We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hair in food and mouldy bread”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Ozone

Aurora Ozone
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Kingscote
Cuisines: Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It's the restaurant of the aurora ozone hotel but you can eat there even if you are not staying at the hotel.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hair in food and mouldy bread”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very average food but highly priced. Found 3 hairs in fish batter and mould in the bread on the tasting plate. When showed mould to staff they denied it and stated that it was from the grill. How do you get anything from the grill in the middle of the bread? It was clearly mould! Would not refund our meal. If this was my only experience of KI I would never come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalh1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    192
    116
    41
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food worth the expense and lovely view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We later heard that the other hotel at Kingscote is the place to go for dinner. I was happy with service we got at Ozone hotel and food was terrific.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Expensive Pub Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Ozone Apartments (very nice) and ate on our first night in Kangaroo Island at the Ozone hotel. The food was good, however for a pub meal it was very overpriced. The surf and turf was small, with only 3 prawns (and one was tiny), and cost $39 - too pricy for the quality of the meal. The family however enjoyed their mushroom and veal risotto, chicken parmigiana and fish and chips. For a family of four we paid over $200 (and that included one bottle of wine only, coffees and a shared dessert). Too expensive, and there are much better food options on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dotty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Again beautiful food and service. Book as it is always busy and you can't just walk in and get a table. They cater for kids, there is a cocktail bar...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanneAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enmore, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well, the kids liked it!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This was the only place open for breakfast in Kingscote when we came in on a Sunday morning. Even for a pub breakfast buffet, it was pretty ordinary. But the kids love a buffet.....

Helpful?
1 Thank HealthyMama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Ozone also viewed

Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Aurora Ozone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing