We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly quiet night sleep”
Review of Highway One Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Highway One Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ceduna
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“surprisingly quiet night sleep”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at the Highway One Motel at about 8.30pm at night and it was nice to know that someone was there to check you in. We were given a room at the back and found it to be clean and comfy. Could probably do with a little more bleach in the shower, but otherwise good. The rain water in the fridge and kettle were a nice touch! Had dinner at the roadhouse which at 9pm was a godsend and the girls were very friendly and accommodating, and the food was great! The only disappointment was that on arrival that night we filled out a menu for complimentary room service breakfast.. only to be told the next morning when it arrived that it actually was only for one person and so that was all they delivered.

Room Tip: check that the room service breakfast is for all parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
16
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Highway 1 or the Ceduna BP roadhouse is an ideal stop after crossing the Nullarbor heading east or before making your way towards Perth; this is a 24 hour facility.
We stopped there on our way over east & again on the return, both stays were pleasant. Check in was prompt and no unnecessary complications, staff were helpful and mindful that you have probably just done a long stint driving. We had two rooms for our group of nine although nothing flash the rooms were clean, functional & had air conditioning with enough room to move. Beds were comfortable although the fold-outs are more suited for smaller lighter folks.
Probably a bit more than a stroll back into town, a little isolated unless you want to drive into town for a feed or drinks; otherwise a good spot to have a nights rest however the motel backs on to the foreshore and those energetic and keen can walk there.
The restaurant was clean & service was good, food excellent, good food & value for $$ food was cooked fresh & service was prompt.
Have stayed here before & would do so again good value for money.

Room Tip: preferably away from the entry way to avoid late arrivals & early departures
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJourneyMan812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJVHW1, Front Office Manager at Highway One Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear TheJourneyMan812
Thank you for your positive review of our business. We appreciate the time you have taken to help others learn about us.
We hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip
Kind Regards
Highway One Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean and up to date room and ensuite, nice and cool on arrival. Lofted ceiling making roomier feel. Nice view to bay through back windows and sliding door. Comfy king bed. Breakfast delivered to door first thing. Awesome burger at the roadhouse. Friendly staff all round!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barakis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I only stayed one night at the motel and it was fine. I have previously stayed in town at the Foreshore and found it to be expensive for what you get. I ate a fish meal at both and, despite petrol stop location of the Roadhouse cafe at Highway One, they served up a nicer piece of fish. The room was massive and fine. Tired and a bit grim but much better value than the Foreshore as the room includes breakfast - which they'll happily walk over to your room. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had looked in Ceduna itself but wanted somewhere where food was available and at a reasonable price, both accommodation and food. Decided to press on and came across Highway One .. at first we were put off by it being a busy service station but checked the motel at the rear, and were very pleased that we did. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet and the view across the foreshore, and access to the foreshore, was an added bonus. The reasonable tariff included one full hot breakfast served to the room and very close to the time requested. The staff were very friendly and helpful and this carried through into the bistro where we had excellent and very reasonably priced meals. An excellent overnight stay before heading off along the Nullarbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and paid $135. When we arrived the reception was closed, but checked in at the BP instead, very friendly and helful staff. When walking into our room, it was clean and very spacious. The room has alot of out of date things, we didnt mind it as it was only for 1 night. The bathroom and room sort of had that 80's look. The bed is very comfy, and backs onto the foreshore very pretty at sunset. The room has air con and tv (not very clear to watch) Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europe08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
365 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. The motel backs on to the foreshore and is close to town. The receptionist was very friendly and made us feel valued customers immediately. The room was clean, spacious and with a good TV, Aircon and good bathroom. The BP roadhouse adjoins and the meals are excellent. They went put of their way to cater for a special order. 4+ stars.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ceduna hotels
0.8 mi away
Ceduna Foreshore Hotel Motel
0.8 mi away
Ceduna Motor Inn
Ceduna Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Ceduna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ceduna Motel East West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
A1 Cabins
A1 Cabins
#4 of 5 in Ceduna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ceduna Shelly Beach Caravan Park
0.8 mi away
BIG4 Ceduna Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highway One Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway One Motel

Property: Highway One Motel
Address: 35 Eyre Hwy, Ceduna, South Australia 5690, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Ceduna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ceduna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highway One Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highway One Motel Ceduna is located on the edge of the iconic Nullarbor Plain, at the start of the Great Australian Bight. Our Motel offers clean and comfortable Budget, Standard and Deluxe accommodation, all at a reasonable rate. We have 24hour check in available. Free Wi-Fi in all motel rooms. And Free parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highway One Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing