We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack lustre bar staff”
Review of Queenscliffe Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingscote
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Queenscliffe Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kingscote B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Lack lustre bar staff”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Ex Islanders hoping to enjoy a night out in a familiar pub (with KI local family)

Despite the lack lustre service of 2 of the bar staff ( who clearly don't enjoy working in hospitality) we had a good night out. Food was great ... Which made up for rude service in the front bar!!!

great way to promote the pub ..... Not!! You girls were so rude !!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Attended the 'Queenies' as it us known in Kingscote, Kangaroo Island as a family of four. Excellent quality food, just the best value in town. Very nice surroundings and lovely hosts. Most recommended..!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
352 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As a family of 5 just arrived on KI we had a great lunch at the Queenscliffe. Mum had tasty salad, kids had excellent schnitzel. Service was relatively quick. Obviously also popular with the locals. Only downside in middle of winter was the dining room was a bit cold and we had to keep our coats on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Went out for dinner with 8 international guests, the food was amazing, shark, squid, prawns all beautiful my guests had tried Kangaroo in other places in Australia and didn't like it, but I recommended they tried it here they loved it, highly recommend, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niktourguideki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was driven nuts by the volume of fried food on the island, I needed a place to sit and eat that wasn't a mass of meat. So this place offered a few items that we felt were ideal for us to get off the oil filled diet of the island. They don't veer off the menu so know that before walking in, you can buy everything which isn't cheap and then pick what you want. They don't offer table service given it is a pub. The drinks are standard pub style as is the food. The location is easily placed and the bathrooms are clean. MANGIA!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANENARELLE_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannum, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We dined here whilst staying on KI. We were rather disappointed with the menu, and there was no table service, despite the high prices on the menu. We asked for a second drink whilst dining, and were told there was no table service. The food was okay but nothing to rave about, even though they advertise the fantastic quality of their seafood. There was only one staff member working behind the bar, and she was run off her feet because the dining room was quite busy. We ordered garlic bread, and I would have to say that it was the worst we've ever had. Garlic and cheese were oozing and dripping from the bread. Would have preferred more choice of meals and prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Eight of us had dinner there Sunday night.
Food was brilliant as was the service we had a nice peaceful meal we decided to stay on for drinks, 2 hours later at the dining table and no staff were trying to rush us out, The barman kept popping thru from time to time to keep us supplied with drinks {happy chappie with a big smile}
The hotel is full of old world charm with a warm homely feeling
This is the place for good old fashioned food and service.

Verdict = Good old fashioned hotel and service.

Recommendation = 9/10

Room Tip: Dinner & drinks only..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscote
0.1 mi away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
816 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
409 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
0.6 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queenscliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queenscliffe Hotel

Property: Queenscliffe Hotel
Address: 57 Dauncey St, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingscote
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Queenscliffe Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing