We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel with very friendly operator”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice motel with very friendly operator”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We arrived late after a long day on the island but we were lucky to find the reception still open. The operator was extremely friendly and helpful (e.g. with regard to dining tips). The room we got had an ocean view and was clean. We had a shared bathroom which was equally clean. In general, the motel has some charme given its age. Overall, the motel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
19
48
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a room with a great view looking over the ocean.
It was a 3.5 star room, and I suggest it is at the top of this star rating, by country standards, after all, this is in affect, a country town on an Island.
Some may say the room needed a makeover, but I don't expect this from a 3.5 star room in a country town.
The room was clean, big, with a very large bed, with a great location, with large thick curtains.
The price was great, for Kangaroo Island, which is noted for its pricey accommodation.
It was almost half the price of some 4 star accommodation on the other side of the island, that we enquired about.
The Seaview even included a basic continental breakfast in the cost, in the original historic homestead on the property, also overlooking the ocean.
The staff were great, and recommended some great places to eat at Kingscote, which were all fantastic, and mostly within short walking distance.
The only minor suggestion I could make:
The soap dispenser doesn't work, but they did supply cakes of soap in the draw in the vanity: Perhaps there should be a notification somewhere that this is the case.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We checked into this motel on 28/12/13 for a 4 night sojourn. Upon check in the host was agreeable, pleasant and welcoming. We were given room 3 as our abode and found it to be somewhat dated, tired and in need of a freshening up. The room was serviced daily but I must add a caveat, they do not hoover the room ( a problem if you like the beach given the sand), they do not change the bed linen and frequently forget to replenish the milk and the toiletries. When raised it was lightly brushed off in a far too casual "take it as it comes approach". For mine its an attempt to excuse proper and professional service under the cover of hokey and folksy hospitality. Then there is the "continental breakfast" available between the generous hours of 8am-9am. The offerings include the following:
4 x types of cereal
2 x types of bread
1 x tinned fruit salad in a share bowl
2 x types of juice
1 x instant coffee
3 x types of tea
2 x types of milk

The one standout of our room was undoubtedly the majestic view over the bay. Without the temperance and soothing influence of this view I would have rated this establishment a 1. Given the view I feel 2.5 is a fair score. Perhaps if the owners considered a hoover at every service, a bit more effort at a proper continental breakfast (even some boiled eggs and sliced fresh veges), then a higher score is in the wanting.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank claude c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingscote hotels

Union Bridge, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Friendly front desk, The place is clean and well cared for, but the place is a little old and the room was designed for a double bed, with a king bed in the room I could not walk down one side of the bed without dragging the drapes on the full length windows open. There was no cooking in the rooms, but there is an include continental breakfast in dinning room which is in the old historical part of the complex which is quite charming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago, really enjoyed our stay and loved our ocean views from our room, just wished it had been a little warmer. Lovely service. Kangaroo Island is really a must for all overseas visitors,

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DaveCal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We loved this small motel-style hotel. Our large room had a beautiful view of the water. The restaurant was cozy and the food was excellent. WiFi was free, which is unusual in Australia. We were sad to leave after only one night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rlewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Absolutely lovely service! We checked in around 5.30pm after a long day of touring the island with many others from our tour. Unfortunately the restaurant was booked out, so we were offered a trip into the town (not very far) and also to be picked up after dinner!
The room we had was very comfortable with 2 single beds and a queen for 2 adults and and 1 child. The view was amazing too!
Breakfast was perfect - homemade frittatas , muffins and muesli along with cereals, juices and coffee/tea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holygrail42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
833 reviews
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
384 reviews
51.9 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
414 reviews
11.3 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel

Property: Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Address: 51 Chapman Tce | P.O. Box 37, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Seaview Hotel
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing