We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage close to Main Street”
other travelers have booked this property
Jack's House Clare is a lovingly restored three bedroom cottage on a large block
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jack's House Clare is a lovingly restored three bedroom cottage on a large block
Jack's House is in a quiet residential street, a short walk to cafes, shops & restaurants Main bedroom with King size bed, luxury linens and television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Jack's House Clare is a lovingly restored three bedroom cottage on a large block
Jack's House is in a quiet residential street, a short walk to cafes, shops & restaurants
Main bedroom with King size bed, luxury linens and television
King size bed in the third bedroom with luxury linens and television
The third bedroom can be zoned from the front of the house
Second bedroom with two single beds, television and play station.
Stylish, contemporary interior
Dining for six
Comfortable seating in the living room for 7
Kitchen with full size oven, microwave, fridge and coffee machine. Generous breakfast provisions.
Fire up the BBQ and enjoy the enormous child & pet friendly back yard.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Clare, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
672patty
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cottage close to Main Street”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed overnight at Jack's House last week. This cottage is gorgeous with plenty of character. 3 lovely bedrooms with comfortable king beds in 2 bedrooms. Plenty of space for a group of people and families. Great kitchen with everything you need and the backyard has a lovely outdoor area with lots of room for kids to play. Close to the main street of Clare. Very enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-and...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect base for visiting the Clare Valley”
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Jack's is a nicely updated double-fronted Victorian house with everything you should need for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday both inside and out. It comes well equipped too, so it is likely that most things you need will already be there. In any case it is an easy level walk or short drive to Clare's main drag with its supermarkets, pubs, several eating options etc. I should mention though that if more than one couple are staying, there is only one bathroom which may be problematic for some. Fortunately the (one) Toilet is separate off the laundry so if the bathroom is occupied it can still be used along with the laundry sink to wash hands. Tip: the piezo ignition on the BBQ is typically temperamental: we left some long matches behind in the pantry so you can insert a match through a hole on the l.h.s. of the BBQ to ignite it manually. We look forward to returning to both Jack's House and the Clare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Hello Mike, thank you for your lovely review of Jack's House, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes the BBQ ignition can be tricky & thank you for leaving the matches, we also provide a BBQ lighter in the pantry cupboard with the outdoor gear ; BBQ tools, napkins, mosquito coils, platters etc . We look forward to welcoming you to Clare & Jack's House again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazzyh68
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation in the Clare Valley”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautifully presented cottage perfect for family or friends. We visit Clare Valley every year and Jack's House will now become our "go to" accommodation. We couldn't have wanted for more. Sue, the owner, has taken great care to make the cottage feel welcoming and relaxing. Every single room is gorgeous and the beds super comfortable. Loved the coffee machine! Pet friendly for those who like to bring their dogs away with them - just check with Sue.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review, we love Clare and our house (which used to be our home) so it is wonderful when our guests feel the same. We look forward to welcoming you again, cheers, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne T
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great place to stay in Clare 6 minutes walk from town. Huge backyard and cosy and warm inside even though cold outside. All utensils crockery you require plus wonderful provisions. Our family including dog stayed for a week and just loved it. In the morning the sun was on the front veranda and it was beautiful sitting there with a cuppa and out the back late afternoon with a wine before the cold hits. Sue very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home feeling
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Hello Anne, thank you for your lovely review. I also enjoy my morning cuppa on the front verandah so understand the quiet contentment of listening to the birds morning chatter ! I hope we will see you again, cheers Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing