We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo at this hotel on Christmas Day. The restaurant was open, and we had lunch and dinner there. The people running the hotel were new, and a little confused on a couple of things, but they were super friendly and made sure we had everything we needed in a timely manner. Would highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrgsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear jdrgsonc

Thank you for spending Xmas with Us at the Ozone Hotel. We are happy your stay was enjoyable. We are glad you enjoyed Xmas lunch and Dinner. We were new and maybe a little confused but we are now getting use to this property as each week goes by.

Thanks again,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    325
    202
    67
    45
See reviews for
119
481
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Although this is not a fancy hotel, the rooms are large, beds comfortable and the service was terrific. Breakfast was good. Restaurant seemed busy in the evening. We did not eat there for dinner so no opinion on dinner. We needed some help with the in room safe and the desk clerk came up twice in a timely manner and was very helpful. She also provided us with an adapter. Easy walk to children parl and the peer where the pelicans get fed every evening. Free wifi in lobby was a plus. Overall nice place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Computermana,

Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and our service. Our team members are always willing to assist our guests with any issues and resolve these as quickly as possible. The children's park and daily pelican feeding are just one of the many attraction very close to the Ozone Hotel. Free WIFI is a bonus for all our hotel guests.

regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was part of our package (tour with kangaroo Island Odysseys, via trailfinders).

We paid extra (via original Trailfinders booking) to have higher level of accommodation, I believe it was described as "luxury". But the accommodation was exceptionally basic. And if the rooms are supposed to be newly refurbished, I'm not sure what decade the decorators stepped out of. Yes the room was large (2 double beds) but it looked dated and worse still our bathroom smelled awful. Like rotting veg.

To their credit, the hotel allowed us to move rooms... To an identical one next door, but they did it begrudgingly and made a show of standing in the smelly bathroom and sniffing it!

Dinner was decent though. I guess there is not a lot of choice in kingscote but if you can stay somewhere else, then do!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This Hotel was our stay at the end of our Kangaroo Island journey.... we had stayed in cabins the rest of the way around the Island. It was so comfortable... large king size beds... great air conditioning. The service was great. Didnt realise that the accommodation section was separate to the main part of the hotel... just across the road. This was not a problem. Breakfast and dinner was wonderful as was the service. We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Cathy L Thank you for taking the time to respond to your recent stay at the Ozone Hotel on Kangaroo Island. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time on the Island and at the Ozone Hotel. Yes we do have two separate accommodation sections, One in the original Hotel building and the Apartments across the road. Both are located close to the ocean. We are happy you enjoyed your dining for both Breakfast and Dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Interesting hotel (one of the few hotels usually considered by travel agencies, and one of the few hotels on the island I'd say). We had a sea front room on the ground floor, maybe too close to the road but traffic there is almost nil, very large and equipped with all the comforts (ironing board, tea making facilities, safe etc.). The bathroom was large and nice too. We had also an interesting dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The people at the front desk was especially brisk but friendly enough. There is also a pool but we didn't use it,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkjadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ikjadvisor, Thank you for your comments during your recent say at the Ozone Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room location, size of room and facilities provided. We are also pleased with your comments regarding your dining and reception experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with the decor and furnishings in this brand new extension. Plus everything works!
Nice sea view and very comfortable bed.
Enjoyed the restaurant house seafood curry and KI sauv blanc wine.
Staff friendly and free wifi fast when using in reception area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Yorkshire1245

Thank you for your comments, We were please you found our new Seaside rooms to your satisfaction. We are delighted with these rooms and the location is a bonus. Our chef does prepare a great selection of curries and our seafood curry is very popular. Kangaroo Island is well known for its local Wines

Thank you
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Appartemant (executive room)- Upper lever-number 7 (2 nights):
Positives:
-Modern appartement with everything you need.
-Kitchen full equiped. (you can by the way prepare all your meals if you want)
-Quiet, very quiet room and area
-Very nice ocean view
-For an additional 15$ breakfast was good. Excellent pancake.
-Supermarket -5 minutes walk

Negatives:
-Strong smell of paint or carpet .. not sure. We had to keep windows open.
-Both sofa need te be replaced. It was a bit dirty.
-Internet not available.

Overall, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you book new appartement with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtoileFilanteduSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi EtoileFilanteduStud, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your apartment and our facilities. There was some minor maintenance completed a couple of days prior. We are sorry that there may have been a paint residue smell lingering. The internet is WIFI and on some occasions can be interrupted.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
29.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Property: Aurora Ozone Hotel
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing