We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded and very happy!”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Upon checking in we were upgraded to a huge, amazing room in the new wing of the hotel (over the road from reception). Both the reception and bar/restaurant staff were very frendly and accommodating and the room was extremely clean and well-kept. We also had an amazing vew of the bay. Overall, we had a great stay!

Room Tip: We actually got upgraded because we were on our honeymoon - maybe mention you've just been marri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdventurousAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 903 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We had two meals at the ozone, lunch and dinner. Lunch we had the tasting plate which was ok. Would have been better with a dipping bowl of olive oil for the bread as the bread was quite dry bug overall it was ok. Dinner the Caesar salad was good, nice to have a Caesar with cos lettus :) however the surf and turf was disappointing, the $39 price tag I expected a better meal. On the menu it said scotch wrapped in bacon with prawns, Scollops and calamari, yes did come out with the above but the pepper gravy that it comes with wasn't great there was no mention on the menu about it having pepper gravy - pepper gravy and seafood not a good mix. So beware when ordering the surf and turf. The atmosphere in the place is lovely and lovely views.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Darlin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

While booking our Kangaroo tour I upgraded to the 1st class/Executive room in the newer section of the facility. These were the worst accomodations experienced during our month-long NZ/Australia trip. They weren't much better than a very old Holiday Inn. We were encouraged to take the night's penguin watching tour close to the hotel. We should have saved our money as it was second rate and lacked professionalism.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MC2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at the Aurora Ozone Apartments that are fairly new in Kingscote for four nights. I had a huge two bedroom apartment with a kitchen, a balcony with a sea view and absolutely luxurious. Only thing wifi did not work in the room and had to go to the lobby. Breakfast was also in the main hotel, but was a good spread. The location is great on the main stretch with restaurants, shops, and the beach as well as pelican feeding all a stone's throw away. Would recommend this to families.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalpana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on Trip Adviser. In regard to the wi-fi issue we are enlarging our facility to better cope with the huge demand this service has attracted and we should have extra lines up and going by end January. Thanks again for your referral and our best wishes go with you for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

When we first booked our stay online the website didn't mention that the family rooms where in the old part of the motel so we expected to be in the new part. After the initial disappointment we ended up being happy with the room, however the beds and general decor need updating. The service needs a bit of improvement but overall I was happy with the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you were eventually happy with your room. In regard to your comments about us not mentioning which part of our hotel the family rooms are, the heading for these rooms is titled: "Poolside Family Rooms (Located in the original Aurora Ozone hotel section)". I don't see how we could make their location more prominent. Thank you again for your taking the time to write about us and we wish you happy future travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in a hotel room, large, but in need of renovation. Airco was very powerful, never experienced such a swift coolness before. You need to carry your suitcase two stairs up, no elevator present.

Small town with a very limited choice of restaurants. Big supermarket with normal prices around the corner. We booked a table by the window with seaview in the restaurant of the hotel and we are glad we did this. Great food and pleasant service. Very crowded indeed. We can recommended their red house wine (15%!), it is tastful. Perhaps that is the reason we slept very well.

Reception staff do their job, but not more than that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and service, but we are not pleased that we let you down in regard to porterage. We have used your comments to again highlight to our reception staff the importance of offering porterage to guests staying on the first floor of our original hotel section, which does not have lift access. To other readers we stress that it is our hotel policy to carry luggage to and from the upstairs rooms where lift access is not available. It is obvious on this occasion that our instructions were not followed properly by our reception staff and for this we apologise. Thank you for your feedback and our best wishes go with you for future happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked on line about 2 months in advance. It was actually the only Hotel available in Kingscote by that time. We stayed just 2 nights. Room and bathroom were clean, the style very minimal. Beds comfortable. Overall the Hotel service reflected the star rating (***). Bar, restaurant service is not as much friendly as people on holiday would imagine. Bar closes at 10:00 pm and if you would like to have something to drink after that time, you have to go either to a bottle shop outside the hotel or in your room and grasp something from the minibar. Restaurant service very quick and loud. The hotel offers also a swimming pool facility but it has only few chairs and the access is from outside the hotel not from the inside which is not that comfortable. Furthermore the technology is very rudimentary. At the arrival they provide you with codes for 12 hours complimentary wi-fi access. But they do not explain that it works very poorly and only in the area close to the reception where there are no chairs. I would recommend this hotel just for sleeping accommodation when you organise tours of the island that keeps you off the whole day and not as a relaxing destination. The rate was quite high compared to the service received.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Most of our guests have arrived on Kangaroo Island to tour the island and to experience the joys of an up close connection with our animals. This usually means a BIG day out. When we have opened our bars late we find no guests take up this facility as they are too tired to party and just want to tuck up in bed ready for the next day's activities. The patronage in our restaurant over the holiday period is fast and loud - with about 100 guests arriving over one short hour. It is our task then to get food and beverage onto the tables as quickly as possible. This does result in a rush of activity probably not conducive to relaxing dining, but most of our guests tell us they love the hub bub of our restaurant over this period. For other readers please be aware that these times of heavy traffic occur over the Xmas holiday period and the KI Race Club Carnival in mid February only. We thank you for your visit and we wish you continued happy travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
408 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
446 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: $109 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing