We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality apartment in Kingscote, Kangaroo Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good quality apartment in Kingscote, Kangaroo Island”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Booked a three day/four night package to Kangaroo Island and the accommodation part of the deal was at the Acacia Apartments in Kingscote. We were in Room #1, which is a two bedroom apartment (one queen bed in one bedroom and three single beds in the second bedroom).

Our stay was in winter, which meant the rooms were a little cold but there was a reverse cycle AC unit in the main living area that warmed the apartment and the electric blankets came in handy. The apartment has a full kitchen and we were provided with complimentary basic breakfast provisions for the first morning.

The apartments are close to the shore, but some distance from the main part of Kingscote. In summer it would be a nice walk to the centre of town. The kids enjoyed the large indoor (heated) pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I spent several days exploring Kangaroo Island. The first few nights we stayed on the west end but needed a place that was closer to the ferry terminal for our trip back to the mainland. We called Deidre on short notice and she was very welcoming. When we pulled up her dog was bouncing around and being friendly. Deidre was very helpful and talked to us like we'd know each other for years. She even called into town to the hotel and reserved us a table for "schnitzel night". We thought this was a joke but once we arrived and ordered and saw other groups of tourists get turned away we realized this is a big deal in Kingcote.

The rooms have all the amenities you would need to spend time on the island. The bathrooms are spacious, the kitchen stocked with things like milk and butter and tea. There is a tv and free movies from the front desk. Although we didn't use the pool house I did explore that and the surrounding grounds on the property and they are beautiful. It is quiet and peaceful and Diedre could not be a better host.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EarlyElkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 8 nights in a spa apartment. The apartment was extremely clean and spacious. When we arrived there was a 'survival' package in the apartment, ie tea bags, milk, breakfast cereal and nicely chilled water in the fridge. The kitchen contained all the necessary utensils to make cooking very easy even including aluminium foil and clingfilm. There were a couple of bbqs available should you wish to use them.
The laundry facilities were excellent, not in the apartment, but washing powder was supplied, even a washing line should you prefer to use it rather than the clothes drier.
Our sheets and towels were changed half way through our stay and supplies of toiletries replaced.
I would recommend this place to my friends, the staff were lovely also and very helpful.
There was wifi available at no extra cost and the tv, dvd were modern.

Room Tip: We had apartment 3 which looked out onto the central garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

These apartments are 1 km from the town centre and the walk there is pleasant. We had a spacious apartment and no complaints with equipment..... and yet we found it a little odd. Maybe it's the old fashioned feel to the decor (like visiting Grannie) or the fact that we saw no staff in three days (we just received notes). It was fine but we were pleased to move on.
Do go to the Bay of Shoals winery around the corner from here - superb wine in a great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a spa apartment which was extremely clean and very spacious. Even though we had our car, we arranged a tour with Deidre (the very friendly owner) of the north side of the island as access to the scenic spots on this side of the island were on unsealed roads. We thorougly enjoyed the tour and well worth it as we got to see almost everything this side of the Island had to offer. The appartments are in a quiet area and easy walking distance to the main town of Kingscote. The pelican feeding on the Kingscote pier is also worth attending. As we stayed for 5 nights, we had a night for free and so thought the Acacia Apparments are great value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The spa appartments are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

the apartment was 5 star and had everything you needed only a short walk to town and a few minutes to coast dedrie and her little dog were lovely well spread the word

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparksnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The Acacia Apartments are somewhat pricy, but I think most accommodations on Kangaroo Island are pricy. Our apartment was a large two bedroom apartment with very comfortable furniture. The kitchen was large. Parking is right outside the door.
We really had no complaints, but if you want to be within walking distance of restaurants and have a view of the ocean, you might be happier at the Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kingscote (the newer section). These looked quite nice when we drove by.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
52.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
0.5 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
379 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments

Property: Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Address: 3-5 Rawson St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing