We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room needs refurbishment”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in a hotel room, large, but in need of renovation. Airco was very powerful, never experienced such a swift coolness before. You need to carry your suitcase two stairs up, no elevator present.

Small town with a very limited choice of restaurants. Big supermarket with normal prices around the corner. We booked a table by the window with seaview in the restaurant of the hotel and we are glad we did this. Great food and pleasant service. Very crowded indeed. We can recommended their red house wine (15%!), it is tastful. Perhaps that is the reason we slept very well.

Reception staff do their job, but not more than that.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and service, but we are not pleased that we let you down in regard to porterage. We have used your comments to again highlight to our reception staff the importance of offering porterage to guests staying on the first floor of our original hotel section, which does not have lift access. To other readers we stress that it is our hotel policy to carry luggage to and from the upstairs rooms where lift access is not available. It is obvious on this occasion that our instructions were not followed properly by our reception staff and for this we apologise. Thank you for your feedback and our best wishes go with you for future happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 856 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked on line about 2 months in advance. It was actually the only Hotel available in Kingscote by that time. We stayed just 2 nights. Room and bathroom were clean, the style very minimal. Beds comfortable. Overall the Hotel service reflected the star rating (***). Bar, restaurant service is not as much friendly as people on holiday would imagine. Bar closes at 10:00 pm and if you would like to have something to drink after that time, you have to go either to a bottle shop outside the hotel or in your room and grasp something from the minibar. Restaurant service very quick and loud. The hotel offers also a swimming pool facility but it has only few chairs and the access is from outside the hotel not from the inside which is not that comfortable. Furthermore the technology is very rudimentary. At the arrival they provide you with codes for 12 hours complimentary wi-fi access. But they do not explain that it works very poorly and only in the area close to the reception where there are no chairs. I would recommend this hotel just for sleeping accommodation when you organise tours of the island that keeps you off the whole day and not as a relaxing destination. The rate was quite high compared to the service received.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your comments. Most of our guests have arrived on Kangaroo Island to tour the island and to experience the joys of an up close connection with our animals. This usually means a BIG day out. When we have opened our bars late we find no guests take up this facility as they are too tired to party and just want to tuck up in bed ready for the next day's activities. The patronage in our restaurant over the holiday period is fast and loud - with about 100 guests arriving over one short hour. It is our task then to get food and beverage onto the tables as quickly as possible. This does result in a rush of activity probably not conducive to relaxing dining, but most of our guests tell us they love the hub bub of our restaurant over this period. For other readers please be aware that these times of heavy traffic occur over the Xmas holiday period and the KI Race Club Carnival in mid February only. We thank you for your visit and we wish you continued happy travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I booked our accommodation on line nearly 3 months earlier. When we arrived we were shown a ground floor apartment (very nice but without all the extras). I explained that we had a booking for a second floor apartment with sea views. I was then told our apartment had plumbing problems and would not be available until the next day, No discount was offered until I requested same.The next day we were shown a second floor apartment but we decided to stay put as there were a number of steep steps to climb with all our luggage. On check out I mentioned that the print out I had received at booking time had shown we had lift access but the second apartment had none. Yes, I was told our original apartment did have lift access. Does the right hand know what the left is doing? Obviously the second apartment was also not the one we initially booked. They were not upfront - not at all professional. Internet access was supposed to be available in our rooms but was not. We were told we could log on in the main building, When I mentioned we were having trouble the guy at reception virtually ignored me. Breakfast was included in our package. I am glad we did not pay the $25 they were charging as it was very ordinary. The lady assisting with breakfast was very efficient, helpful and friendly. Great place to stay (apart from breakfast) but the reception staff definitely need help to get their PR skills refined and learn to be upfront with their guests.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

We are pleased to read that you thought our apartment "a great place to stay (apart from b?fast)", but we are sorry that you had other issues. It is always disappointing to arrive at a hotel to find that your chosen room is unavailable due to unforeseen circumstances and this does tend to colour the rest of one's stay. We take on board your comment about breakfast being too dear although our rate is in line with mainland similar hotels offering full hot and cold buffet breakfasts. In regard to your comments about us advertising lift access to our apartments on our web site, if you have another look you will see that the only room type we advertise as having lift access is the penthouse type. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we wish you happy travelling in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a meal here last night and whilst we had a good time , the staff only just scraped through . They delivered one starter short , there were a lot of bones in the duck ragu and the cheesecake 'house special ' was dreadful ! They also starting clearing away tables before we had finished . Overall it was just a big careless really and based on the price they charged us they should have done s lot better

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Our apologies for your less than satisfactory experience in our restaurant. We will use your comments in our next staff training seminar to try to improve our service levels. I must say though that your comments in regard to the duck ragout are strange as we serve duck breast in this meal and there are no bones in a breast cut. Otherwise we value your comments and we thank you for taking the time and effort to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2nights. We staying in an executive room in the new building. The room was very big, clean and tidy. Bathroom was large too again clean, with a powerful shower. Beds where comfortable, we had breakfast included which was ok, standard continental or cooked.
Would definitely stay here again if we every visited again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to write your comments on Trip Adviser. It pleases our staff greatly to know that their hard work is appreciated. Our best wishes to you for your continued happy travelling. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I upgrade our room to an executive ocean view in the new building, and i was very happy about that. The view was definetely spectacular.
The room was very nice and with jacuzzi, i think it was worth it the money.
The restaurant was very good, we eat there also on Xmas lunch and the event was great with good food.
Maybe they could improve the wi-fi, which it was free, only in the lobby..... But it nver worked for us.
Thank you for a nice stay :)

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Viviana1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and your dining experience when you stayed with us. In regard to your unpleasant experience with our Wi-Fi system we apologize for your inconvenience. We are having difficulties with our relay points with the Wi-Fi and because we operate on a remote island we have to wait for the serviceman to come and fix it. This will be done soon and things should return to normal after his visit. Thank you for your comments and we wish you our good travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed over a night, the location was good, clean although old, and very friendly staff.
They gave one of the poolside rooms before normal check in time.

The worst thing about there was the mattress which was awfull. They are cheap and possibly old, very uncomfortable and big NO for anyone with bad back. Also our bed was very noisy.

I believe they should invest a little more on the mattress as nice sleep can improve the quality of staying.

Another thing that I chose this hotel was its free wifi. forget about it, even in the lobby you would not be able to use it.

If you need a place to stay just in the middle of almost everywhere and you dont CARE about your sleep, maybe its a good place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saman_set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued feedback. We note your positive comments in regard to most things except the quality of your bed. We have recently replaced a number of older beds in our rooms and it seems that we missed your room. We will get a replacement in asap. Again thank you for your comments and our best wishes for your continued travelling. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
420 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
391 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing