We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in KI to base yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is our third year in a row to stay here. We use a site for our camper trailer and the wildlife, tranquility and access to local attractions is awesome.

Amenities are clean as a whistle and everything is maintained well. This a family business and they really care about their guests. The park is also spread out with heaps of space for everyone with some really nice shaded spots. Heaps of wildlife with koalas above you but possums and wallabies to rummage through your food at night, so lock away your food at night out you'll have some unwelcome visitors.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutOfGamut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days but wish we had longer. There were still walks and places we didn't get to see. We had 3 people in an non powered camp site for $10 p.p. That's cheap!
The highlight is all the wild animals! Kangaroos and koalas with in eye sight of the tent.

I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here with my dad and we loved it. Haven't been to the western end of KI before so had not idea where to stay so took a chance with this place. Booked once of their cabins. It's right on the edge of flinders chase park. The caravan park is gorgeous, and in the evening, kangaroos are happy to wander around and feed. The cabin was spotless and more than adequate. Loved this park and would definitely stay there again. It is up for sale, and I just hope whoever buys it takes care of it as much as the current owners.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank kazza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in the Maccas Studio for 1 night. It was spacious and reasonably clean, a lot of kitchen equipment, efficient heating. We just weren't sure what to think about a note on the door asking guests to leave the cabin as they found it - otherwise there could be a cleaning fee. There was a mop, a bucket and litterbin liners so it really looked like we were expected to clean it. Maccas Studio is specially designed for the disabled so the bathroom was basically one big shower space with water running everywhere and it took quite a lot our precious time to mop it up. We felt that for 163 AD we should not be asked to do the cleaning ourselves. Maybe we misunderstood but then the confusing notice should not be there at all. I know we could have asked but we checked in late and checked out early and there was noone to ask.

Besides this, our stay was pleasant and we loved the place. We saw some koala bears on the Koala Walk (thanks to the and loved the Lagoon walk as well - magical sunset views. Kangaroos and wallabies can be watched right on the premises, day and night. Best possible location to explore the Flinders Chase NP.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for a night in one of the log cabins and my daughter loved it. We arrived on KI early in the morning and spent the day touring the south coast. We didn't arrive at the park until late in the day and it was a welcome sight when we pulled in here for the night. The cabin was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Inside the cabin the amenities are of a very high standard with plenty of provisions for tea, coffee and cooking facilities. After we settled into the cabin we enjoyed having dinner on the porch watching all of the wildlife including kangaroos, wallabies and geese. The park is very spacious and and well cared for. The park is also in a great position if you are spending time around the south coast and is near the entrance to Flinders Chase. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waddo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This caravan park is in an excellent location so close to the national park and caves. There are lots of Kangaroos, Wallabies and geese that come to eat the grass in the evenings. There is a walking trail around a lake that is nice and scenic.

We stayed in a luxury cabin that seemed to be fairly new. However it was a little bit small for 5 people and was a bit of a squeeze around the queen bed. The cabin was perfectly clean and the kitchen and fridge were big enough for all our food and cooking needs. The LCD TV is up quite high and was a bit of a strain to watch but it picked up plenty of channels.

Overall this seemed to be a very well run park and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Oh My God this Caravan Park was the absolute best on King Island. We stayed at various caravan and camping places on the island and they are absolutely no comparison to this park. Its located in a quiet and grogeous setting with abundant wildlife. The staff are professional, warm and welcoming yet non invasive to your stay. The park was neat and tidy and most importantly the amenities were sparkling clean....a afr cry from some unpleasant amenitites at other places we stayed on the Island. It is also close to some wonderful coastal scenery, landmarks and activities. A great place for couples, families or groups.
My only comment would be for the Island as a whole is to stock up on supplies as things are expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
51.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
904 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
55.7 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
408 reviews
49.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#5 of 7 in Kingscote
35 reviews
50.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve

Address: 7928 South Coast Road | Karatta, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kingscote
Price Range: $98 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western KI Caravan Park And Wildlife Reserve Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing