We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solution on the ocean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Perugia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good solution on the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

our last night in Kangaroo island we stayed here and the room was nice, the view really nice on the ocean. I must admit the hotel is not brand new but everything was in the right order, very clean, parking outside available. 2 minutes to the pier where you can see the fish feeding every afternoon at 5pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giotto79Perugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your response - it is very much appreciated. For other readers please be aware that The Aurora Ozone Hotel comprises an historic hotel with a modern executive wing plus penthouses and apartments. This means we are able to offer different rate structures to meet differing expectations. These different room types are explained, with pictures, on our web-site www.auroraresorts.com.au. We look forward to seeing again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    321
    196
    66
    42
See reviews for
113
474
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed a night in an executive sea view room located in the newer building.

Pros:
Building has a lift
Room was very clean especially the toilet
Reception staff were very friendly
Restaurant staff were exceptional
Hotel is centrally located in Kingscote

Cons:
Had to carry luggage up the steps leading to external building entrance
Room was quite small
No Wifi in room; main complex had poor Wifi coverage
Dinner was pricey

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynwa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive response. We are always grateful to be able to accommodate such lovely people. Thank you for all your comments including the negative ones. In regard to your WiFi problems, please see the response to the previous writer. As for carrying your luggage up the steps into the new section of our hotel other readers should know that there is a ramp adjacent to the stairs for more easy access. Food prices on the island can seem pricey when compared to capital rates - this is largely due to the extra costs involved in getting the food products here and the extra charges imposed by the utility companies.
Best wishes for happy future travelling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuolo Martesana, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a double Executive room with Sea View, which was in the newer building - you just need to cross the street from the main building, where the reception, restaurant and standard rooms are located. The room was really spacious and nicely furbished, the bathroom was big and well equipped. The view was amazing, and there's a small balcony to fully enjoy it. The only small disappointment was that the hotel Wi-Fi couldn't be used from our room, as the signal comes from the "old" building and doesn't really reach the newer rooms - as confirmed by reception when we enquired about it.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was extremely good, the seafood is super-fresh and the restaurant is very nice - however, we were not really impressed by the breakfast buffet, which was ok but not great. Overall, we had a great stay and were happy with the room and the service.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, definitely get one of the sea-view executives in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lory_mus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
We are pleased you had such a positive experience. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. In regard to the WiFi problems you experienced we do have a number of problems associated with our remote location. For instance the signal we receive is sometimes so weak that we find that it does not relay properly to the relay stations we have in the new hotel building. We are told that these issues are being addressed by council and that a new stronger signal will be available shortly. Readers should know that on almost all occasions free WiFi is available from our historic section of our hotel and around the restaurant and reception areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in an executive room with sea view. The room was large, clean and well equipped. The beds were comfortable and we had a spa bath. From checking in at reception to when we left the staff were always friendly, helpful and polite. We ate in the restaurant each evening and the food was amazing. The hotel is in a great central location and provides a great base to explore the island - which is also amazing! Thanks Ozone staff for making our short break wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Our sincere thanks for your positive comments. It is always a pleasure to serve appreciative guests. All of us at the Aurora Ozone wish you happy travelling wherever you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed in an upstairs/downstairs condo. The rooms were separate but also together. The upstairs unit was larger with a full kitchen, dining area and larger living room. The downstairs unit has a refrigerator, a microwave and dishes with a smaller living room and a table and chairs but it had a very nice washer and dryer and a garage. By entering through the garage there are no stairs to access the downstairs unit. That was important since I had my elderly mother with me . The unit is modern, clean and comfortable. It faces the water which is lovely. We could see seals in the water from the upstairs unit. It is minutes away from the small business district and very convenient. I loved Kangaroo Island and I loved the Aurora Ozone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for such positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed you stay with us and we wish you well in your further travels. It is has been a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed one night in an upstairs apartment and were very happy with everything- particularly as we had just come from 3 nights at the Southern Ocean Lodge so the standard was set high! The apartment was clean, light and modern. The bed was big and comfy (we slept like logs!) and we enjoyed watching a storm roll in across the bay from our balcony. Hilariously, we only found the hidden tv in the bedroom cupboard on the morning of our departure! Apart from wishing for a bigger frypan, we had no complaints and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. Your comments will be very much appreciated by our staff who work hard to make our guests visit as comfortable as possible. Thanks for the heads up on the TV - we will make sure its location is made obvious to other guests. Best wishes for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Ozone has an excellent location a minute of the main street's shops, cafes, galleries and waterfront activites. Enjoyed a reasonably large Seaview room in the newer block across the street from recepton, with friends staying in an adjacent room. A shared entry space with its own locking door to the hallway meant we could leave our room doors open if we wanted to create a suite-like space. The rooms were large, comfortable and clean, and the bathroom included a spa bath. The staff were friendly, helpful and dealt with any requests promptly.

The hotel reception, restaurant and bars are located in the main hotel block and the restaurant offers excellent eating at reasonable prices - not your average pub food. The only minor annoyances were a TV that only received 2 - 3 channels, no ABC or SBS, and the noise from the hotel's bar might disturb light sleepers in new-block rooms across the street. In the busy season, close-by parking may be an issue if summer traffic took all the street parking outside and the limited parking area at the rear of the property filled up.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms completely facing the harbour would be quietest - some corner Seaview rooms also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilburight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
My apologies for not responding earlier - I somehow missed that I hadn't done this. Thank you for your mainly positive comments. We very much value your thoughts. Other readers should be aware that due to our remote location, TV reception can be problematic. Thankfully the island provides so much to see and do that the TV issue does seem to be so concerning. Some rooms in the new building do face our front bar. A good tip is, as you have suggested, to ask for rooms facing the sea and not the bar when booking. You suggest parking may be a problem in the high season - I can guarantee that parking is never an issue here, with ample spaces always available for easy access to our hotel rooms.
Best wishes for your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
0.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
29.8 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Property: Aurora Ozone Hotel
Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing