We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good holiday accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good holiday accommodation”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The room with a spar was spacious, clean and well equipped. The view over the bay is excellent. The motel is well situated from a convenience standpoint, being near the town's services and shops. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful.We have stayed here before this holiday and will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have excellent views and each has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to comment and are very pleased to hear that you liked your room and enjoyed the views. Many of our guests enjoy long leisurely walks along the foreshore and our location allows for a walk into the town centre. We ensure all staff are advised of the positive feedback they receive and we agree that they do a great job in providing excellent customer service.

We look forward to seeing you next time you stay.
Regards
Chris and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    171
    44
    9
    1
See reviews for
77
194
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have any expectations when we arrived but after the checkin we were made to feel so welcome that it wa the beginning of a great stay. They had heaps of info for touring the island and answered all our questions. Once we opened the door the amazing views are breathtaking. A good size a spotless but its the view that you are paying for. We had 1 day that the wether wasn't great which was a shame but the other 2 nights we enjoyed sitting on the balcony. Would recommend as a great base to tour the island.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you Debbie for taking the time to do a review for us. Being a small family run business, providing that personalised service is a priority of ours and when people notice and mention it, it makes it all worthwhile. It is important to get the local knowledge for touring and we always help our guests with that so they can get the best out of their time on Kangaroo Island.
Glad you enjoyed your Kangaroo Island experience and that we played our part.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booked to stay here based on some of the reviews- not impressed. Yes the view is nice, but there are many other places that have a great view. Arrived after 4.30 pm, when finally got someone to come to front desk was told room not cleaned to come back in about half an hour. Told reason was they had lots of checkouts that day-this would have been known in advance and should have been planned for especially as arrived 2.5hours after you can check in. Rooms basic, very dated decor

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karebear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I am very sorry that we could not have your room ready when you arrived. I recall that the room was ready well before 4pm but as I said at the time it was going to be only 20 minutes before the room would be ready after you arrived, as we had already done the beds and dusted and vacuumed. You were worried that the room wouldn't be clean if it took only 20 minutes to clean, but as I said and explained at the time we had already done a lot of the cleaning for that room. As far as planning for this , all I can say is that we attempt to have the rooms ready on time but on this occasion it was not possible and impossible to anticipate. As is evidenced by nearly all our reviews our rooms are spotlessly clean and when we have a full house and rooms are not vacated on time we can't rush the job at the expense of quality.
We pride our selves on the personalised service and are disappointed you were inconvenienced by the room not being ready. We certainly hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Regards,
Chris and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The room was very spacious and with a great view and a nice little bit to sit outside. There was also a little beach just across the road, which was not so good for swimming or sunbathing, but was excellent for a short walk at sunset/sunrise. Bathroom was very clean, as was the rest of the room. They also followed the convention of not replacing towels that were hung up, unlike many, many other places I've been to where this is ignored (despite the signs). Only slight downside was that the price of breakfast was a bit steep and the service and food in the restaurant was good but not excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MMOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi,
We are very pleased to hear that you liked your room and enjoyed the views. Many of our guests enjoy long leisurely walks along the foreshore in both directions from the rooms and it is a very shallow beach which is great for kids.
We think it is important to allow people the option of saving water and using less chemicals by having their towels changed when they want. We are happy to change all towels, but as the sign in the bathroom says, we ask that those towels be left in the shower alcove.
Regards,
Alex and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Excellent accommodation with absolutely fantastic views of the ocean. The room was large and extremely clean as was the toilet.
Would definitely stay here again. More information about then local attraction would have been appreciated

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank randolphgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks Randolph,
We really appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know you enjoyed your stay.
We have since put an information booklet on Kingscote and one on Kangaroo Island in each room. We agree, it is nice for guests to have that information. Although we are always happy to help for any further questions.
Thanks again,
Alex and Chiris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The room was clean and set out in a way that made the room feel quite spacious. The bathroom was clean, although there was a cracked tile in the space near the shower that seemed to be quite sharp. The view from the balcony was lovely overlooking the beach, probably the nicest thing about the motel. Free wifi was an added bonus!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first level seem to have the better view, not sure if the beach can be seen from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for the review guys,
Our housemaids do a great job in keeping the rooms spotlessly clean but we will look into the cracked tile for you. The views are a great selling point for us and we are glad you enjoyed the view from you room.
Regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Our room was nice and clean, quiet fridge, tv and great balcony with a view. The decor is rather dated, probably 80s but everything's well kept so it wasnt a problem. I really liked it there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDVO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander S, Owner at Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your enjoyable stay with us. We are proud of the great ocean views that our rooms enjoy along with our personalised service.
Hope to see you soon when next you visit Kangaroo Island.
Cheers
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
51.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
17.7 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
384 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
30.2 mi away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn

Property: Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Address: 7 Cygnet Rd, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Inn is a family run business with 20 ocean view rooms. It has a great reputation for exceptional service and value. Located 1km from the main town of Kingscote it offers a great location for your Kangaroo Island holiday. Here you will get a true 'Kangaroo Island' experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kingscote
Kingscote Comfort Inn
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing