We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crappy airconditioning”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

For our 25th wedding anniversary we stayed upstairs in a one bed room apartment, nice and modern but the mattress was uncomfortable and quite small for a queen size. From day 1 we complained to staff about the lounge area air conditioner not working-it was constantly blowing out warm air. Was basically told by more than one staff member that we weren't operating it correctly. By day 5 I'd had enough so a technician finally inspected it and declared it definitely wasn't working and the whole cheap crappy air conditioner should be disposed of and replaced. Unbelievable...we basically had to leave the bedroom air running 24/7 to be able to sleep. Sometimes the customer is right!

Room Tip: Demand another room asap if the air conditioner isn't up to scratch...can get quite warm upstair...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leeloo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we apologise you experinced some discomfort with the air conditioning. When you first reported the issue maintenance attended, performed the normal procedures and checks and found the unit to be operating correctly. 9 times out of 10 the remote has been found to be on the wrong setting. The second and last time you reported the issue, 3 days later, we had a technician attend and a replacement system was organsied.

The air conditioner in the bedroom is large enough to cover the entire apartment. It would be expected you would not have the lounge unit operating overnight and the bedroom unit was fully operational in order for you to run whilst asleep. However, if you had requested a room move we would have facilitated this. We do not expect guests to put up with an air conditioning unit that is not functioning. Unfortunately mechanical devices fail from time to time and we do our best to resolve these issues as soon as possible.

Regarding the size of the mattress, please note it is the same dimensions as any standard queen bed. Had you requested a king size mattress, we have other apartments with this bedding configuration, subject to availability.

We see from your booking notes that you are looking to re-book for Christmas, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Blue Lagoon Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 429 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble. Fantastic spot to stay. Always friendly, always willing to offer advice on things to do in the local area. Very much enjoyed our time here, just not not long enough. Special mention to Vicki, who was outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglezzagr8_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Loved staying here at Trinity Beach. Much nicer than downtown cairns which was very touristy! Lovely friendly staff. Nice accomm for good price. Lots to do and there are shuttles that pick you up for day trips so no need to worry if you don't have a car. Took a ride up to palm cove (hired bikes through local company that delivered to blue lagoon) and that was beautiful. A lot more populated up at Palm Cove though. Lovely restaurants located at your door step when staying at Blue Lagoon. Such a nice place - definitely recommend!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brit_8889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you want to avoid the tourist masses in Cairns this is a good place to stay. Basic, but fully equipped apartments. Not totally soundproof. Just a little stroll to the nice beach. It is also just a short drive to Cairns (although this is a city you don't have to see). Good value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamackermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights midweek and were in a ground floor studio apartment with the pool literally just outside our patio.
Staff at check in, booking trips and check out were very friendly and helpful, felt very welcome when we arrived.
Studio was well equipped with everything we would need and liked having the bbq facility close by.
Really nice relaxing stay, just what we were looking for!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A very nice accommodation. Close to the beach and shops are only about a 10 min walk. Good place to stay and venture out from to see more around Cairns and the Tablelands. Helpful staff who are willing to help you in deciding what to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had lived in Cairns for 5 years ago and went back south four years ago. We stayed at another resort in Cairns in July and were disgusted that they did not and have not bothered about chasing up a bad revue (The Lakes Resort and Spa). Therefore for our next trip we decided to check out 1st hand and inspect The Blue lagoon prior to our departure in July. We found the staff very willing to show us a 2 bedroom apartment which we booked for our November stay & they were more than wiling to right the wrong & bad experience of The Lakes. As being ex residents of Cairns we know quite a lot of people. We are now highly recommending The Blue Lagoon to our family & friends & will have no hesitation in booking to stay here again.. We have had no issue with noise from other guests or residence of the apartments. Or even the close proximity of the restaurants. The Thai restaurant Bangkok Rose is very nice and friendly and we found the prices to be ok. We were welcomed yet again by smiling happy reception staff on our arrival. Pool is beautiful as is our view overlooking the Lagoon. Outside of buildings are clean as well as inside. No complaints & thank you again for going out of your way to all staff for righting a wrong that was not to do with your resort. We'll be back to stay for sure

Room Tip: Friendly staff, clean quiet spacious rooms, all the amenities of home to make you feel like you'...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
0.1 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: 22-26 Trinity Beach Rd, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: $95 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Trinity Beach
Blue Lagoon Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing