We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea front room”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Parma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sea front room”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Interesting hotel (one of the few hotels usually considered by travel agencies, and one of the few hotels on the island I'd say). We had a sea front room on the ground floor, maybe too close to the road but traffic there is almost nil, very large and equipped with all the comforts (ironing board, tea making facilities, safe etc.). The bathroom was large and nice too. We had also an interesting dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The people at the front desk was especially brisk but friendly enough. There is also a pool but we didn't use it,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkjadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ikjadvisor, Thank you for your comments during your recent say at the Ozone Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room location, size of room and facilities provided. We are also pleased with your comments regarding your dining and reception experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    333
    207
    68
    47
See reviews for
124
493
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We were impressed with the decor and furnishings in this brand new extension. Plus everything works!
Nice sea view and very comfortable bed.
Enjoyed the restaurant house seafood curry and KI sauv blanc wine.
Staff friendly and free wifi fast when using in reception area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshire1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello Yorkshire1245

Thank you for your comments, We were please you found our new Seaside rooms to your satisfaction. We are delighted with these rooms and the location is a bonus. Our chef does prepare a great selection of curries and our seafood curry is very popular. Kangaroo Island is well known for its local Wines

Thank you
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Appartemant (executive room)- Upper lever-number 7 (2 nights):
Positives:
-Modern appartement with everything you need.
-Kitchen full equiped. (you can by the way prepare all your meals if you want)
-Quiet, very quiet room and area
-Very nice ocean view
-For an additional 15$ breakfast was good. Excellent pancake.
-Supermarket -5 minutes walk

Negatives:
-Strong smell of paint or carpet .. not sure. We had to keep windows open.
-Both sofa need te be replaced. It was a bit dirty.
-Internet not available.

Overall, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you book new appartement with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtoileFilanteduSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi EtoileFilanteduStud, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your apartment and our facilities. There was some minor maintenance completed a couple of days prior. We are sorry that there may have been a paint residue smell lingering. The internet is WIFI and on some occasions can be interrupted.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I made this booking as part of a trip to celebrate my wife's birthday. Shortly afterwards she broke her ankle. We were still able to have our holiday, but were reliant on crutches and a wheelchair. They were extremely helpful and happily changed our room to one with easy access. We had a great meal in the restaurant. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Phillip J Thank you for your comments whilst staying at the Ozone Hotel. We are glad you and your wife were still able to holiday to KI even with a broken ankle. Our Front desk team were only to pleased to assist with another room with better access for your wife. We are also happy your dining experience was enjoyable. Yes we also agree our location is fantastic and we are able to enjoy this every day while working.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

They didn't arrange the room that I Booked online, as I refused to take it, they only said that unfortunately I had to stayed at the room they arrange because they were fully booked. They THOUGHT they upgrade a better room for me, but that was not I want. They didn't consider my feeling of their arrangement. They just kept thinking they were provided a good room for me whitout thinking whether I accepted or not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Connie L Thank you for your comments during your recent stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We were extremely busy and on your arrival night we look at our bookings and decided to upgrade your booking from a Executive Seaview room to a self contained one bedroom Apartment. We were obliged to offer you in our terms a better grade of room Free Of Charge. We did understand you were not happy with this arrangement on this occasion and then we moved several other guests to ensure you could have your original room type for your stay. Again we are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this stay.

Regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Poolside Family Room (For 4) during the start of 2014. Simply said, the room we found ourselves in was lackluster and completely devoid of cleanliness. The Wi-Fi constantly dropped on and off. The location was alright, considering its close proximity to the Sealink Ferry dock in Penneshaw. The Poolside Family Rooms are located in the older building and were not up to our expectations, especially for the price we paid. The carpet was dirty and stained, The towels had not been cleaned or dried before our arrival. Also, the conditioner, bodywash and shampoo were contained in the shower, rather than provided in squeeze bottles which was disappointing considering that even motor inns provide new bottles of these aforementioned necessities fresh everyday. All in all, the poolside family rooms were simply disappointing and we would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Donald W, Thank you for your comments, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay in our family rooms. The Family rooms are in the original section of the Hotel but are clean and comfortable (serviced daily). The FREE WIFI is available throughout the Hotel and on some occasions can be disrupted due to our Island location. Fresh towels are provided each day as part of our daily room service. The Bathroom amenities are purchased in bulk and placed in bathroom dispensers at our Aurora Properties in Australia. this method ensures our guests are provided with sufficient bathroom amenities during there stay. Again we are sorry we did not meet some of your expectations.

Regards,

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not sure if I should call this a hotel but anyways, liked our stay there even though we barely spent any time in the room. Situated in Kingscote which is one of the closer areas when you drive in from Penneshaw, hotel has 2 buildings, we stayed at the newer annex so I suggest you request to stay there too. Room for 3 was very spacious with a queen bed (which we separated into 2 singles) and a single bed,so don't waste your $$ on a rollaway bed. Restaurant was nice I suggest you have one dinner there, or if you're gonna catch dinner outside make sure it's before 20:30 (last order).
Kangaroo island is nice for a 2-night stay, no longer. Go out, explore the other side of the island. Take a wildlife tour its worth it, you get to see all animals and lots of kangaroos we got to take some up close pics with them. Don't be surprised at all the poor dead wallabies on the road that have been hit by cars, so my advice is be careful driving at night they jump out of nowhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmoess87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello drmosess87 Thank you for your comments. The Aurora Ozone is a traditional Hotel in a regional location and has two buildings. Your building was located across from the original Hotel which incidentally also has excellent Seaview rooms. To ensure we complete our guest experience during there stay we ask that bedding configurations prior to arrival so we can complete. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal in our Bistro which is open till late. Two days we suggest as a minimum stay on KI longer too really experience KI. Unfortunately The wildlife of KI do not have any road sense so be very careful particularly during Sunrise & Sunset and at night.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
29.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Property: Aurora Ozone Hotel
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing