We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A modern hotel in the photo above....an old hotel in reality”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A modern hotel in the photo above....an old hotel in reality”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great location and very efficient and friendly staff however I feel I was somewhat "conned" by booking in what I thought was a modern facility and then being put in an old room in an old hotel. The ground floor facilities had all been recently renovated and the resturant was good value with excellent food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    325
    202
    67
    44
See reviews for
119
480
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
monza
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel in the center, on the seafront, has not a private parking, you have to park on the street. In the evening, the hotel restaurant was the only open in the town.
Good service, free wifi but with have trouble connecting, small bathroom and essential.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frv_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Apparently the rooms in the new section are ok and most of the older section is being renovated but we were stuck in a very old room (upgraded to an ocean view!) with almost enough room to swing a cat and very poor ventilation. However, the gym is very good and the location is great too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
198 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here to be close to the airport for an early morning departure. Our room in the original part of the hotel was pretty worn out and quite small with a tiny bathroom. We had a small window overlooking the road and the sea. The room had a refrigerator, tea making supplies, and you could get a limited amount of free wifi. Dinner at the restaurant was OK, not great; however, there are limited other choices in town. I recommend attending the nearby pelican feeding on the wharf in the evening--it is quite entertaining.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the only choice in the capital of terrific Kangaroo island. No, you have more choices, but nothing better there, probably. Anyway, our "upgraded" executive apt was just okay with smell in the bathroom. Hugely disappointed after very poor expensive breakfast. It wasn't breakfast, just a laugh. The service was SO terrible! I couldn't believe that we are at our home country! At check-in the lady argued about our included breakfast ("It seems it isn't incl." - "I have a confirmation with breakfast package, have a look" - "No, I have all the data in my PC". WT?! "U've been upgraded, and so you don't have a right for breakfast in this type of apt.." WTF?! Finish.) and so rude during checking-out. We got a transfer at 9.15. I asked to call the transportation company at 9.20 (our flight time 10.30). The man at the desk SAID NOTHING and decided to do his business further. We asked 3 times, he looked at us and anyway said nothing. We finally got a car around 9.35 and had to rush ti the airport. SHAME.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here as part of our Sealink Kangaroo Island tour, the hotel is well appointed, the dining room has great views out over the bay. Our room was in the new building across the street, an executive room but no sea view, the room was large the bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and with an excellent shower. We eat in the hotel that evening, the food was good, but quite expensive for what it was, and as a captive audience, they can charge a bit extra, to be fair there are additional costs because everything has to be shipped in.

Room Tip: I'd personally go for a room across the road, rather than in the main building, they were upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Computastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is located in town facing the waterfront. We were in an executive Sea View Room in the new building. We were upstairs and had the corner room. It was quite large and comfortable. Had coffee maker, refrigerator, table & chairs. Nice size bathroom. Comfortable bed. Everything looked new.
My only complaint was the wifi was intermittent in the room but I went down to the lobby of the building where there was a couch and table and it worked fine there.
Everyone in the hotel was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: try to be in the new building and get an upstairs room, nicer view. The corner rooms are a little bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
372 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
29.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Property: Aurora Ozone Hotel
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing