We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey of the Roses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey of the Roses
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Abbey on two occasions recently and both have been an incredibly pleasurable experience. Our hosts were just lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Their love and care for the building is evident in every shiny fitting, lovingly restored furniture and glowing woodwork. It is very good value for money with not many B & Bs serving such a beautifully cooked and substantial breakfast. Its well worth your while in participating in the tour with Mark. We feel so lucky to have this very special piece of history as our personal getaway! R & R Fisher

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nona_paap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi nona_paap, thank you so much for the lovely review and having stayed with us twice. I am glad we have lived up to your expectations each time and helpt make your visit enjoyable.
Mark, Sonia & Bazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
82
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We decided to splurge on our last night of travel and stay at The Abbey. We found both hosts welcoming and we enjoyed our short tour of the lounge and dining area before we were shown to our room. The building has been lovingly restored and the owners have shown great attention to detail. We stayed in the Verandah Room 9 with a king sized four poster bed and our own bathroom (down the hall). The room was beautiful with a fireplace and tea and coffee available in the room. It opened out to a verandah. Unfortunately the view was partially blocked by a very large palm and the fronds overhung the space where we sat. I think it needed a little trimming, although I can understand it's probably a very old tree that they don't want to tamper with too much. Our breakfast was substantial, with yogurt, muesli, cereal as well a cooked breakfast of eggs, bacon, baked beans and tomato. Our only disappointment was being awakened at 6am by our chatty and heavy-footed neighbours upstairs. Something out of our hosts control. Overall though, a lovely experience. John and Anne

Room Tip: Choose a room without a room above - or visit during off peak. We had a full house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jandawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi John & Anne, thank you for your review. I am sorry you were woken up early that morning - by another early riser - that would really 'kill' a getaway. You did rate the service as a 4 and was wondering that if you had the time you could maybe drop us an email and let us know what we could do to improve that?
Thanks again and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan village Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped at Abbey of the Roses on the way back from Sydney and were spoilt rotten-beautiful accommodation and delicious breakfast. What a special experience. Sonia and Mark were great hosts and really cared for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you Jenny, fantastic that you enjoyed your self and hopefully have some special memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
352 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The building itself is beautiful and the handcraftmanship in and outside the building a dream to admire, however for a place to stay not recommended. At a cost of $170 for a very very small room, shared bathroom and a bed the SAS would be uncomfortable in it is not worth the price. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. The place also has wedding receptions and for the purpose of photographs would be great. Realistically considering the choice in Warwick, rooms here should be about $115 max.

Room Tip: Can't comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SinkingSeabourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi SinkingSeabourne
wow, this review has thrown me. The worst one we have had int he 3 years we have been here. It was upsetting to read.
You are correct in saying that you can get accommodation in Warwick for $115 - think some of the motels start from around $105 and up to $150 and for that price you will get an ensuite and a bigger room than the Nuns Room that you booked . But, without trying to sound defensive, we aren't a motel and if you want the standard motel accommodation it would definately be cheaper to stay at one. Different 'styles' of accommodation and pricing are not always about the size of the room, it can also be about the whole experience.
Unfortunatly the building wasn't built as an accommodation house and 2 of the 9 rooms on the first floor do share a bathroom when we are full with weddings. The other 7 rooms have private or ensuite bathrooms. As all the rooms are different we do explain what each room has on our webpage prior to guests booking.
If you do look at staying at a B&B in the future, please don't expect a motel room, all B&B's are different and have their own special appeal.
People who stay at the Abbey are generally looking for something a little different, like the experience of staying in an 1891 historic ex convent, on 2 acres, off the main road which can't be found in many towns, added to this being a B&B we do try and give a personal touch with complimentary sherry or port in the guest lounge when you come home from dinner and a breakfast of cereal, toast, juice, tea or coffee, poached egg, bacon and tomato that should last you till lunch time.
Sorry that your bed wasn't to your liking. It is hard to get the right bed for everyone, we have firm mattresses and then have the soft toppers on them to try and give a bed that will please.
We seemed to have failed in every aspect with your stay that is very dissapointing for us as well.
Please, anyone who is looking to stay in Warwick - if you are looking for the standard motel rooms and facilities book at one of the great motels in the town. If you are looking for a getaway with a difference we would love to have you stay and experience this grand old building.
We aim to make our guests happy, not dissapointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
449 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

On a recent road trip, we pre-booked a room at Abbey of the Roses, Warwick. This was a Catholic Convent in its previous life, and owners, Mark and Sonia have lovingly brought it to life beautifully to reflect its heritage. Many people in the hospitality industry could learn from Sonia and Mark in relation to guest hospitality, cleanliness and presentation. This is also their home, and the way they welcome guests into it can only be described as most welcoming. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast package in Room 7, the Bavarian Room, which is first-class in roominess, cleanliness and presentation, not to mention stunning, with beautiful stained glass windows, chandeleirs, 4 poster bed and opening onto an airy verandah. We were fortunate to have our intimate dinner for 2 in what was previously the vestry, an enjoyable 3 course home-cooked meal and we really enjoyed the dessert, being chocolate fondue with strawberries, marshmallows and banana for dipping. The whole property is a credit to Sonia and Mark, and don't forget their cat, Basil. A hearty breakfast was served in the spacious dining room. We were also lucky enough to have a personal tour of the whole of the Abbey by Mark with interesting anectdotes about its previous life and his renovations. Don't forget to ask for Mark's booklet, "Abbey of the Roses - A Historic Record 1891-2012" which may be purchased for a small price. It is a most interesting read.

Room Tip: There are various types of rooms to choose from, including a self-contained apartment for family gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Pandd1946
thank you for staying at the Abbey and your review.
It is great that you enjoyed this different experience of staying in a historic old building and you enjoyed your dinner - chocolate fondue is a bit of a blast from the past, but enjoyed as something different as well these days.
If you did the tour and bought the book you would have talked to Mark for a while and know that the passion and drive comes from him to keep this beautiful old building looking good to hopefully be visited and appreciated for generations to come.
Thanks again
Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Central
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Welcoming and a completely relaxing treat in the Bohemian room. The special package was a surprise for my new bride and myself, the in-house dining what we expected as we are fussy little piggies! Mark and Sonia delivered a luxurious two day retreat and the puss is a welcome visitor at any time! Nice to sleep without dogs for once! We thoroughly enjoyed the antiques you have on site, and are delighted to own one as a small token of our visit. Beautiful heritage building and wonderful history. First time out at Warwick, and lovely to also eat out locally at a nearby five star restaurant. Will have to re-visit! Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ViennaLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi ViennaLeary
thank you for taking the time to write your review. Fantastic that you enjoyed your selves and had a great time in Warwick. It is a lovely little town - small enough to feel like your in a country town, but big enough to get everything you need.
Regards Mark, Sonia and Puss in Boots Bazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at Abbey of the Roses last week with my boyfriend where we stayed in the Bavarian Room. When we arrived Sonia made us feel at home, and explained everything about the house and room. The room was AMAZING, we couldn't get over it. If anyone is familiar with the historical houses Ripponlea and Como in Melbourne, it was like getting the opportunity to stay over night there. We had champagne and chocolates on arrival and their friendly cat Basil really topped it off as we were missing our own fur children!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Abbey Cat at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Kimberly S
thank you for your review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay and this magnificent building. Hope to meet your furry friend one day :)
Regards Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
24.1 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
1.2 mi away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#1 of 13 in Warwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coachman's Inn Warwick
Coachman's Inn Warwick
#6 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Rose Motel
Country Rose Motel
#5 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Motel Warwick
City View Motel Warwick
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey of the Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey of the Roses

Property: Abbey of the Roses
Address: 8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey of the Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey of the Roses is an 120 year old heritage listed boutique guesthouse hotel in historic Warwick. Relax and unwind in this country house manor and be the Lord & Lady for a night. Take the bicyles out for a ride or have a fun game of tennis. All rooms have been renovated and full or character with either private or ensuite bathrooms, some have queen, king or 4 poster beds but each has a different charm of its own. Sit an relax on one of the verandah's or in the gardens with a cuppa after a days sightseeing. Escape to the Country as a couple or book the whole house for a Family House Gathering. Dinner's can be arranged if booked at the same time as accommodation. A stay at the Abbey will be a memory for life - if you can't make it this week, add it to your bucket list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Abbey of the Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing