We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The hotel room was clean, modern, simple and had great views. There are no lifts in the building, only stairs, but only two or three floors. The hotel is right across the street from the nets during off season. The staff were very friendly.

Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SydneyRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 298 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2009

We had the best holiday ever. Melissa and all of her staff were so helpful which helped to make our stay Fantastic. On the Beach Holiday Apartments were just what we were looking for. The beach is right accross a small no through road so not much traffic at all and is not busy like Palm Cove. Trinity beach is a wonderfull location with a beautifull beach for everyone. Great location also for all trips that you will want to do while in Cairns which is only 20 min away by car. Most tour opperators will pick up from Trinity beach as well if you don't have a car. Would HIGHLY recommend On The Beach Holiday Appartments to anyone who wants a Perfect holiday. Well done Melissa and staff, We will be back.

David & Christine Bridel & Family

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlantManAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Great location , made to feel so welcome which is what you need after a long flight, so full credit to the owners me and my wife loved it.
The apartment we stayed in was great and had everything we needed, which is a stone throw away from the beach which has a life guard from 9am to 5pm so quite safe.
A few resturants down the road, we liked the sports bar.
Looking forward to oneday coming back to Cairns had a great week just what the docter ordered, the time we was there it was fairly quiet so just right for us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxxgman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Good size 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom apartment with full kitchen and laundry facilites. Very clean and comfortable. Access to low cost wifi (A$38 for a week) Very helpful management. Thanks Melissa, you were a great source of information.
Supermarket and some shops within 1km. Smithfield shopping centre short drive. Used Cruising car hire, which were convienient, and gave a lift back to airport from their Cairns office.
Trinity is a quiet location, so not the place if you want night life, we didn't, so it was an excellent base to explore the area. Close to Cairns, Kuranda and an hour from Port Douglas. Most of the Barrier Reef diving trips offer pickup / drop off at Trinity for around an extra A$10 per person. Used Aristocat out of Port Douglas for the reef trip. They were very good and as a scuba diver, they were very safety conscious. There are others who are bigger and take 200 people at a time to fixed structures on the reef, but are not recommended by anyone I spoke to.
Would pick up a car from the airport as the taxi fare to Trinity is approx A$65, about the same as a days car hire for a Toyota Corolla sized car, but pre book the car as the walk up rates are considerably more expensive.
The swimming pool is quite small for the Beachfront apartments, but who cares when the Coral Sea is 20m from your door!
Apartment has secure under cover parking.
We discovered that on the sea front at Palm Cove, 10 minutes up the road, there are free to use BBQs, take your own food or buy the fresh fish from the trailer in the car park on the north end of the beach. Kayaks for 2 out of Palm Cove are A$35 / hour and you can just about make it to Double Island and back.
On the marina jetty at Port Douglas Lure Restaurant is good food and good value ( they supply the excellent food for Aristocat as well).
Great week and would recommend On The Beach Apartments, and would go back again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carbon_footprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The units are clean, comfortable and well-appointed with adequate cooking and laundry facilities, functional air conditioning and covered car parking. All face the sea and as a result have nice views - better from the upper level units. My only reservation is that the pool is on the small side, there are no sun umbrellas and there is a charge for pool towels. However, if you are looking for a base to explore the region that takes in Cairns, Port Douglas and the Atherton Tableland, it is great. The drive from Palm Cove to Port Douglas is stunning and the Port Douglas markets on sunday mornings well worth a visit. There are a couple of decent eating houses nearby, there is a good local bus service and the local supermarket will deliver your shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I, along with our two best friends, had the pleasure of staying at On the Beach Holiday Apartments this August, 2009. The four of us have always stayed in hotel rooms before, but decided to try an apartment for our trip to an Australian beach area. We did our research (part of it through Trip Advisor) and thought this was a good fit for us. We were so right. The two bedroom apartment was on the beach, close to several restaurants, within walking distance to a grocery store, a bakery, and a chemist (pharmacy). The apartment gave us a feel that we were coming home compared to a hotel room. We ate out several times, but as a cost savings, we also cooked in the apartment. We were able to watch the sun rise each morning while sitting on our balcony and enjoying coffee we made. We were completely satisfied with the experience and Melissa, the manager, and her daughter Jennifer, were wonderful! Melissa responded to a slight problem with the apartment (the dryer door needed repair) with immediate action. Melissa also helped us with our tour selections and gave us the time we needed to make our choices. I would recommend On the Beach to anyone looking for a relaxing stay close to the beach and would like to have a staff that will assist you in your tour planning. One exceptional tour I must mention is the Seastar which is a tour to the Great Barrier Reef, both the inner reef at Michaelmas Cay and outer Hastings Reef. The Seastar offers snorkeling, diving, an introductory dive for those who would like to try it, as well as a glass bottom boat ride. This is a great value for your money and it is an excellent experience. Two of us went diving, one tried the intro dive, and one snorkeled and all of us were thrilled with the experience.
Pattie

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat350Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

My Wife and I spent 5 relaxing days at Trinity Beach, which is a quiet suburb 15km north of Cairns. The locale is quite small and has limited restaurent and shopping facilities. This is definitely a place for old farts (cheap ones like me) or families with young kids who just want to play in the sand. Thre is no real nightlife for the swinging set. It isn't the best beach in the area, certainly Four Mile at Port Douglas has much nicer sand and swimming, but it quite pretty with plenty of palm trees and framed by hills. The stores are about a 15 minute walk, and you should be capable of this if you stay here. Bus service does run by the shops, but it is every 1/2 hour. This is not a place for those with mobility problems.

On the Beachfront was a nice facility. We had a lovely third floor balcony apartment overlooking the ocean and watched the lovely sunrise each morning before plunging into the ocean for a swm. The room was well laid out and a perfect size for two. the kitchen had a microwave and hot plate. We cooked dinner each night on the bbq downstairs by the pool. Overall, I would rate the place as good value. The staff ere pleasant and the two resident cats who patrol the grounds were most friendly.

However, a big disappointment was the stinginess in regards to supplies. My wife and I have stayed in a number of self-catering units in Cairns and around Australia and never before have we been told by the management that we must purchase our own hand soap, toilet paper, trash bags, and other basic complimentary items at the local supermarket. We found this quite astonishing given that a small cake of soap costs the owners a few cents. This attitude completely baffled me and put the damper on an otherwiwse pleasant experience as I had to hike up to the local supermarket to by a roll of toilet paper. this is the reason I makerd them down from 4 stars to 3 on value and from 3 stars to 2 on service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltycroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Address: 49-51 Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: $111 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing