We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable wedding anniversary stay”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a room in the original section of the hotel with a wonderful sea view and very nice and very spacious apartment with king bed. Nothing to fault and I did tell the management it was our wedding anniversary whilst we were staying there and on our anniversary night we dined at the restaurant and they surprised us with a bottle of champers on the house. A wonderful gesture and the meal was terrific also.
Would recommend it to anyone. David K

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hello David K

We were pleased that you chose The Aurora Ozone Hotel on Kangaroo Island to celebrate your
Wedding Anniversary. It was our pleasure to provide you with a small gift on this special occasion. We hope you celebrate many more wedding anniversaries and hope to see you back on Kangaroo Island in the near future.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 878 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The room itself was comfortable and well presented but the views stated in the description should have said 'obstructed sea views) included buffet breakfast was average in quality & the chef used her fingers to slide an egg on my plate.
Room service is available but at a $10 extra charge.
$318 per night including breakfast was a bit pricey for what we got in my opinion.
There is a lack of vegetarian foods on the menu as well soI had mash & veggies for dinner and they were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Hello Mel E
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the room and the views. The Pine tree's are part of the natural street scape beauty on KI and a limited amount of the Seaview rooms are partially obstructed by these trees. We will review our breakfast procedures. We have introduced a small vegetarian menu in our Bistro to provide a wider variety of option for Vegetarians.
Thanks again for your comments.

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Kingscote is a quaint little town in Kangaroo Island. Kangaroo Island is large in size, but only 4000 people live there. It is very remote. There is not a lot to do there except for the amazing tours of course. The Aurora Ozone Hotel is small and quaint, but probably one of the nicest hotels in Kangaroo Island given the circumstances. The upgraded us for free to a large room with a see view, it was very nice. Breakfast was included which was nice. There's only about 3 restaurants in town, and no entertainment or nightlife, but when you're in Kangaroo Island, you're not there for that. You're there for the amazing wildlife, beaches, and scenery. And in that regard, the Aurora Ozone Hotel is perfect for the purpose. Its right on the beach, you can walk the beach with a glass of wine at night for your "nightlife." You can watch the sunrise, and see seals and birds on the beach in the morning for your entertainment. We did not eat at the restaurant for dinner as we were told the one around the corner was better food and less expensive. Make sure you stay in the newer section of the hotel across the street from the lobby. Great location, great little place, recommend it for Kangaroo Island Adventurers!

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the newer section of the hotel across the street from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancingbelle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hello dancingbelle47

We are please that you had an enjoyable stay on Kangaroo Island and at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. Your are certainly correct when you say Kangaroo Island wildlife , beaches and scenery are 3 very good reasons to visit and also the Wineries and local produce are again other highlights of the Kangaroo Island Experience. We hope you will visit KI again in the near future.

Regards,

GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The most beautiful location and hotel. Very good on service but they really need to work with their chefs if they wish to encourage vegetarians coming to their hotel. We were a family of 5 (with a child). The reception was very good with their services and cant forget to mention their restaurant staff. We were their guests for 3 nights but sorry to say that didn't once enjoy our evening meals after a nice and rewarding day tours. Every evening we had to wait for over 50 mins for our veg courses to arrive at the table and that too without any taste. All the 3 meals we had were the same( no options available) Even with a hungry kiddo and requesting the Chef everyday to give us some other options it was the same story.

The hotel would be the best if they just worked with their menus and chef to be a little caring towards their vegetarian patrons

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms are the best( we were in the old building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KuntalShah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi KuntaShah22.
We are pleased you enjoyed our accommodation facilities and service during your recent stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are disappointed that we did not provide your family with more suitable options for Vegetarian dinning and that the service was a little slow. We will review our Menu options ensuring we have a substantial selection of vegetarian dishes for future guests.
Thank you
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Aurora Ozone Hotel for a conference and could not fault any of it. I stayed in an Executive Sea View room in the original section of the hotel and it was beautiful. It was gorgeous to wake up to the sunrise over the water and the seal frolicking in the waters below. The bed was very comfortable, amazing pillows! The bathroom was lovely, with modern features and a great shower. The only thing I missed was a full length mirror and a bath (I'm used to those comforts at home, but it was not a major issue).

We had a buffet breakfast downstairs each morning, which was great and the meal for our conference dinner was beautiful.

Would definitely recommend travellers (work or leisure) to stay at this property.

Room Tip: Executive Sea View rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TabbyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi Tabby Tee
We are please you had a great experience at the Aurora Ozone Hotel during your recent stay attending a conference. The location of the Hotel is fantastic with sea views and nature (seals) frolicking in the ocean below. We are proud of our newly refurbished rooms. Some of our rooms in the Apartment section do have a bath so next time you visit please ask for a room with a bath. We look forward to seeing you back on Kangaroo Island in the near future.
Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in a seaview room which was really lovely & we could hear the sea if we left the door open a little. But as we were out most of both days we were here we did not really get to use it a lot. The room was very clean & well appointed if plain.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful & I have to recommend the restaurant, the food is really awesome. The local wine made on the isalnd is really nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 369zsazsa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hello 369zsazsa23.

We appreciate all your great comments during your stay and look forward to welcoming you back as valued guests to the Aurora Ozone Hotel in the near future

Regards,

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed on 2 May 2014 in an Executive Seaview room. There is a newer section of the hotel across the road but we were in the original hotel which has recently been refurbished and updated about 3 months ago. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay, the décor was excellent and appealing including the bathroom which had the latest fittings. The hotel has been beautifully done up and the dining room also has great views of the bay, We were lucky to see some seals frolicking in the water from our bedroom window. The choice of breakfast and the service was excellent. Couldn't fault this hotel and was told by other guests who stayed in the newer building opposite, it was also great.

Room Tip: Ask for an Executive Room facing the water in the original hotel, we had the end room and did not h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetlady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Jetlady 2011

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. The original Hotel and the Executive Seaview rooms were refurbished September 2013 and have great ocean views. Our Bistro which also have views over the bay. We often have the seals playing on the beach in front of the hotel which is an added attraction for our guests. We hope you may return to Kangaroo Island soon and experience all our facilities again.

Thank you

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
433 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
401 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: $106 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing