We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
$110
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$150
$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Links Lady Bay Resort(Normanville)(Great Value!)
$131
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveler rating
174
379
240
83
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
379
240
83
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadthe penthouseexecutive roomthe main hotelsea viewnew buildingkangaroo islandoriginal hotelbuffet breakfastone bedroom apartmentnice roompelican feedingking bedstayed for one nightfull kitchenbalconybay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 938 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a visitor centre conference. Loved the whole island. Will be back for an extended stay. Enchanted by the seal doing side stroke in the bay while we enjoyed breakfast. Magical experience. Considering the remoteness everything was very well priced and the steak was delicious

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inghamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Hello Inghamite,

We are glad your experience on Kangaroo Island and your stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel met your expectations. The Ozone Hotel location is perfect and the seals are often swimming along this piece of water showing off !. We are also happy you enjoyed your dining and we look forward to welcoming you back to Kangaroo Island and the Aurora Ozone Hotel in the near future.

Regards,
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a room in the original section of the hotel with a wonderful sea view and very nice and very spacious apartment with king bed. Nothing to fault and I did tell the management it was our wedding anniversary whilst we were staying there and on our anniversary night we dined at the restaurant and they surprised us with a bottle of champers on the house. A wonderful gesture and the meal was terrific also.
Would recommend it to anyone. David K

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hello David K

We were pleased that you chose The Aurora Ozone Hotel on Kangaroo Island to celebrate your
Wedding Anniversary. It was our pleasure to provide you with a small gift on this special occasion. We hope you celebrate many more wedding anniversaries and hope to see you back on Kangaroo Island in the near future.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The room itself was comfortable and well presented but the views stated in the description should have said 'obstructed sea views) included buffet breakfast was average in quality & the chef used her fingers to slide an egg on my plate.
Room service is available but at a $10 extra charge.
$318 per night including breakfast was a bit pricey for what we got in my opinion.
There is a lack of vegetarian foods on the menu as well soI had mash & veggies for dinner and they were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hello Mel E
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the room and the views. The Pine tree's are part of the natural street scape beauty on KI and a limited amount of the Seaview rooms are partially obstructed by these trees. We will review our breakfast procedures. We have introduced a small vegetarian menu in our Bistro to provide a wider variety of option for Vegetarians.
Thanks again for your comments.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Kingscote is a quaint little town in Kangaroo Island. Kangaroo Island is large in size, but only 4000 people live there. It is very remote. There is not a lot to do there except for the amazing tours of course. The Aurora Ozone Hotel is small and quaint, but probably one of the nicest hotels in Kangaroo Island given the circumstances. The upgraded us for free to a large room with a see view, it was very nice. Breakfast was included which was nice. There's only about 3 restaurants in town, and no entertainment or nightlife, but when you're in Kangaroo Island, you're not there for that. You're there for the amazing wildlife, beaches, and scenery. And in that regard, the Aurora Ozone Hotel is perfect for the purpose. Its right on the beach, you can walk the beach with a glass of wine at night for your "nightlife." You can watch the sunrise, and see seals and birds on the beach in the morning for your entertainment. We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner as we were told the one around the corner was better food and less expensive. Make sure you stay in the newer section of the hotel across the street from the lobby. Great location, great little place, recommend it for Kangaroo Island Adventurers!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the newer section of the hotel across the street from the lobby.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingbelle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hello dancingbelle47

We are please that you had an enjoyable stay on Kangaroo Island and at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. Your are certainly correct when you say Kangaroo Island wildlife , beaches and scenery are 3 very good reasons to visit and also the Wineries and local produce are again other highlights of the Kangaroo Island Experience. We hope you will visit KI again in the near future.

Regards,

GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The most beautiful location and hotel. Very good on service but they really need to work with their chefs if they wish to encourage vegetarians coming to their hotel. We were a family of 5 (with a child). The reception was very good with their services and cant forget to mention their restaurant staff. We were their guests for 3 nights but sorry to say that didn't once enjoy our evening meals after a nice and rewarding day tours. Every evening we had to wait for over 50 mins for our veg courses to arrive at the table and that too without any taste. All the 3 meals we had were the same( no options available) Even with a hungry kiddo and requesting the Chef everyday to give us some other options it was the same story.

The hotel would be the best if they just worked with their menus and chef to be a little caring towards their vegetarian patrons

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are the best( we were in the old building)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KuntalShah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi KuntaShah22.
We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation facilities and service during your recent stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are disappointed that we did not provide your family with more suitable options for Vegetarian dinning and that the service was a little slow. We will review our Menu options ensuring we have a substantial selection of vegetarian dishes for future guests.
Thank you
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews