We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but hotel (condo) fell short”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Nice location, but hotel (condo) fell short”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at the Aurora Ozone for 3 nights in December, from the 24th to the 27th. We were a family group of five – two couples and a 5-year-old. We stayed in a 2-bedroom/2-bathroom penthouse apartment.

One thing that should be understood is that the apartments are in a more modern building across the street from the hotel itself. They are privately-owned condos and it seems that the hotel acts as a managing agent, renting them out when the owners are not using them. (Our unit was for sale at the time of our stay; we saw the listing posted in the window of a real estate office).

When we arrived at the main hotel, the woman at the reception desk was in the middle of telling a couple that absolutely nothing on Kangaroo Island would be open the next day. I couldn’t help myself; for the sake of this poor couple, I interrupted and told them the two places that I knew would be open, plus gave them a few other ideas for Christmas Day. (I’d done research in advance). This woman at Aurora reception works in the tourism industry on a small island; for her to be so uninformed and unhelpful was pretty appalling.

OK, so we checked in (pretty straightforward) and were taken across the street to our condo. The apartment was clean and spacious, not luxurious, but it was what we expected for the price. It had a nice ocean view and a small terrace.

It also had a bad smell. Mainly the problem was a mildew smell in the apartment, but one day there was an even worse smell coming in from the hallway. (Worst diaper/nappy ever? Something died? We’re not quite sure). Luckily it wasn’t hot, so we kept the terrace doors and windows open most of the time.

We paid an extra $30 a night to have the condo serviced, but they didn’t tell us that no one would clean on Christmas Day. A woman did clean on Boxing Day, and then we checked out the next morning. So we paid $90 for one clean.

The wifi didn’t work in the condo at all. It didn’t work from the hotel lobby across the street, either, unless you stood right by the reception desk.

We had breakfast in our apartment each morning and lunches out on the go. We ate at the Aurora Ozone restaurant on Christmas evening; the food was fine and the service was cheerful, but this is not a truly upscale or gourmet place.

I do highly recommend Bella Pizza in Kingscote, though – we loved their pizza!

We spent two full days on Kangaroo Island. On Christmas Day we went on the Hanson Bay koala walk, visited the Parndana Wildlife Park, and then spent some time at Stokes Bay. The shallow water there was perfect for our little nephew. On Boxing Day we went on a dolphin cruise (KI Marine Adventures) and then visited Paul’s Place Wildlife Sanctuary. Had a lovely time overall on Kangaroo Island!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank frangipani7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Frangipani7
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we did not met all your expectations whilst staying at the Aurora Ozone Hotel over the Xmas period. The Hotel had researched prior what amenities and food services were open on Xmas Day on the Island, so I am a little disappointed that you overheard our reception advising guests incorrect information. There were certainly very limited services open on the Island for that day. Our restaurant was open for Breakfast, pre booked Xmas lunch and open for Dinner. We are sorry that a smell had penetrated your apartments floor. There was a Letter handed to all guests on arrival that did advise there would be no Housekeeping services on Xmas day, but any items required would be available from Reception. Unfortunately on check in you may not have been handed this letter for which were are very sorry. WIFI on KI can be interrupted frequently and we are always working to improve this service with our WIFI provider.
Thank you again for your comments
Regards GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    337
    207
    68
    48
See reviews for
126
496
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Booked a few nights accomodation here as part of our honeymoon. We booked an "executive spa room" thinking we could enjoy some time relaxing in our room and on our "private balcony" with "magnificant beach front view" - just like images we saw online when we booked. Instead we were given a smal, dark, outdated room on the ground floor where you could barely see across the road - this was before we drew the curtains to see the "private balcony" - a small triangle shaped tile area barely big enough for one person to stand on let alone have 2 chairs! Thanksfully the receptionist offered us another room. However upon checkout we were still charged the same - expensive - fee although we had to share a balcony with other guests, had no spa bath and minor tasks such as replacing soaps or tea bags were not done during room service. Terrible way to end out honeymoon - best off renting out a holiday house!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jcull86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear JCull,

We are very sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations especially on your honeymoon. At the Ozone we have two sections. The original Hotel and the apartment Hotel. We have Seaview executive rooms in both sections and on the web sites they are classed as one room type Executive Seaview room. Some Seaview executive rooms have private balconies of various sizes in the Apartment section and the Executive Seaview rooms in the Original hotel have a common balcony shared. The original Hotel Seaview rooms unfortunately do not have spa baths but are extremely well presented as they have just been refurbished. All our Hotel rooms (except Apartments) are serviced daily including replenish amenities. We are sorry that your room was not serviced during your time with us. We will review our web site to see if we can communicate to our guests our room types. Thank you for your comments.

Regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Updated facilities in the old hotel and modern chic in the new section. Food at the bistro was lovely. The reception staff went out of their way to find us a room when our other accommodation fell through.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Exkiwi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ex kiwi50.

Thank you for your comments during your recent stay with us at Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Aurora Ozone in the near future.

Regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Aurora Ozone Hotel in January 2013. From check in to check out, we found the service to be faultless. Thank you to Pete, Jude & Tabitha for making our stay absolutely wonderful. Our room overlooking the ocean was spacious, clean and comfortable. And the location was the best in terms of exploring the island or just going for a walk along the jetty. Restaurant fabulous! Highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Kangaroo Island!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Linda C

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are pleased that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed our Executive Ocean view rooms in the original Hotel Section. The location, décor and view is certainly spectacular. We are always pleased that your dinning experience in our Bistro was fabulous. Thank you again and hopefully you will return to KI in the near future.

Regards,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo at this hotel on Christmas Day. The restaurant was open, and we had lunch and dinner there. The people running the hotel were new, and a little confused on a couple of things, but they were super friendly and made sure we had everything we needed in a timely manner. Would highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrgsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear jdrgsonc

Thank you for spending Xmas with Us at the Ozone Hotel. We are happy your stay was enjoyable. We are glad you enjoyed Xmas lunch and Dinner. We were new and maybe a little confused but we are now getting use to this property as each week goes by.

Thanks again,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Although this is not a fancy hotel, the rooms are large, beds comfortable and the service was terrific. Breakfast was good. Restaurant seemed busy in the evening. We did not eat there for dinner so no opinion on dinner. We needed some help with the in room safe and the desk clerk came up twice in a timely manner and was very helpful. She also provided us with an adapter. Easy walk to children parl and the peer where the pelicans get fed every evening. Free wifi in lobby was a plus. Overall nice place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Computermana,

Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and our service. Our team members are always willing to assist our guests with any issues and resolve these as quickly as possible. The children's park and daily pelican feeding are just one of the many attraction very close to the Ozone Hotel. Free WIFI is a bonus for all our hotel guests.

regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was part of our package (tour with kangaroo Island Odysseys, via trailfinders).

We paid extra (via original Trailfinders booking) to have higher level of accommodation, I believe it was described as "luxury". But the accommodation was exceptionally basic. And if the rooms are supposed to be newly refurbished, I'm not sure what decade the decorators stepped out of. Yes the room was large (2 double beds) but it looked dated and worse still our bathroom smelled awful. Like rotting veg.

To their credit, the hotel allowed us to move rooms... To an identical one next door, but they did it begrudgingly and made a show of standing in the smelly bathroom and sniffing it!

Dinner was decent though. I guess there is not a lot of choice in kingscote but if you can stay somewhere else, then do!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
379 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Property: Aurora Ozone Hotel
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing