We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Roomy and Functional”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Kangaroo Island is an absolute must, if you are making the long trip down to Australia. This hotel, though good enough, doesn't really fit in with the vibe on the island. If I were to go back, I would stay in a more personal property, perhaps one of the many B&Bs. That said, this hotel served its purpose well. We stayed in one of the Upper Floor One Bedroom Apartments. It had a sort of prefab feel, but was very spacious, new and extremely clean. The bathroom had a separate tub and shower and one sink. Though we did not use it, the kitchen had all the utensils etc. you might need to prepare a meal. We had a nice view to the sea and parking was easy on the street.

The restaurant at the hotel, though not much to look at, is suprisingly good. Kingscote isn't beautiful, but it feels quaint and is very convenient place to stay when visiting the island. For someone looking for an easy stay on a beautiful island, you could do much worse than the Ozone.

As an aside, we did a full day tour with Exceptional Kangaroo Island tours and it was absolutely fantastic. We highly recommend this operator.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 856 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

The Kingscote Pier Apartments are located in Kingscote across the road from the pub and overlooking stunning Nepean Bay . They are managed by the Aurora Ozone Hotel. Its approx 10mins drive from Kingscote Airport.

Check-in – We arrived around 7pm and the apartment foyer seemed to be closed so we walked across the road to the pub and booked in. We were given directions where to park and our apartment number 7 key.

Apartment – Our Number 7 Deluxe Upper floor apartment was welcoming with a fully self contained large kitchen, open plan lounge / dining room which lead out to a spacious balcony with stunning water views. A large Plasma TV/ CD/ DVD entertainment unit were also supplied.

The Bedroom was down the corridor which was very roomy with a comfortable double bed and good size wardrobe. The bathroom was light, bright and spacious with a large spa bath and walk-in shower. Fluffy towels and basic toiletries were neatly supplied.

Overall – We enjoyed our two night stay at Ozone and would recommend them, to us we thought they looked to be the best on the island not including the Southern Ocean Resort and found the apartments to modern and well equipped for a comfortable stay.

There is no mini bar contents but if you want grog just walk across the road to the hotel. They have a very good wine shop within the hotel. Tea and coffee facilities were supplied however there is no daily service on the apartment.

We found the pub to offer excellent meals and dined there every evening. The Deli around the corner also offered a first-class breakfast. There is also a good size supermarket within walking distance to the Ozone Apartments.

The reason there are mixed reviews on TA is because the hotel which also manages the apartments have cheaper and older type rooms. The apartments mentioned are across the road from the hotel and are a new and modern complex. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

we stayed two nights at the aurora penthouse no 301. it was spacious and comfortable w two bedrooms and two bathrooms. there was a tv in each room and in the living room as well. the balcony was big but we didn't make use of it because it had rained in the two days we were there. kingscote is small but cosy and quiet town. because the penthouse is a self-service place in the new part of the hotel, we had to have our meals out. but it was no issue. we had takeaway pizzas from restaurant bella which were real yummy on a cold night, and we had dinner at the hotel restaurant the second night. food at the hotel rest was average, I think we would have done better at bella. the penthouse wasn't that costly - it worked out to about A$120 a person (there were 3 of us). the only negative thing was the morning when we were checking out. kingscote is an hour's drive to pennshaw so to catch the 8.30am ferry back to the mainland, we wanted to check out at 6am so that we would have time for a leisurely breakfast. but the hotel reception opens only at 6.30am and although a couple of persons wer ein the reception area (one of them was a painter), they completely ignored us until a girl sauntered in just before 6.30am. But we can't hold it against them, perhaps we should have settled out bill the night before. otherwise the penthouse was really comfortable to relax in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimmietravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

The location was great and the staff were very friendly.
We got the double standard room and the room was above the bistro area of the hotel. We wished we booked the rooms across the road which looked very new (the higher end rooms of the Ozone Hotel).
The decor in our room was a bit old fashion and the bath room was a bit small (no bath tub). The room itself was very cleaned though and the furnishing maintained. There were lots of street parking available.

Overall the room served its purpose well and I will recommend this hotel especially the newer wing which looked incredible.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night on 3-day tour of gorgeous Kangaroo Island. Ideally situated near airport and across street from penguin colony, with beautiful bay/ocean views. Rooms very basic but clean; stay in new hotel building across street from old hotel (still on water); do avoid rooms in original building. Guests tend to be Germans, French and Brits who are here for the nature. Food in restaurant is surprisingly tasty; locals come here for the friendly bar atmosphere. Reception is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoLawyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Ozone. The accommodation is structured into 2 areas (across the road from each other): an older hotel section, and a newer section that includes several penthouse apartments. We stayed in one of the penthouses. It was very well-equipped, with a luxurious big spa, TVs in each bedroom, and an excellent kitchen. The location was ideal, being just across the road from the seaside, and very close to the penguin colony at Kingscote. We found the food at the hotel to be inexpensive and of great quality, centring on local produce (eg excellent cheeses). A great stay - but do bear in mind that the apartments (as distinct from the hotel rooms) are not serviced.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We just stayed one night during our 2 day self drive tour of KI.

The hotel is maybe a little old fashioned but perfectly acceptable.
We had a 'Superior' room with ocean view, but there was a road (albeit quiet) between our room and the beach.

We ate in the restaurant, after wandering aroung Kingscote and finding very little alternative.

The receptionist was helpful, but when we paid our bill it was automatically converted to Sterling when we prefer to pay in the local currency as we have a good deal for using our card abroad ((Nationwide). This conversion cost us more than had we paid in Aus $. She said the machine automatically converted and could not be changed. The cost was probably only a few pounds, but just slightly annoying.

Overall though the hotel was fine, and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
420 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
391 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: $115 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing