We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ki Lighthouse Cafe

Ki Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Kingscote
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the main street we offer fresh homemade food accompanied by some of the Island's best coffee and cakes for which we try to source our ingredients locally. We aim to cater for most needs and are child and dog friendly. Our hand made South Australian fudges are to die for, home made KI honey ice cream has been added to the menu.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Extensive fast food menu and friendly service but it is what it is - good value, family fare with no frills. The dining choices on KI (in any one place) are extremely limited so my review may seem harsh. My beef burger was store-bought I suspect and I haven't seen crinkle cut chips (add $3) outside the frozen food section of supermarkets. Look, KI is a unique and spectacular wildlife paradise of world proportions but the 'dining' side is yet to catch up (unless you're prepared to pay $AUS1000+ a night to stay at Southern Ocean Lodge - I'm told Tom Cruise has stayed there).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped for coffee it was really good, hot milky strong and a great relaxed place to have a chat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkfrog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
278 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Alas, too late!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We went to the Lighthouse Cafe at 12:58 pm. Instead of getting seated, we were told that they closed at one. Bye-bye.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stillhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Love to stop in at the Lighthouse Cafe for breakfast, many great choices, nice fresh food at a good price, the coffee is pretty good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank niktourguideki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and cafe style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited the KI Lighthouse cafe and enjoyed a delicious lamb yiros (donar kebab) and because we dined in, it is served as a deconstructed open style on plate. It was $11 so reasonably priced. There was quite a range of food available and there is sure to be something that will please everyone. Great coffee also!
Delightful al fresco dining area undercover lets you enjoy the atmosphere of being in the central cafe district ok Kangaroo Island.
KI Lighthouse cafe is well worth stopping by for a bite or a latte.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KITravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ki Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Ki Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing