We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
631
42
17
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
42
17
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat roomwine cellarthe cliffsea lionsincluded toursevery mealremarkable suitefood and winekangaroo islandbucket listhigh expectationsfloor to ceiling windowsflinders suiteclassic menuother guestsremarkable rocksworth every penny
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 699 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

As I travel the world quite extensively and stay in luxuary resorts, I feel that I am a discerning traveler (and may be not the easiest to please!). I cannot find ONE even miniscule negative thing to say about this resort! Location, service, accomodations are all over the top fantastic! Just a fabulous life experience to be spoiled in this beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lnewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

With my 60th sneaking up,my wife Paula and I were looking for something special to share with a
small group of friends.Paula spotted an ad for Southern Ocean Lodge in the weekend press and an email confirmed they could accomodate us.A group of eight of us flew over from Adelaide and spent a superb three night stay. Without being there before it is hard to imagine how serene and beautiful the place really is.Once you have paid up it is all lay back and enjoy from there onwards. The rooms are fantastic with ocean views everywhere...the chefs create superb food for every meal and even did a personalised menu for my birthday complete with a cake...the wine cellar and bar is stocked with high quality wine,beer and spirits....and staff are very friendly but very professional. If you like the best of the best then SOL is your place. SidR

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems then choose a high numbered room which will be close to the lounge and dining facilities.Room go from 1 to 22 from memory.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed in the stylist, modern Southern Ocean Lodge for 4 nights.
The decor was modern with beautiful natural, blond timber furniture and large panoramic windows from our suite & from the amazing resort lounge.
The view is amazing, sweeping coastline with wild to serene, cobalt blue to turquoise green sea and white sand.
Wonderful, obliging young staff, guides & the managers were there to help any request.
we love to wander off on our own and the cliff top walks give you that opportunity.
Take care to wear long pants as the scrub is short, prickly & scratchy.
Make sure you layer, it gets warm when walking but can be cold & very windy, I lost an ear ring at Seal bay. Pack a warm jacket, beanie/hat & scarf.
The resort was so elegant at night, I was happy to dress up a bit and wear smart tops, white jeans or cute dresses with flat smart sandals.
We were directed to a view above an Osprey's nest, a wild bee hive in a cove and blow holes in the bays. Native flowering & red salt resistant coastal plants, surrounded us and we found our own echidna (very special) & saw seals & dolphins in the bay, on our travels.
The Kangaroo & canapes was probably great for overseas tourists as seeing wild kangaroos fairly close is fascinating, but as Australians, it may have been better to enjoy the cocktails at the resort as most Australians have been up close & personal with kangaroos during our lives. It was an interesting homestead that the kangaroos now own but very uneven due to wild pigs fossicking around. They keep away from tourists & people, so don't worry about them, they just made a mess of the paddock, so wear sneakers to that evening. The guided tours are amazing, you see the seals, sea lions, lighthouses, other stunning bays, the Remarkable Rocks and get to know the interesting history of Kangaroo Island.
Our room was spacious & elegant with a lovely bath and a stunning view! The spa was very good I highly recommend the Mud body wraps & facials.
The meals were excellent, not large courses so you could fit in dessert.The lodge is very Australian focused, the seafood, lamb &honey is all local and there are lovely Australian wines on offer although I would have liked to have French Champagne as well. It was available on request. It truly is a wonderful place, the scenery is awe inspiring. Similarly we loved Uluru, & Lizard Island, as we adore being able to get out and be amongst some of the most amazing natural scenery in Australia, whist being fortunate enough to stay in luxury surroundings.

Room Tip: The most expensive suite, seemed to be the least private. we were glad we didn't stay there.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Southern Ocean Lodge turned out to be one of my favourite hotels along this journey (along with Lizard Island and Wolgan Valley). This hotel definitely has the WOW factor I look for while travelling and I'm not easily impressed.

I can not say enough great things about Southern Ocean Lodge: smart hotel design, lovely, large suites (all facing the ocean - and you can heat the floor too!), amazing meals, warm private club atmosphere, superb setting and attentive, personalized, flawless service. How many hotels have you been to where the staff address you by name as early as the second day of your arrival,remember your preferred beverage and upper management make it a point to introduce themselves and enquire whether you are enjoying your stay on a regular basis?

The hotel is perched high above a cliff overlooking the ocean, in a remote, wild part of the island. It's a bit of a bumpy ride to get there (a Jeep picks you up at the tiny airport) but it's all worth it! (expect to cross a few kangaroos and other local furry inhabitants on the way). The weather was not warm enough to allow for swimming in the ocean (although one Irish fellow guest braved the cold waters) but the hotel offers a great many excursions and plenty of activities to keep you busy. You can also just kick back and relax on your private patio or have a treatment at their ultra relaxing spa. All this to say, I would highly recommend it and hope to have to have the opportunity to go back some day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danika_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Every room in the luxurious suites is oriented to the view, even the open rain shower. The suites have total privacy so you can leave your drapes open, even at night, and the doors open to the sound of the surf. The dramatically beautiful Great Room in the lodge also takes full advantage of the view and the solid glass wall of windows can be opened when the weather is appropriate. You will have a hard time balancing spending time in your room with lounging in the Great Room beside the beautiful hanging fireplace or in one of the window chairs placed for reading, dreaming, talking while absorbed in the view. But don’t pass up the activities. The walks down to the beach and along the cliffs are spectacular. On “Kangaroos and Canapes” we were able to get scarily close to the animals and got great pictures, and the Remarkable Rocks and Seal Bay tour is really fun. The dinners are enchanting in a beautiful setting. Josh took us into the wine cellar and helped us choose an excellent wine for our evening meals. The service is friendly and efficient. The well-stocked bar in the Great Room has an open bar policy. During our stay, a group of travel agents got pretty tipsy, so we assume the open bar may encourage loud behavior on occasion, depending on the guests.
We have only one criticism, but it is a strong one. There is a lovely jacuzzi on the Great Room deck with a fantastic view – very inviting. But it was not heated! The weather was chilly when we were there, yet the manager brushed off our inquiry about the jacuzzi. We then decided to use the steam room in the spa, but they had closed early. We felt a little miffed, given the money we were spending to stay there. That said, it was a wonderful experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews