We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“book the right room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clare Country Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clare Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clare
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“book the right room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

this is a difficult place to review, primarily because there's such a variance in the rooms on offer. it's in a nice location, a short drive out of the centre of town. it's very very quiet at night, unless you happen to stay in any of the rooms in the main building underneath the lounge or at the bottom of the stairs from reception.

if i based my review purely on my room, i'd rate this place "poor". my room was not worthy of any place calling itself a country club - more of a tired motel. but i do know there are better rooms on offer, and other reviews have proved that to be true.

the restaurant serves up very good food and the lounge with open fireplace is a great place to enjoy a drink. so these positives definitely lift the "poor" room out from it's depths.

so the lesson here is simple - be clear on which room you're getting. if it's in the main building where reception is, pass.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Funkelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJB1969, General Manager at Clare Country Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We are pleased you found our service, ambience, and quality of food served in Conners restaurant to be very good, and the location suitable. We take your feedback regarding some of our guest rooms on board, and we are making progress towards room upgrades in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gavin Bailey

General Manager
Clare Country Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    280
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
98
409
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

A beautiful location with lovely views over water. The hotel is tired and needs some updating and much better lighting. More seriously though the standard of housekeeping leaves much to be desired. Specifically, dirty windows, cobwebs and dust on curtains, dirty finger marks and dust on bathroom door and old lipstick on pillow case. Would not recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
326 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We booked one of the spa double rooms.

It was exactly that a larger room with a spa bath (circa 1980) in the bathroom. The shower was designed for people under 5 feet tall - the entrance was low, so too the shower head - but that was rather minor.

If you are expecting an upmarket "Country Club" type experience then you need to adjust your expectations. This room, was more an above average sized motel room. I understand there are newer units on the property and it may well be that you should investigate one of these.

Having said all this, the room was comfortable, the bed provided us with a restful sleep. We appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities. The airconditioning/heating wasn't too loud. The staff were friendly and helpful.

If there was a 3 and a half star rating I would have given the property that rating - better than average, but not quite very good.

Overall, for what we paid (and we got a very good rate on Webjet) we thought we received fair value for the money paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights over the October long weekend and the rooms are really lovely.

Our group had a selection of studio and two-bedroom apartments overlooking the lake and we were all very impressed by the litle touches like coffee and coffee-maker int he room, deep whirlpool bath, laundry facilities, and comfortable beds.

The rest of hte Country club is really run down and seems like it's not even part of where we stayed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyMissL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've stayed twice at this property.
Both times in a two-roomed family unit.
Very comfortable and clean rooms. Beds were very comfortable. Staff are very helpful and friendly. If the weather was warmer, we would have enjoyed a swim in the pool and BBQ outside. We still used the BBQ, but ate inside with the heater on!!

Clare is a great spot to your local wineries and other places of interest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Country Club last Sunday night and it was very disappointing. The welcome we received when checking in was okay, not overly friendly. After checking in we went to our room and discovered on old crusty pizza by our door which we removed and the restaurant's chef smoking outside our room! We had dinner in the restaurant, food very ordinary and expensive. The female waitress needs a few lessons in how to deliver customer service when greeting people, she gave us the impression she was run off her feet and didn't need any more guests in the restaurant! I was expecting more from this property and suggest if you want a place where you appreciate good customer service and food quality you choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen6485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJB1969, General Manager at Clare Country Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for providing your review. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a professional friendly & attentive level of service, and are most concerned this did not meet expectations on this occasion. Your concerns you have raised and have been brought to the attention of our entire team to ensure you recieve the best possible service and experience when next you visit.
Please feel free to contact me directly so I may address your concerns personally.

KInd regards,

Gavin Bailey.

Clare Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and loved every relaxing moment.
Clare is such a beautiful place to visit as soon as we arrived we could feel the stresses of everyday life ebbing away.
Yes the rooms could do with a little updating but they were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The staff were friendly, although we did have an issue with our dinner the first night. Not sure the chef understood what a medium steak should look like?! Food was tasty but a bit on the expensive side for what you got. Breakfast was a bit disappointing until we discovered that you could order eggs cooked the way you wanted, made all the difference. Suggestion- maybe let your guests know. Coffee??....please invest in a coffee machine with freshly ground beans. makes all the difference to a good breakfast.
We would definitely stay there again though as the setting was beautiful and the golf course next door ony enhanced the experience further.
A good place to stay to see an amazing part of South Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Clare Central
1.9 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#2 of 3 in Clare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Apartments
The Mill Apartments
#2 of 16 in Clare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thorn Park by the Vines
1.4 mi away
Discovery Parks - Clare
21.0 mi away
Burra Motor Inn
Burra Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Burra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Country Club

Property: Clare Country Club
Address: White Hut Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clare Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Clare Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing