We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your itinerary !”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bring your itinerary !”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The front desk service is poor and they cannot retrieve your bookings unless you show them your documentation. I have prepaid the breakfast and penguin tour. But the front desk do not trust me even though I presented the receipt. Very disappointing attitude !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yuenchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    343
    210
    70
    50
See reviews for
130
506
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After reading several reviews, I was slightly apprehensive when we were told our rooms were in the old hotel. Luckily, they were lovely. They were modern and comfortable. The best thing was the door that opened onto the upper porch that faced the ocean. There were wicker chairs and it was wonderful to have a coffee out there and just look at the view.
That's the hotel part. The restaurant is another story. As it's part of the hotel, I'm including it the rating. There are minimal choices for meals in Kingscote. In fact, when we were there, at 5:30, there were no other choices!! The Aurora restaurant offers standard food at high prices.
The worst was the breakfast. The bread selection was three types of packaged square bread. They even ran out of one of those! The hot offerings were poached eggs, dry bacon and beans. There were some cut up oranges and watermelon. There was the usual few cold cereals. The worst part was the drinkable coffee! If it hadn't been included in the room rate. I would have asked for a refund!! If you're just there for one night to see the wildlife, it's fine, just pack some food!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csenora48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Menu very appealing if you like steak and seafood
Only one chicken dish on the mains menu apartment from the chicken salad
Very expensive but the meals sensational and restaurant quality thus making it very expensive

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyM894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

On arriving I was unsure where to check in. No reception stood out. Needed to walk through the dinning area to the find it. Would help if they had a sign at the newer apartments to direct people. When I booked I specifically asked for two rooms next to each other as we were a family of five.
The lady at the counter informed me we had one in the new section and one in the old. But when I said that I had asked to be together she made it possible.
The staff were all very friendly. We ate at the restaurant on two nights out of our three and where very happy with our meals. On one occasion we had to wait a bit for our meals so they gave us complimentary dessert.
Rooms were great.Would have been nice to have a bigger balcony with chairs so we could sit outside. Very clean and in a great location. We had two king with single rooms which included breakfast. Breakfast was nice. Would suggest that they extend until 10am as after having full on days touring around it is nice have a bit of a sleep in and not to have to rush down to get breakfast. Overall would recommend staying here as it is quite central to everything.

Room Tip: Would request new rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytraveller9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Booked as part of a package with Sealink and including tours around attractions over a few days with the Aurora Ozone the basecamp. Looked promising as we arrived. Great location next to the ocean and parkland. An easy stroll into town for cafes, souvenirs and the exceptional local art. Confusingly the hotel is in two buildings across the road from each other. One is modern with apartment style offer and the other is very much an old hotel that has had additions to it. Despite paying a lot of money my room was in a very old part of the hotel on the ground floor that smelt and felt musty and damp. It was also a bit isolated from other rooms and from where my friend was located. It was very old fashioned and dark in decor and I really was glad I had been out on trips all day and was just sleeping there. Service was not helpful or friendly on check in or in the restaurant which seemed more like an RSL set up. Restaurant service was slow, lack of acknowledgement we would be attended to and difficulty getting our dietary needs catered for. It's a shame this hotel corners a lot fo the market for travellers and is not in keeping with the rest of the relaxed, friendly and helpful islanders we met as we traveled around the island.

Room Tip: Get one in the new block across the road from reception or better still stay at a holiday home or B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the apartments the facilities and views were fantastic.
The only downside was when we arrived the restaurant was still open we had been seated it was at least 20 minutes before anyone asked us what we'd like to eat or drink however the meal was lovely the next evening our experience in the restaurant was totally different when we were served by a young English waitress she was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can get a room in the apartments you won't be disappointed !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beasknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were here as part of a small tour group and they must have been saving money as we were in a very boring - but quite large and well equipped - motel room facing the real estate agent and right on the ramp where people wheeled their bags up. It seemed such a shame when the hotel had so many lovely rooms with balconies and views. I note they don't show any of their older style rooms on their website. Our only consolation was that we were out most of the time exploring the wonderful island with Don Duffy from Kangaroo Island Tours.
If we ever come again it will be to stay in a room with a view!!

Room Tip: pay more and stay in a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
384 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
414 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
11.2 mi away
Wanderers Rest of Kangaroo Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Property: Aurora Ozone Hotel
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing