We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back”

Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We have a large range of seafood meals, fish can be battered, crumbed, or grilled. The fish is from the pristine waters around Kangaroo Island. We also have a retail option for seafood lovers to take home. Meal Times are Monday to Sunday 12.00 midday to 8.00 pm Fresh seafood available 9.00AM to 8.00PM 7 days a week.
Goolwa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Five of us shared a $40 platter, too much food, couldn't finish it all. Usual top quality and the service was very good. Tartare sauce supplied with the meal was excellent and more than we needed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    153
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dandenong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yummo!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here to get lunch, loved it!! Beautiful crumbed seafood in our seafood basket, (and grabbed a dozen oysters!) took it down to the park on the foreshore, just awesome! Unfortunately never got back to try whiting burger so we'll have to go back to KI for that!! Thank you Tina & staff, will recommend to anyone who will be visiting KI!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranksontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, but...”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is a scam. Sure The food was great. Very fresh. Super fresh even. Chips crunchy, although a little small on the serving size. But, the place is a scam. It's all to sucker you in so you'll buy tartare sauce, which they 'forget' to give you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearevacant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Firstly i am glad you enjoyed your meal, as we take pride in what we do, and appoligize that you didnt get your tartare sauce. if you could phone me with your banking details i will deposit the $2.00 into your account asap..I thankyou for your feed back as we use it to improve in areas that have been pointed out. please again accept my appolagies and have a safe and happy new year cheers Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Affordable food in Kangaroo Island”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is certainly the place if you are looking for affordable food especially seafood at a reasonable price. You can either eat in or just buy and pack it to your accommodation. They serve reasonably good fish and chips and seafood platters. If you want to do some cooking of your own, you may get some fresh seafood as well.
One plus point for KI Fresh Seafood is that they are only the few outlets that open till late, probably around 9 pm. if I am not wrong. Anyway when in KI, you can give them a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Aussie Fish 'n Chips”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just excellent fish 'n chips. Looked like it was local fish - very well cooked. Nice to be able to eat in the shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank giholdaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing