We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch”

Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $44
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We have a large range of seafood meals, fish can be battered, crumbed, or grilled. The fish is from the pristine waters around Kangaroo Island. We also have a retail option for seafood lovers to take home. Meal Times are Monday to Sunday 12.00 midday to 8.00 pm Fresh seafood available 9.00AM to 8.00PM 7 days a week.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Top quality takeaway for our final lunch on KI. The grilled fish was well cooked and seasoned, and the serving of chips was very generous. Good value and fast service, despite the fact that this was on Good Friday, and very busy

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LauranMattF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thankyou for the positive feed back and am so glad you enjoyed your lunch, we hope to see you again soon cheers Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 521 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

don't bother with saving you money. Splash out and get the lobster, oyster, marron, garfish, etc. You deserve it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pakto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just GREAT fresh seafood and we found it very inexpensive for the quality offered. Of course it is not a fancy restaurant, but it feels very authentic and mouthwatering just when entering the place and seeing all the fresh fish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We met Tina and her husband first on the mainland at their stall at Willunga markets on the Saturday, noting the fresh range of seafood (although not cheap – but the quality was extremely high and therefore was good value). We travelled to KI the following day and while working out what to eat in our cottage, we visited Kangaroo Island fresh Seafoods. Don’t let the Caltex station and exterior put you off. The whiting was just being filleted from the morning’s catch when we arrived. We were very impressed with the super freshness of the produce. We purchased a lobster (BEST ever... so fresh. Comments from others in the group were equally praiseworthy),. Tina kindly plated this up for us on a platter with cut lemon and sauce.. She even lent us some crackers to get at the claws. Next day we retuned and purchased some King George whiting. Delicious when cooked at home very simply. We even went back two days later but they had sold out of the whiting... so we didn’t get to freeze any to take home.

Thank you for your service and friendly hospitality. I read some other recent comments about fried food. I was surprised. We did not see anything like that when we visited the shop.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Whiskie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thankyou for your feed back and it was a pleasure to meet you all. It is so reasuring to get positive feed back and makes all the hours spent in and on our business well worth it, as does the negitive feed back as it helps me understand what our customers want and highlights areas we can improve. Hope to see you again cheers Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Picked up our takeaway seafood basket for a Sunday night dinner. We sat in as they prepared the meals. Seafood came straight out of commercially processed frozen packet - was not impressed. When we opened it up, we found no salt or seasoning on the chips - we understand people like healthy options but as we were sitting there as they prepared they could have asked what our preference was. The scallops were less than 2cm in diametre - a waste. The best thing was our NZ Sauv Blanc we had with it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kirstyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Firstly thank you for taking the time to give feedback but i am not totally convinced you have the right business as we DO NOT use commercially produced fishermans baskets, we crumb, batter or grill our fish to order all of our callamari, prawns ect are cut prepared and crumbed on site, the only product we buy in for the fishermans basket pre done is the salt n pepper squid as i have tried to do it without much succses,and the product we buy in is a s.a.product which has been very popular. We take a lot of pride in what we do to deliver a quality product, and am sorry that you may not have received this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods also viewed

Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Stokes Bay, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing