We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent location !”
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had 2 night stay in a new part of the hotel, huge size room, comfortable king bed, new bathroom, flat tv and private balcony! Overall excellent stay, enjoyed breakfast and dinner in in house sea view restaurant! Would definitely recommend.
Digital channels would be better but overall no complains.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Dins001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took the time to let everyone know. It is a big thrill to read that guests have had a positive experience when staying at our hotel while visiting our island. Sorry about the no cable TV. We have often considered cable TV, but when we ask our guests they overwhelmingly tell us that they don't look for it. It seems that exposure to the island's nature is more what they are impressed with. However, if we get requests for cable TV we will re-look at it. Thanks again for your comments. Best wishes for your future travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 879 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Only stayed for one night but very happy with our choice. Friendly staff, clean comfortable room and good food in the resturant. We had a poolside room, so it was quiet away from the road. Slept very well! Great tea/coffee making facilities and mini bar. The toiletry products in the bathroom were plentiful and lots of towels too. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had Room 11 - it had one double bed and 2 singles so plenty of room. It was on the 1st floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaztin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments. Our staff are always thrilled to read that a guest or guests have enjoyed our facilities. Best wishes to you and we hope you continue to enjoy your travels. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed in executive sea view room on 2nd floor.
Nice room, very clean.
Bed was very hard as were the pillows sadly.
Great view over the water and part of the lovely little town.
Must say that the service wasn't great, girl who checked us in was very nice, must have been new though as didn't know too much. Lady who we checked out with was not that friendly, no enquiries about if we enjoyed our stay or anything.
Food was ok if a little bit unusual in some of the variations - beef mince on the chicken parmy ????
Bistro and bar staff were nice.
Parking was a bit strange too looks like an afterthought as you just park in the rear laneway, no particular spaces or anything. Safe town though by all reports and KI is the best...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin2SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We are pleased that you enjoyed your room. However, we are not pleased that other aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We will use use your comments in our next staff meeting to motivate our staff to better service levels. Our best wishes for your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Kingscote Pier Apartments which are part of the Aurora Ozone Hotel and situated across the street from the Hotel. Ours was a 1st floor, one bedroom apartment with good sized bath and shower room. The spacious open-plan day room featured a well equipped kitchen, dining table, television, comfortable sofa and chairs and opened out onto a balcony with patio furniture and great views to the sea and harbour. The hotel has a laundry room which we were able to use.

We found the apartment extremely spacious, private and comfortable and, having been staying in hotels for sometime, a welcome break from 'hotel routine'. Kingscote itself is an ideal place to stay whilst exploring Kangaroo Island.

Room Tip: The 1st floor apartments have balconies with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Our thanks for your taking the time to provide such detailed and positive feed-back. Our staff will get a big kick out of reading your comments as our purpose is to provide our guests with a happy and positive experience. Our best wishes for your future travels. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed in one of the Executive rooms with sea views late November for 5 nights. The room was modern and spacious with lovely sea views. I enjoyed my stay, although I thought breakfast prices were a bit on the high side.

Room Tip: Sea views are lovely if you have a room on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. In regard to our breakfast pricing, we try to keep all of our rates in line with the mainland hotel's average even though it costs us a lot more to get our food stuffs here. We will have a re-check of our rates to make sure we remain competitive. Best wishes for your future travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night in a ocean view executive room which was very spacious, had a very comfortable bed and a spa bath. We paid $189 including breakfast, which was quite reasonable. And everything at the breakfast buffet was hot! The poached eggs were runny, the bacon rashers were huge and the sausages were delicious. There was also fresh juices and fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurt. When we came back to Kingscote we stayed three nights in an Ozone Hotel apartment at a cost of $260 per night. It was comfortably furnished but I thought it was a little expensive. Not wanting the buffet breakfast we ate at Roger's deli which was just around the corner, although we could have easily self-catered.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandaSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience much. Our best wishes for your continued happy travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in one of the penthouse apartments, which was excellent: modern, tastefully furnished, spacious, comfortable and quiet - with lovely water views as well. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Kingscote.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write about us. It is inspiring for the staff to receive such a positive review. Best wishes
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
434 reviews
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
402 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
11.2 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range: $106 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing