We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great holiday”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

just back from 4 fab weeks at these apartments, we stayed in a 1 bed room (no 14)nice room, all the cleaning staff were brill Melissa and kevin were very helpful , could not fault the apartments or staff .go their you,ll love it . also thanks to mercury direct for making it possible

Room Tip: room 14 3rd floor corner best position
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baggieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Sounds like you had a ball. Thank you for letting us and others know. I know the UK is a long way, but I'm sure we will see you again :)

Kind regards - Melissa (Kevin says thank you too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    87
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
85
141
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Three of us spent 8 nights here just before Christmas in the middle of a fairly hectic month's trip to Australia. As a "mid-holiday holiday" it was perfect. Our apartment on the the third floor was clean & spacious with excellent facilities throughout. The views from the lovely balcony over the ocean were spectacular. The apartment was close to the amenities of Trinity Beach - 5/10 minute walk only. Trinity Beach itself is small and fairly limited but perfectly adequate for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing stay with some good bars and restaurants all within walking distance.
Staff in the hotel were most helpful and obliging throughout our stay - booking trips for us and even helping with the luggage up the stairs when we arrived in the dark and were unable to find our apartment!

Overall, we had a thoroughly relaxing week in this lovely part of the country and would recommend Beachfront Apartments without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back anytime!
Kind regards, Melissa - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in a fab apartment in Trinity Beach-its about 20 mins from downtown Cairns but its a tiny place with a road of hotels and a fab beach. You can get buses into Cairns-a lot cheaper than a taxi which costs $60 AUD.
Its also not far from Kuranda.
The flat was large and very comfortable-there is free WiFi -which works on the balcony!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the sea is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Not quite a top score in all areas and we would welcome further feedback from you, especially where sleep quality is concerned. If we can know what apartments people stay in, then we can attend to areas which require attention. Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your holiday, which is what we aim for on every occasion. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Awesome start to the new year thanks to On the beach holiday apartments. Melissa was extremely helpful for organising all our tours and recommending things to see and places to go. So much done but still so much more to do when me & my partner do return. The apartments were clean, well kept and up to date and we wouldn't stay any where else. Would highly recommen.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adzz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Was great to have you stay with us. So many new visitors come to our Property after being referred by family and friends. This is the best way for us to let as many people as possible learn about what we have to offer. Trinity Beach is a great destination and being so close to the patrolled beach, you couldn't be staying in a better Property. Thanks for your kind words. We are so pleased you loved it here.
Regards, Melissa Speer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment right outside to pool and BBQ area for the first week of January 2014. We could not have asked for a better apartment, location or service. This is my 3rd stay at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, Trinity Beach and I would honestly not stay anywhere else. Apartments were clean, fully self contained with all we needed for a weeks stay, nice dark room for sleeping and quiet, air conditioned, modern audio visual (not that it's needed as there's so much to do) and furnishings. The beach is literally across the road with lifeguards and stinger nets so you can safely swim in the balmy, warm ocean if you feel like a break from the beautiful pool and spa. Gorgeous, safe place to walk around, plenty of amazing restaurants/eateries/bars, particularly the Blue Moon Grill, all in walking distance. Melissa organised all our trips and tours which were all amazing, still need to go back to see more! Can't recommend it highly enough. Thanks to all for another perfect holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KylieE71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear you loved the place. See you again for your 4th visit, next year.
Cheers for now, Melissa - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the On-the-beach Holiday Apartments for three nights in January. We are a family of four (including two teenagers) on a three week vacation in Australia. We booked the two bedroom, “Ocean View” suite on-line and pre-paid C$228 (about the same in $Aus) per night (all in, including taxes, etc.) per night.

Having read the reviews where people complained about not being in the “main” building, I was prepared for what might be a “winner-loser” situation where we either got a “good” building or we didn’t. However, our building seemed very much like the others (at least from the outside), so it is difficult to understand the complaints. I suppose if you didn’t have a car and had to carry your bags up a path and down the street a few hundred metres/yards, it might be inconvenient, but hardly a reason to complain.

In any event, we ended up in the building behind the main office building. Our third-floor room had multiple sliding glass doors on to a balcony that ran the width of the building, with excellent views of the beach and ocean. At one point we stood there trying to remember if we had ever had accommodation with a better beach/ocean view.

One word of caution is that our third floor apartment was a walk-up (i.e., no elevator/lift). Not a problem for me to carry a number of 20kg/45lb suitcases, but could be a struggle for someone less physically capable.

The location is across the street from the only part of the beach in town that is swimmable during the stinger season. I had assumed from the property photos that the “fenced-in” (i.e., netted) swimming area belonged to the hotel, but it is actually the public beach, so it was perfect that we could simply walk across the rarely-travelled street, and have the benefit of the netted swimming area and also be in the care of a public lifeguard.

The room was extremely (and I mean “extremely”!) spacious with two bathrooms, two bedrooms, a full kitchen and very large living/sitting area. It also had full laundry facilities. The décor was basic and certainly nothing special, but it was functional and clean. The apartment also had three separate air conditioning units (each with a remote control) as well as a number of ceiling fans.

We cooked two nights using the pool-side barbecue facilities, which were more than adequate for our needs. Our only problem with meals was that the entire apartment only seemed to have four place settings of utensils, meaning, for example, that we potentially were using the same fork for dinner and dessert. The pool itself is small, but there is a separate pool for each building, which in our case meant only six units potentially sharing it at any time. And I have to say that the pool looks much better in person than in the photos. The earth-toned rock aggregate surface of the pool and deck tend to give it a “dirty” look in photos.

The complaints I do have are that the ”free” wi-fi was extremely intermittent. I don’t know if it was low bandwidth or simply poor signal strength. Downloading simple web pages could easily take 30 seconds to a minute, if they downloaded at all. The connection would regularly drop. It took about 40 minutes to download an iPad app that would have loaded in 3-4 minutes at home.

My second complaint is the lack of any sort of black-out curtains in the master bedroom. Facing east, our room got the sunrise early. The vertical blinds were thin and really provided nothing more than privacy. We ended up taking spare blankets and other things we found in the apartment and rigged them up to block out the light in the morning.

I think it is highly unlikely that I will be back in Cairns / Trinity Beach any time in the next five years, but if I was, I would likely look first to On the Beach and might not bother checking for alternatives.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdvisorKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you so much for this extensive Review. This certainly provides us with some really good feedback which we can use to make improvements to our Property. Such improvements we can look at include:

Wi-Fi Connection: I have emailed our Provider the feedback and will be following up on how the signal can be improved. The repeater is at the rear of the main building so the building I think you were in should have had great service. This may have been an isolated period, but certainly worth while checking.

Bedroom 1 Blinds: I have emailed the owner of the apartment this feedback and the blinds will be changed within the next 6 months. They are quite old now so the block out factor may have worn (not sure if this happens, but certainly something to consider).

Kitchen Supplies: We have already sought quotes to have all cutlery, crockery and glassware upgraded throughout the entire Property. This is a huge job and will be completed by the end of the Low Season (June 2014). All 2 Bedroom apartments will have settings of 8 and all 3 Bedroom apartments settings of 12. Item numbers have diminished this Season with either theft or breakages and this task will now be attended to sooner rather than later.

We are so pleased your overall holiday was great and that you would return in the future if the opportunity presented itself. We are always making improvements of some degree and these suggestions will certainly help everyone's overall holiday enjoyment.

Thank you again for this Review. I'm sure other travelers got a lot out of it, as I did.

Kind regards
Melissa Speer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Only there for two nights but we were impressed with the location, size and cleaniness of the apartment. Great sea views and well located for shops and restaurants. The staff at reception were very helpful, friendly and pleasant. People like these add to the enjoyment of your holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
It sounds as though you had a short but sweet holiday with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our team.

Many thanks
Melissa Speer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaroo at Trinity
Amaroo at Trinity
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#2 of 21 in Trinity Beach
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Property: On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Address: 49 - 51 Vasey Esp, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing