We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded roses” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey of the Roses

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Abbey of the Roses
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Faded roses”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

I recently surprised my husband with a stay at the Abbey of the Roses B&B at Warwick for his birthday. The Abbey is a lovely old converted convent and looks fantastic on their web site.

We also went up to go to a country show at Allora a small country town nearby which was great as usual. It wasn't a good start when we arrived because there was no clear direction even to reception and when we found an office, with a young guy at the computer he didn't even respond to our question if he knew where the owner was. Mandy turned up a few minutes later and told us that we weren't going to be given the room we booked because they had a wedding party booked in and they were going to take over all of the 2nd floor but they wouldn't disturb us. (If we had known that the wedding was taking place we wouldn't have booked that weekend which is maybe why we weren't told about it).

So we walked up 3 flights to the attic which is a huge area with with 3 bedrooms and a huge open kitchen/lounge area which we thought was great. We were the only people there on the Friday night so it was quiet and we had a very personal and lovely breakfast the next morning in the cafe.

Then the wedding party arrived and gone was any peace and quiet. They stayed up to 3am talking, laughing in the bridal suite which was directly under our bedroom. I ended up moving to the bedroom at the other end in an attempt to get some sleep, however, as only 1 door locked and we could hear people climbing our staircase (there was one at both ends of the attic), and we had already had people just walk up "just to see what was there" and open the closed door, when I was coming out of the shower earlier in the evening, then arrived back to dinner to find it left open again. I had put 2 chairs across the doorway to try to stop people coming in because there was no lock on that door and no sign at either staircase to say that they shouldn't go up as it was accommodation.

In the morning when I told the owner about people walking in, no locks and the noise there was a "they shouldn't have done it, here's your bill". Because of the wedding party we also had our breakfast in the chapel, a huge room where the guests walked through to get the cafe, so we were only too glad to leave. Table clothes and carpets stained throughout the place and a strange smell wouln't encourage us to go back or recommend I'm afraid. A big disappointment.

  • Liked — The history of the place
  • Disliked — The lack of security and privacy to the room and noise from large crowd
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
6 Thank MGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeywarwick, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, June 14, 2011

I am sorry to hear you weren't happy when you visited over three years ago and that no one had replied to your comments. We have just found this comment and wanted to reply even though we weren't here when you stayed.
We purchased the Abbey last year and have given the 'faded rose' a 12 month face lift.
If you are passing through Warwick any time in the future and have the time, you might be impressed with the new fence, painted building and beautiful gardens - this grand old lady has been given her pride back.
New Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#4 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
24.1 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
1.2 mi away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#1 of 13 in Warwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coachman's Inn Warwick
Coachman's Inn Warwick
#6 of 13 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Rose Motel
Country Rose Motel
#5 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.6 mi away
City View Motel Warwick
City View Motel Warwick
#2 of 13 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey of the Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey of the Roses

Property: Abbey of the Roses
Address: 8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Warwick
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey of the Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey of the Roses is an 120 year old heritage listed boutique guesthouse hotel in historic Warwick. Relax and unwind in this country house manor and be the Lord & Lady for a night. Take the bicyles out for a ride or have a fun game of tennis. All rooms have been renovated and full or character with either private or ensuite bathrooms, some have queen, king or 4 poster beds but each has a different charm of its own. Sit an relax on one of the verandah's or in the gardens with a cuppa after a days sightseeing. Escape to the Country as a couple or book the whole house for a Family House Gathering. Dinner's can be arranged if booked at the same time as accommodation. A stay at the Abbey will be a memory for life - if you can't make it this week, add it to your bucket list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Abbey of the Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing