We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, Recover, Revive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Motel Kingscote
Ranked #5 of 5 Kingscote B&B and Inns
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relax, Recover, Revive”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Shortly to be renamed Island Motel, Kingscote.

The ideal place to stay to recharge the batteries.

Having just returned from a weeks stay here I would most definitely recommend this as the place to stay. It was very clean and comfortable. The showers are great too. It might be a little dated but is under new management so will be on the up and up. I wish I could have stayed longer, but was on a "Holiday" within a holiday.

Bryan Branson, the new host, is very helpful and will happily answer any questions if he can.

The included in price breakfast was perfect.. Plenty of juice, cereals, toast and jams, tea and coffee. What more does one need??

The Heated Indoor Pool is great. You can even have a swim on the coolest days. If the pool is not for you then relax in the lovely garden and read a book.

Stay here and you will be minutes away from downtown Kingscote and the sea front. There are plenty of places to eat in town. Just a short drive away there are plenty of places to visit including Honey farms, a Eucalyptus Oil Distillery, Sheep Milking and Wineries. Remarkable Rocks are a must see and of course all those beautiful bays and beaches. Come and see for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
14
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

really dated looking place in desperate need of some love, but quite good. Comfy room ( we had a family room) positioned well within 2 mins walk to everything . Hosts were nice & the continental brekky included was good. Had a heated pool the kids had to themselves for hours. If you love 70s style decor , this is the place! Not as shiny or busy as the other hotels in town but just fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here after booking on Wotif at short notice. For $120, I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The motel is showing it's age (70's decor!), but it is very comfortable, and the staff are great. Continental breakfast was included (toast, cereal, juice, coffee) and was available in your room. This was a nice touch.

Bed very comfortable (great sleep!) and good shower. Free wifi too (although it was a little slow at times).

Very short 3 minute walk to the main street of Kingscote - plenty of dining options there. A very comfortable stay - I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Within its own class it is brilliant. Is it an official 3 star? This resort has been here for a long time and is showing its age, but has the friendliest staff imaginable, good food, and value for money. The guide/owner/manager is quite brilliant - a gem of the Australian service industry. We saw and learnt lots, but even more so when forced to stay an extra day because of storms and boat damage. Free wi-fi was handy.

Room Tip: Ours was OK but the adjacent hospital air-con noise at night was a bit annoying. Rooms on the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
827 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
381 reviews
52.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Motel Kingscote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Motel Kingscote

Property: Island Motel Kingscote
Address: 4 Telegraph Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia (Formerly Island Resort Motel)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Motel Kingscote 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Island Motel Kingscote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Motel Kingscote Kangaroo Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing