We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Lagoon Resort
Nearby Hotels
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort(Trinity Beach)(Great Value!)
$207
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa(Kewarra Beach)(Great Value!)
$202
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Palms(Kewarra Beach)(Great Value!)
$114
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Half Moon Bay Resort(Yorkeys Knob)(Great Value!)
$89
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Marine(Yorkeys Knob)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
$318
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Amphora(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
$119
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sarayi Boutique Hotel(Palm Cove)(Great Value!)
$117
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveler rating
268
149
30
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
149
30
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio apartmentmain poolthai restaurantwashing machinestaff at receptionshort walk to the beachstayed here for nightsport douglastop floornice balconylime treetennis courtssmall kitchenkitchen facilitiesself cateringhired a carbar and grill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 460 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent 5+ days at this resort. Overall, we had a good experience but there are a couple of reasons why I didn't rate this property as 'very good', which I will get to later.

This resort is very conveniently located - less than a 10 minute walk from the beach, lots of nice restaurants and cafes and a even shopping market nearby. Depending on the location of your room and building, there are nice views of the lagoon. The property is well maintained. The room that we stayed in was spacious enough and had modern equipment including a dishwasher and shared laundry. The staff were generally friendly and accommodating - they were always ready to help. Special mention to Caroline and the other Scottish lady.

There are a few things that could be improved. One, there is no in-room internet which I find puzzling in this day and age. The resort did offer us free wi-fi but the wi-fi hotspots are located near the reception area, so if you don't have line of sight of the reception you will have no internet. I believe the management is looking into this issue so I hope they fix it soon. Two, there are no lifts in some buildings - so if you had to haul your luggage up two to three floors that can be quite annoying, especially in Cairns weather. I heard some parents complaining about this issue as they had to carry their prams up and down each time they went out. Three, we also had some intermittent problems with air-conditioning although this was not a major issue for us.

This resort is ideal for families and couples. For those who want to get around the area, I'd suggest hiring a car as public transport is unreliable at times.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor, with clear lagoon views (not all blocks get lagoon views)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlust81000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your kind comments about our staff. With regards the Wifi, we are currently examining options for expanding the hotspot, however it would result in a charge to guests as the resort is spread out over 9 buildings and would be costly as a result. We have found that most guests would prefer not to pay for internet which is why we provide the use of the hotspot free of charge in the meantime.

We do have some buildings with elevators and some with stairs. Two storey apartment complexes in Queensland do not have lifts. It is only a requirement for 3 storey and above, which is why our higher buildings have lifts. When we are made aware that guests are travelling with a baby we locate them in a room suitable for their needs. Re the guests you mention with the pram, unfortunately we had no notification from their agent that they were travelling with a baby. They had however requested a higher floor which we accommodated. We were advised they were travelling with an infant when they had already been in-house a few days, however they were very happy with their room. As I am sure you can understand we can only go by the information we are provided with at time of booking, which is why it is always better to contact the resort direct if you have any special requirements.

The public bus from Trinity Beach runs into the city every half an hour on the weekdays & hourly on weekends. We have not previously received any complaints as to it being unreliable.
We hope you choose to return to Blue Lagoon Resort in the future & take advantage of our repeat guest discount by contacting us direct.

Kind regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Excellent facilities.

We had a very young baby, and the staff were very helpful and understanding.

Great pools, tennis court, gym, restaurant.

Only a couple of minutes walk from the supermarket and the beach/shops.

Great place to enjoy FNQ!

We hired a car and drove to all the main attractions. Trinity beach is great in this regard, because it's so central to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This resort contains a modern and contemporary feels away from the very touristy Cairns. I loved staying at this complex with the beautiful pools and views at an affordable price. Staff were lovely and gave us great advice when deciding between tours. It was a short walk to the beachfront and local shops. I enjoyed every minute we spent there and would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britt_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

For our 25th wedding anniversary we stayed upstairs in a one bed room apartment, nice and modern but the mattress was uncomfortable and quite small for a queen size. From day 1 we complained to staff about the lounge area air conditioner not working-it was constantly blowing out warm air. Was basically told by more than one staff member that we weren't operating it correctly. By day 5 I'd had enough so a technician finally inspected it and declared it definitely wasn't working and the whole cheap crappy air conditioner should be disposed of and replaced. Unbelievable...we basically had to leave the bedroom air running 24/7 to be able to sleep. Sometimes the customer is right!

Room Tip: Demand another room asap if the air conditioner isn't up to scratch...can get quite warm upstairs
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leeloo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise you experinced some discomfort with the air conditioning. When you first reported the issue maintenance attended, performed the normal procedures and checks and found the unit to be operating correctly. 9 times out of 10 the remote has been found to be on the wrong setting. The second and last time you reported the issue, 3 days later, we had a technician attend and a replacement system was organsied.

The air conditioner in the bedroom is large enough to cover the entire apartment. It would be expected you would not have the lounge unit operating overnight and the bedroom unit was fully operational in order for you to run whilst asleep. However, if you had requested a room move we would have facilitated this. We do not expect guests to put up with an air conditioning unit that is not functioning. Unfortunately mechanical devices fail from time to time and we do our best to resolve these issues as soon as possible.

Regarding the size of the mattress, please note it is the same dimensions as any standard queen bed. Had you requested a king size mattress, we have other apartments with this bedding configuration, subject to availability.

We see from your booking notes that you are looking to re-book for Christmas, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble. Fantastic spot to stay. Always friendly, always willing to offer advice on things to do in the local area. Very much enjoyed our time here, just not not long enough. Special mention to Vicki, who was outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglezzagr8_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews