fine. One downside was that the fittings in the bathroom were looking a bit corroded/tired & may need updating.
We enjoyed ourselves immensely & will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BDW_153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 156 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really in front of the Ocean and the fantastic sunset. The pool was enjoyable after a full day of drive.
The restaurant was also good and affordable.
The area was pretty much infest with mosquitoes. The room provide protection on windows but as soon as you open the door...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adeline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent meal in the restuarant & great veiw of the fireworks down the coast. A great place to relax and enjoy the view across the bay.
Room was spacious and there are brick partitions between the units which give good audio isolation. little noise was experienced from other travellers.


  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

After flying via light aircraft into the Kingston SE and then realising that there are no taxis in Kingston, we rang the owners of the Lacepede Bay motel and they could not have been more helpful. Bill met us at the airport, helped load the luggage and gave us a running commentary on Kingston. Bill made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Accommodation ok. However requested queen and single bed at booking. But when arrived was given queen bed only. The so called playground is a public one over the road. And the meal. Kids pizza was burnt. My so called whiting was per packaged stuff and served in a pool of oil. Then kids ice cream took nearly an hour to come out after main meals. Keep clear of the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FotherZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill W, Owner at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. At this busy time of year, we do all we can to accommodate guests requests, but when the booking is made one day prior to arrival and we are close to maximum occupancy levels, not all requests can be fulfilled. We are next to a public playground which has, along with the beach and the walking paths, been added to the amenities that we offer here; not on site, but certainly within walking distance and open to the public.

As for the restaurant, having recently taken over the business, we're still trying to find our feet. We've revamped the menu and our staff is working extremely hard to keep up with the busy season that is now upon us. We're in the process of hiring and training additional staff to meet the increase in motel guests and restaurant customers. One important aspect of the menu that we've retained is that all of our seafood is bought from local suppliers, including the Whiting. Once again, we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, but we do welcome all feedback and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

located next to the shore. very nice clean affordable place. friendly staff and will stay again.10% more off if you are a golden chain member. highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here by chance during a tour of the Great Ocean Road.We were warmly welcomed and given a luxury room.The room was perfectly acceptable for a one night stay.I believe that there are new owners and they will take time to get everything right.We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was fine,In the morning we had breakfast.We were there on a Saturday night/Sunday morning and it was very quiet.There was a golfing party staying there,but few others.The small pool was very dirty but at that time of year would not have been used.The main advantage of this motel is it's perfect situation by the sea and lovely views.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CYGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill W, Owner at Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to report that we've got the pool cleaned and up and running, just in time for the warmer weather. Now we just have to wait for some warmer weather.... Thank you for submitting a review and letting us know what you think. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston SE
0.7 mi away
Kingston Lobster Motel
Kingston Lobster Motel
#2 of 2 in Kingston SE
55 reviews
23.5 mi away
Discovery Parks - Robe
23.7 mi away
Best Western Melaleuca Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Harbour View Motel
23.8 mi away
Robetown Motor Inn and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn Hotel
Crown Inn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingston SE
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant

Address: 1 Marine Pde, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kingston SE
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Price Range: $74 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for peaceful accommodation and scenic views? Come and stay with us at the Lacepede Bay Motel. We're more than just a room! Situated opposite the Kingston Jetty and Foreshore in the heart of the Limestone Coast. Within walking distance to shops, cafes, hotel, restaurant, park and beach. Featuring a swimming pool, bbq area, guest laundry and conference/function facilities. Offering free Wifi, free onsite parking and free pick up from the Kingston Airport. With 30 rooms to choose from (Standard, Deluxe, Ocean View, Family & Spa), we're certain you will find accommodation to suit your budget and needs. All rooms include air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and an ensuite bathroom. You can enjoy breakfast cooked to order daily in our Restaurant or in the comfort of your room. Our Restaurant can be available for dinner for large group bookings (minimum 20 people). Looking for somewhere to hold your next function or meeting? We have a fully furnished Conference room which can be personalised to suit any occasion. Ask us about our function packages! We're standing by to offer you the lowest rates & helpful local information, call us now on (08) 8767 2444! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacepede Bay Hotel Kingston Se
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Se Best Western
Lacepede Bay Motel & Restaurant Kingston SE, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing