We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended - stunning building and amazing hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey of the Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey of the Roses
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - stunning building and amazing hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our Anniversary by treating ourselves to a night at Abbey of the Roses ... we certainly weren't disappointed! From their warm welcome to their willingness to share their love of this beautiful building, Mark and Sonia were the perfect hosts. We enjoyed the privacy of the 'Do Drop Inn' suite and our breakfast was delicious and served with a smile and a friendly chat. We would definitely recommend this wonderful B&B!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi KatieW

thank you for staying with us on your anniversary. Anniversaries are special and we are always flattered when couples choose the Abbey to celebrate this occasion.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to maybe welcoming you back again for another event or occasion.

Mark, Sonia & Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We only stayed the one night, but what a wonderful experience. Mark, Sonia & Basil were wonderful hosts. We were lucky enough to have booked after a wedding party had left, so we got to stay in the bridal suite. The Food was exceptional. To wake in the morning with those wonderful leadlight windows in a four poster bed was certainly an experience, It was wonderful hearing how Mark and Sonia came about acquiring this piece of Queensland History, You can see and feel the history in the Gardens when you look at how old some of these trees are. The only downfall was that we didn't stay longer. Be prepared to have a chat with Basil the Abbey cat, he's very talkative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Enixam65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Enixam65

thank you for all your kind words about the Abbey, food and your stay. Mark loves to hear about the food, it inspires him to create new things and keep trying to do even better.
Bazil also loves to hear about himself - well he does run the place! He is in tomorrows newspaper so thinks he is pretty special.

Hope to see you back again one day, if you can't think of a reason to visit again join us for a Christmas in July, Mothers Day or maybe get a group of friends and have a Murder Mystery night - make sure you book the Bavarian room yourselves thought.

Take care
Bazil the Cat, Mark & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked 3 nights for a leisurely stay at Abbey of the Roses and selected the Bavarian Room. Beautifully fitted out from the claw-foot free standing bath to the 4-poster bed and lovely traditional timber furnishings. This is the bridal suite on the weekends but named the Bavarian room after the origin of the 3 stained glass windows reaching to the timber ceiling. Also the added bonus of a verandah on the second floor facing east in the morning for lovely warm sunshine. Hosts Sonia and Mark were most welcoming with the right touch of being available for inquiries but unobstrusive around the building. The whole building was fascinating as it was a Sisters of Mercy Convent many years ago and has 3 floors in it. Special treat was the port or sherry (and chocolates) in the sitting room downstairs with beautiful couches, foot stools and of course the friendly Basil to keep an eye on us. He is the resident master of the Abbey and loves company and a rub. Freshly laid eggs for breakfast was a treat, and a special thought to provide gluten free bread for breakfast.
Went on day drives north, south, east and west. Loved the drive to Queen Mary Falls and Carrs Lookout with a lovely little cafe in Killarney called Gorgeous. We were the only guests as we went mid-week. It is a wedding reception centre on weekends as well as other events.
We would most definitely recommend the stay for a couple to have some "us" time.

Room Tip: Bavarian Room has own ensuite (very new), a very large room with sitting area and access to an east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussienomad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Aussienomad14

we are so happy you enjoyed your 3 days with us and found lots to do in and around Warwick. Some people feel there is nothing to do in Warwick but once you start exploring there are so many interesting things - she is a wonderful town.

Great that you enjoyed each day and didn't get bored with the Abbey. The chickens are still laying an egg each each day and keeping up with the supply. Bazil has become a bit of a 'protector' of the girls and sits out there chasing the birds away from their feed.

Take care and thank you for your review.

Mark, Sonia & Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our first stop over on our way from Brisbane to Victoria, and we were utterly charmed. Our hosts Mark and Sonia were very welcoming. Mark gave us a tour of a truly fabulous old heritage building, which has been delightfully and lovingly restored. We stayed in the Bavarian Room which was absolutely beautiful, we will visit again. Thank you for a truly wonderful stay, a delightful meal and a great start to our holiday.

Room Tip: We chose the Bavarian room, a lovely big room with a 4 poster bed. We also had access to a verandah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi Bronwen C

thank you for your review.

Glad to hear you had a lovely time and will be back.

Hope to see you soon.

Mark, Sonia and Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We drove from Brisbane after work to spend an evening away from it all, and found a wonderful place to stay, full of charm, history tranquility . Thank you both for a lovely stay a lovely meal, a great break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi PC

thank you for your positive review and staying with us.

Take care
Mark Sonia and Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I needed to get away from the daily city grind and found our stay at Abbey of the Roses to be a wonderful experience. As lovers of historical buildings we delighted in the Abbey's imposing facade, its stained glass windows, the peaceful Chapel, the maze of rooms and hallways full of memories yet made comfortable for modern guests, We took pleasure in all the hard work, love and pride the Abbey's current custodians have lavished on her. We enjoyed Mark and Sonia's welcoming and thoughtful hospitality coupled with a hot breakfast in an dining elegant room. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We look forward to returning to explore more of the area and revel in the old world splendor of the Abbey of the Roses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just been to a wedding here on the weekend and it was just stunning. A little slice of heaven in the middle of Warwick. The place is just beautiful, all the staff are so lovely and nothing is to much of a hassle. The owner is such a nice person and it goes to show why the whole establishment is run so well. Our room was number 9 and so stunning. Dinner for the wedding was sensational and such good portions. Wish i could attend a venue like this all the time. If you know anyone that wants a romantic, gorgeous place to have a wedding i highly recommend Abbey of the Roses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
24.1 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
1.2 mi away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#1 of 13 in Warwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coachman's Inn Warwick
Coachman's Inn Warwick
#6 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Motel Warwick
City View Motel Warwick
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Rose Motel
Country Rose Motel
#5 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey of the Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey of the Roses

Property: Abbey of the Roses
Address: 8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey of the Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey of the Roses is an 120 year old heritage listed boutique guesthouse hotel in historic Warwick. Relax and unwind in this country house manor and be the Lord & Lady for a night. Take the bicyles out for a ride or have a fun game of tennis. All rooms have been renovated and full or character with either private or ensuite bathrooms, some have queen, king or 4 poster beds but each has a different charm of its own. Sit an relax on one of the verandah's or in the gardens with a cuppa after a days sightseeing. Escape to the Country as a couple or book the whole house for a Family House Gathering. Dinner's can be arranged if booked at the same time as accommodation. A stay at the Abbey will be a memory for life - if you can't make it this week, add it to your bucket list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abbey of the Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing