We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but maybe too tired” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Quiet but maybe too tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location - possibly the best in Kingscote. The sea front rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast just about adequate.The staff were very helpful. However the whole complex has a tired feel to it - one felt that nothing had changed in thirty years and the owners were not planning for the future. Guest communal areas were scruffy and the whole complex seemed to mirror the sleepy image that we got of KI. As a whole.

We thought 156 dollars was a lot to pay but then everything on the island seemed pricey.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    42
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
19
47
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I visited KI in October 2012 and based ourselves at the Seaview Motel. The motel itself is quite pleasant with a great view over Backstairs Passage and of the sunrise. Accommodation was reasonably priced and the room fairly basic, but enough to serve our purposes. Breakfast was included, which was great, however you have to eat out for lunch and dinner. This was fine as we had a great time exploring the many bays and dirt roads on the island. We stayed in the motel units, but the motel also has a guest house and other rooms available.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rushie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Excellant location. Staff very helpful and not only organised the fery transfer they kept us updated only extra ferrys later arranged on our designated days. The breakfast was very basic but sufficient. We would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the cheaper options on KI if you stay in the guesthouse rooms where breakfast is an optional extra. Sharing the bathrooms was not a problem. The guest lounge is small and has only a microwave tho there was a flat plate BBQ outside. No real utensils for anything but basic microwave cooking. But it's central to most things in Kingscote (which is pretty small anyway). As we were sightseeing we didn't spend much time there. No real complaints but the rooms are very tired. You get what you pay for. The staff were very helpful though and were terrific in organising the ferry for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pud01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at the guest house part of Seaview - lovely old house, simple rooms -very quiet and on waterfront with big veranda and chairs outside, lovely place to relax and wander around Kingscote. Just across for the tidal swimming pool. BBQ area. The only thing that might put some people off is that share toilets and showers just across small courtyard garden area (the motel rooms have own) but clean, good showers and great price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Thank you for a great time in a very nice motel. All good, my brother and his wife on holidays from Switzerland and my wife and I loved it. Not sure if we will be lucky enough to come back to Kangaroo Island but I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Top location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Whilst this hotel could do with a makeover, the rooms are adequate, clean & not in disrepair. The included breakfast is nice. Cereals, juice, tea, coffee & toast. Basic but complimentary & enough to get you going in the morning.
The location is fantastic. 2 blocks from the centre of Kingscote, where you can find the basics of what you need. Pub, restaurants, cafes, supermarket, chemist, souveniers.
The Penguin tours are not far. A tidal pool is across the road. There are penguins that come in at night around the pool also.
You can base yourself in Kingscote for your stay on KI, but you will have a bit of driving to do if you want to explore the whole island. If staying longer than a few days, stay in a few different places so yor daily driving is reduced.
Would stay in this accommodation again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.2 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
52.0 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
11.3 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
11.3 mi away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel

Property: Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Address: 51 Chapman Tce | P.O. Box 37, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Seaview Hotel
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing