We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Good Enough!”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Blue Lagoon Resort is not actually a resort. It is a furnished apartment on rent. They do not have the following - bell boy services, wifi in the rooms, a small store to help meet immediate needs and on site restaurants owned by the establishment.

While booking for this place, it clearly said that wifi shall be available in every room. However, during our stay at this place, there was no wifi connection available to us in our rooms. This caused a lot of problems for me as I could not contact my family as regularly as I would have liked as well as could not do conduct my work/businesses.

Also, for the 3 days we were staying in Cairns, the temperatures were soaring at 95-100 F. The air conditioner didn't work on any of the 3 days. We repeatedly informed them of this. Neither did they change our room not did they do anything about it. So all in all, we were sleeping in hot stuff apartment for 3 days. This was a huge inconvenience for my family and me. We were right across the Trinity Beach and there was no cool breeze as well as it is peak summer season in Cairns.

Although the reception was professional in helping us figure out our tours, they didn't really help us make our stay as comfortable as we had hoped.

I would like to understand why.

Room Tip: For a family with children, who would like some more space, this place is great. But like I said, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SneheeChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Snehee

We are sorry you feel our staff did not try and make your stay more comfortable. You had booked a studio apartment which accommodates a maximum of 2 people. It was discovered that you had a 3rd person travelling with you when the airport transfer company we had booked at your request, called to advise of this. It was clearly stated when you booked the transfer that the charge quoted was for 2 people. Fortunately the transfer company had space for an extra person. On check in you were advised you would require a different room type (maximum no of guests in relation to room size are requirements of health & safety & fire regulations). You advised you did not wish to pay extra & wanted time to consider this. You reluctantly agreed to the less expensive option of an additional studio & fortunately we were able to accommodate you by providing the two rooms close together.

On the third party website you booked through it does not advertise in-room Wifi. We have a free hotspot around the reception area, which you were able to use at any time. Should you require an establishment with a bell boy, self-catering apartments are perhaps not for you. There are in fact 2 stores within walking distance and open long hours, to help meet immediate needs and we fail to undertstand your issue with who owns the on-site restaurants. They are available for all to use and offer discounts for our guests.

With regards the air conditioning, management attended immediately after you reported it. It was found that you had the system on the wrong setting - heating the apartment rather than cooling it. The manager showed you how to operate the system and no further mention was made by you nor have there been any further issues with that apartment in the hotter months since you stayed.

We feel perhaps your review is slanted by the fact we did not allow an extra person in your room.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 453 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

7 of us stayed here in 4 rooms. Trinity Beach is very quiet. If you stay here prepare to travel if you want to do anything! But public transport and car hire is only a few steps away.
If you want to relax, take it easy and just do the odd trip into Cairns or the Reef this is the place.
They have a great reception are with more brochures than you thought could exist and they are happy to help you make decisions.
The rooms are nice, there is BBQ areas and nice pools. But please be aware the local Trinity shop on the corner is a total rip off! Everything is 2/3 times the price. So if your in Cairns or near a supermarket shop there instead.
In Queensland most activities are expensive but most offer free transfers from Trinity Beach. So save your money by staying here, have BBQ's and eat in your rooms and then lash out on all the activities the area has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAussieExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have just come back from our stay at Trinity Beach. We were 3 families on a holiday and were quite pleased that we were all situated in the same building on different levels. My parents were in a room next to my sister's apartment and we were two floors above them. I guess it helped that when we booked online we also rang and requested that we be placed close to one another. During our conversations with the ladies in reception, Vikki and Danni, they did state that it does help when booking to request certain needs, such as lifts, views etc. The apartments are clean, spacious, comfortable and have all the amenities required. The rooms have a starter pack in toiletries and coffee, tea & sugar; we had a car and drove to the nearest Coles and stocked up on what we needed. There a 3 pools, the kids loved playing in the 2 closest to the apartments and each pool has a bbq area. The bbq's are clean. Vikki and Danni are friendly and very accommodating. They were more than happy to answer all our questions and assist us with the various tours that we were looking at doing. The service was always with a smile. The location of the resort is quite central, it is close to the beach (5 minute stroll), close to the restaurants and if you have hired a car close to the local shopping centre. Also, it is in a great position for heading out on day trips. It is a quiet area and does not have the hustle and bustle of Cairns or Port Douglas. Just down the road from the resort is a quaint shop, that sells clothing, bathers and other bits and pieces. It is worth a look, as it does have very nice clothing and shoes and the lady in the shop is so nice and friendly and it is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Request if you need a lift or a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soula a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We are a Swedish family with 2 children , 12 and 14 years old. We spent a wonderful week over Christmas at Blue Lagoon Resort. The apartment was very spatious with comfortable beds and the pools were great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. trinity beach is a relaxing , quiet place yet with all convenience you need.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathjacobsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 5+ days at this resort. Overall, we had a good experience but there are a couple of reasons why I didn't rate this property as 'very good', which I will get to later.

This resort is very conveniently located - less than a 10 minute walk from the beach, lots of nice restaurants and cafes and a even shopping market nearby. Depending on the location of your room and building, there are nice views of the lagoon. The property is well maintained. The room that we stayed in was spacious enough and had modern equipment including a dishwasher and shared laundry. The staff were generally friendly and accommodating - they were always ready to help. Special mention to Caroline and the other Scottish lady.

There are a few things that could be improved. One, there is no in-room internet which I find puzzling in this day and age. The resort did offer us free wi-fi but the wi-fi hotspots are located near the reception area, so if you don't have line of sight of the reception you will have no internet. I believe the management is looking into this issue so I hope they fix it soon. Two, there are no lifts in some buildings - so if you had to haul your luggage up two to three floors that can be quite annoying, especially in Cairns weather. I heard some parents complaining about this issue as they had to carry their prams up and down each time they went out. Three, we also had some intermittent problems with air-conditioning although this was not a major issue for us.

This resort is ideal for families and couples. For those who want to get around the area, I'd suggest hiring a car as public transport is unreliable at times.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor, with clear lagoon views (not all blocks get lagoon views)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust81000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments about our staff. With regards the Wifi, we are currently examining options for expanding the hotspot, however it would result in a charge to guests as the resort is spread out over 9 buildings and would be costly as a result. We have found that most guests would prefer not to pay for internet which is why we provide the use of the hotspot free of charge in the meantime.

We do have some buildings with elevators and some with stairs. Two storey apartment complexes in Queensland do not have lifts. It is only a requirement for 3 storey and above, which is why our higher buildings have lifts. When we are made aware that guests are travelling with a baby we locate them in a room suitable for their needs. Re the guests you mention with the pram, unfortunately we had no notification from their agent that they were travelling with a baby. They had however requested a higher floor which we accommodated. We were advised they were travelling with an infant when they had already been in-house a few days, however they were very happy with their room. As I am sure you can understand we can only go by the information we are provided with at time of booking, which is why it is always better to contact the resort direct if you have any special requirements.

The public bus from Trinity Beach runs into the city every half an hour on the weekdays & hourly on weekends. We have not previously received any complaints as to it being unreliable.
We hope you choose to return to Blue Lagoon Resort in the future & take advantage of our repeat guest discount by contacting us direct.

Kind regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent facilities.

We had a very young baby, and the staff were very helpful and understanding.

Great pools, tennis court, gym, restaurant.

Only a couple of minutes walk from the supermarket and the beach/shops.

Great place to enjoy FNQ!

We hired a car and drove to all the main attractions. Trinity beach is great in this regard, because it's so central to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This resort contains a modern and contemporary feels away from the very touristy Cairns. I loved staying at this complex with the beautiful pools and views at an affordable price. Staff were lovely and gave us great advice when deciding between tours. It was a short walk to the beachfront and local shops. I enjoyed every minute we spent there and would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britt_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
0.1 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: 22-26 Trinity Beach Rd, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: $73 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Trinity Beach
Blue Lagoon Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing