We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coachman's Inn Warwick
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been a loyal, regular customer of the Coachmans Inn over the past 12 months. I have shared my positive views with others but that goodwill is well and truly gone after my latest experience on April 18th, 2013. When I was staying overnight on Thursday the 21st i had a very bad night sleep due to a cricket sharing the room for the night. Imagine the sound of a cricket in your room in the middle of the night where there is very little other noise...it kept me awake half the night and on a couple of occasions i got up to find it but they are fairly invisible unfortunately. when I was checking out in the morning, I let the receptionist know and I was under the impression something would be done about it.

When I arrived for a stopover this week April 17th, I checked in and noticed I was being given a key for room 6. I asked if I could have another room and explained why and the guy said peole have stayed in that room in the past 4 wekes and no one complained about a cricket, so assured me there was no cricket. That night, it was like deja vu as I was sharing the same room with a loud bloody cricket.

I raised this with Peter the manager and he said he would check it out if there was a cricket. i said take my word there is one and you will struggle to find it as I couldn't. i mentioned the above contect to Peter and my experience the last time I stayed and asked if he would charge me for the room last night. He said he absolutely would. i said even though I have had the past 2 experiences and even asked for a different room the day before. He was adamant he would charge me and did not take my word about the cricket.

this narrow-minded attitude has lost me as a customer. for $125, he is prepared to lose the loyalty and future nights plus breakfasts plus the cost of eating in the restaurant when I stay there on a monthly basis.

I am bitterly disappointed in the managers attitude towards me. i have enjoyed staying there except when the cricket is sharing the room. I will also miss the great meals served in the restaurant.

i am now on the lookout for a suitable replacement...

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenandPaul77, Owner at Coachman's Inn Warwick, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We are disappointed you experienced a less than favourable stay at our property. Our staff should have insisted you stay in another room and re-allocated accordingly. This has been discussed at our weekly management meeting.

As you say, it appears that this cricket is very illusive. The room in question has been consistently occupied in between and after your stay without problem.

You are certainly a VIP to us and we would like the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Should you wish to contact us and speak to me personally I would be happy to receive your call. In the event that this is not possible we wish you the very best.

Karen Bradshaw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    68
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
46
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is nice, and good enough for an overnight stay. Keep in mind it's on a busy road that at night has lots of road transport travelling along the Cunningham / New England Hwy's meaning that if you are a light sleeper you will struggle.

Service on arrival was interesting. We rang up a few hours out of Warwick to book a nights accomodation for a few rooms and the gentleman was excellent. When we arrived the gentleman on the front counter was a little stale and less warm in welcoming us to the place.

If you choose to stay in apartments, these are situated off premise (across the road)

Room Tip: Get one away from the main highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broncos4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenandPaul77, Owner at Coachman's Inn Warwick, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. All constructive criticism is taken on board and discussed at our weekly staff meeting and with our onsite managers. We continue to work on our customer service at all times and thank you for your feedback.
Yes, our 2 bedroom self contained apartments are directly across the road from our motel units. All services including the swimming pool, restaurant, bar, wifi and guest laundry are at there for your use.
We have constructed the motel units and apartments in conjunction with acoustic engineers in order to achieve the best sound rating possible based on the highway traffic and adjoining rooms. The sound rating of these rooms is by far the most up to date within our region and the best possible for a 4 star motel.

Thank you again for taking the time. We hope you will consider staying and dining with us next time you come through town.

Regards
Karen
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose the Coachman's Inn for our overnight stay in Warwick for two reasons - it had won an award as the Best 4 Star Motel in Australia and it had a restaurant open on Sunday night. In our view the room certainly lived up to its award-winning status - it was large, very comfortable bed, great bathroom. We had booked for dinner in the restaurant although we were the only people there for the first half hour until one other couple joined us. The food was OK but way overpriced. This is a motel restaurant in a country town not five-star dining, yet the prices were top-end and certainly not justified for the food presented. The service was slow and the waiter seemed to forget he had customers given there were only four of us. We would probably stay here again for the good room facilities but would not dine again in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartonbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Innes NSW
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Snagged one of the last rooms on a busy night (Valentine's Day). Room provided was away from the highway, but still could hear trucks through the night - noise not overbearing though. Room was larger than average with good quality fittings. Very large bathroom. Room could obviously be configured as a twin share, so the "King" sized bed was actually two singles pushed together; still fairly comfortable but you were aware of the join. Only other minor gripe was the lack of a window in the room - small sealed one in the bathroom, but I prefer to have fresh air and natural light rather than running the air-con. Had room service meal as restaurant was booked out. Obviously styled as a higher end restaurant, meals were better than average, if a little on the expensive side. A fair walk from motel to the CBD if looking for other dining/drinking options but location suited my purpose just fine.

Room Tip: Ground floor and away from the highway if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheepCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I have just spent last Saturday night at the Coachmans Inn Warwick, Qld with our son and his girfriend. We chose the dual key room which represented excellent value for four people. We had seperate rooms and bathrooms. One room is larger with a very comfortable king size bed, the other with a queen and a single bed.
Both are spacious and well equipped with flat screen tv, wireless internet (included), well stocked refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities. Bathrooms are large and clean with great towels. The large shower is good
Check and in was speedy and staff were friendly and always have note of your previous visits. A nice touch is the small bottle of milk for your cup of tea/coffee.
They do have a restaurant and the menu looks excellent however this visit other plans had been made for us.
I look forward to my return and will make a point of dining at the restaurant.
I would certainly recommend this Motel on you next Warwick visit

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkochaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Recently got stuck in Warwick due to flooding, and we were lucky enough to snag the last room at the Coachman's Inn. The people there were super nice and helpful even thought it was very busy. The room was great! Very spacious, modern and clean. The shower was huge and the bed was very comfy.

Only problem was its a little far out of town, about a 1/2 hour walk to Main Street with all restaurants etc

Didn't try the restaurant but it seems a bit fancier and higher end.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Has everything you want when travelling: friendly staff, quite, clean and comfortable rooms. Also has a restaurant so don't have to go anywhere. Will stay again. One of the better motels in Warwick. ..........................................

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warwick hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey of the Roses
Abbey of the Roses
#3 of 13 in Warwick
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
City View Motel Warwick
City View Motel Warwick
#1 of 13 in Warwick
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#2 of 13 in Warwick
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick Vines Motel
Warwick Vines Motel
#12 of 13 in Warwick
40 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Rose Motel
Country Rose Motel
#5 of 13 in Warwick
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman's Inn Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Inn Warwick

Property: Coachman's Inn Warwick
Address: 91 Wood St, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coachman's Inn Warwick 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coachman’s Inn Warwick is Warwick’s newest and finest Motel. We opened on the 5th October 2006. One of the many benefits of Coachman’s Inn Warwick is that it is located at the western end of Wood Street (New England Highway) and is a two minute drive to the town centre, tourist attractions and all civil and commercial facilities. The Warwick Hospital is less than a kilometre from our front door. We are a family business and go the extra mile to proudly offer a high standard of service to ensure you experience terrific hospitality, whether you are staying with us or dining in our fully licensed bar & grill. The luxury motel comprises 32 well appointed units – queen, queen & king single, family, dual key rooms and king spa suites as well as 2 bedroom serviced apartments. All motel units have complimentary Wifi access for the business executive, Foxtel television and DVD players. The property includes a swimming pool and guest laundry. Coachman’s Inn Warwick also boasts a magnificently appointed licensed restaurant – Rupert’s Bar & Grill – with an extensive a la carte menu designed by our team of talented chefs. Rupert’s is opened seven days a week for dinner. Rupert’s Bar & Grill has been themed to provide a relaxed environment and somewhere to unwind after a busy corporate day or after sitting behind the wheel. Enjoy our quality MSA graded beef, chicken, lamb and house specialities complimented by boutique wines and beers or perhaps a coffee and dessert. The choice is yours. Our Location is conveniently situated at the cross roads to Brisbane, Sydney & Melbourne. Coachman’s Inn Warwick can assure a great nights’ sleep in our acoustically designed suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coachman's Inn Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing