We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a the Oceanview Apartment no. 26 and the all the stairs were worth the view. The staff were very helpful, especially with the tour bookings. We loved just walking over the road to the net enclosure or we swam in the pool. Close to any little shops if we needed. Very central to any tours we choose to go on. Thank you so very much for making our 7 days away very special.

Room Tip: Ocean view apartments have more stairs of course if you don't mind, but worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosMc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review. The ocean view apartments do offer an amazing panoramic view of the ocean and it is great to hear that the stairs are worth it. You were on the top floor so the view couldn't have been better!
The Region offers some amazing Tours and it seems like you did a few of these also.
We hope to see you back in the future - don't forget, you can request the same apartment again and we will always do our best to meet personal requirements.
Kind regards
Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 298 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just spent four nights from easter monday. We booked a garden view two bedroom apartment but we were upgraded to a ocean view for free. Very happy with the standard of the apartment and the location. Modern and well appointed. Only a short walk to the beach and right in front of the stinger enclosure. Upon departure we were given a 15% discount card for a return stay. One thing to be mindful of is to ensure the reception is going to be open at your check in time. The reception was closed at 2pm on easter monday when we arrived. I phoned the office number and was directed to dial 1 to speak to the manager in case of emergency. My call went straight to his message bank due to him not having mobile coverage at the time. After leaving a few messages on his message bank and calling Hotel Club (who we booked with) twice to no avail. 45 minutes later we were left pondering alternate accommodation for the night until the manager called my mobile and directed me to a key safe with a pin number. The office staff had thoughtfully left an envelope with my room keys and directions. Perhaps and email with out of office hours checkin details would have been a good idea. Putting this aside we were very happy with our stay and will most definitely be using our discount voucher next time. Thanks P.S Trinity beach was fairly quiet during our stay, which was nice, no hoards of people. Nice resturants too.

Room Tip: Room 35 and 36 are the best ocean view rooms in my opinion. About 100m walk to the beach from this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 951BrettM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

We love it when we can upgrade people to the next apartment style - a lovely surprise and one which was obviously appreciated.

Thank you for sharing your arrival experience. This allows everyone to learn and certainly allows us to help others avoid a similar issue. We apologise for your confusion. As a Property, we don't always get the Contact information required (email and/or phone details) to let you know about the terms of your arrival.

When booking through an outside Agent, I recommend you always check the Property Website for Conditions. All of our Listings ask the traveler to contact us directly if they are going to arrive outside of Office hours (and Office Hours are displayed where the Site allows).

We are so pleased this worked out and you had a great time. Our After Hours process generally works great and as a result of your feedback I will check all sites to ensure details are included.

Thank you again for your feedback. Please make sure you use your Loyalty Card and we look forward to seeing you back here in the near future.

Regards
Melissa Speer - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent our Easter break here and couldn't fault a thing. In fact check in is for 2 pm but on Easter Thursday afternoon I received a text from Melissa advising us that we could check in early on Good Friday. This was very much appreciated as we got to relax for a little longer than was expected. Thank you once again. We will definitely be back and will let our friends know as well. We only live up the hill on the tablelands, so not too far to go for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

So pleased to hear you had a great Easter break.
Thank you for telling your friends about us - the best way we can keep our prices competitive is to reduce our costs, and the biggest cost is advertising. The more people who get told about our property, the better rates we can offer. Win win for everyone! We look forward to having you stay with us again, and I am so pleased to hear you appreciated your early arrival (even more pleased that the weather was amazing!).
Kind regards
Melissa - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here in a 1 bed apartment (room 11) for 2 weeks 12th-26th March and had a fantastic time!. We were given a beach facing room on the 1st floor with excellent views. The apartments are very well presented with enough equipment for a self catering stay.
The staff are so nice and friendly and will help in booking trips for you at no cost. This takes all the hassle out of sorting it yourself, leaving you even more time to enjoy yourself!We had a problem with a fan not working and if you read other reviews the owners tell you that they cannot solve a problem they do not know about. Bearing this in mind we mentioned it to Melissa on our way out and when we got back a new fan had been supplied, problem solved and a very good response. Our 2 weeks flew by all too quickly and our only regret is we had not booked a slightly longer stay here. To sum up, a really great holiday enhanced by a fab apartment and wonderful staff, I cannot reccomend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGAR1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your Review. We take Guest feedback seriously and as you have noted, we do everything possible to address the needs of everyone, from booking a tour to making you comfortable. We are so pleased to hear you loved your holiday - I agree, we have wonderful staff who are here to help.
Kind regards
Melissa - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We heard about On the Beach Holiday Apartments from friends. What a gem. We had a spacious 3 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment. Very clean and no bugs. Furnished nicely. The kitchen had a generous amount of cupboard space and stocked adequately with dishes, pots/pans, utensils etc. The washer and dryer were very handy. Large patio that looked onto the beach and the outdoor pool below (we were 2nd floor). The pool area has a BBQ and a covered eating area. There is secure underground parking. All the staff that we talked with were friendly and very helpful. They also helped you with booking any tours you wished to go on. This property is in a great location - right across the street from the beach and the lifeguard station. It is an easy walk to restaurants and shops and an easy drive into Cairns. Would we go here again - most definitely. We're already planning another trip.

Room Tip: We've only been here once but paid a little extra for a unit that overlooked the ocean. Well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

The best type of advertising for us is word of mouth and we are very pleased to hear that your friends have told you and now you have told thousands of travelers about our little piece of paradise.
Our 3 Bedroom Beachfront apartments are perfect for families as you found. It is great you are already planning your return. Make sure you contact us to see if we can accommodate you in the same apartment.
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience at On The Beach. It is greatly appreciated.
Kind regards,
Melissa Speer - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here 6 years ago for our honeymoon, with 3 teenagers. Couldn't wait to come back as a couple and weren't disappointed.
The rooms are clean and comfortable with fantastic views of the beach. Lovely pool/spa area, with BBQ.
The air con was dripping when we arrived but within hours of us mentioning it to reception, it was fixed.
All the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Yet again a perfect stay, if we can return in another 6 years time we will!!
Only wish is that there was a safe in the room. There is one in reception you can put passports etc in, but one in the room to put your purse/wallet in so you don't have to take all your things down to the pool or beach would be ideal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

6 years is a long time and so pleased to hear we still offer the same property and services - consistency is what helps make great memories year after year for so many people.

We often write about Guests reporting issues as they occur and this is a perfect example of how each issue is attended to. We have a great maintenance team and we all work together to help with individual needs.

We hope to see you in another 6 years, if not sooner. I'm sure we will be offering the same great place, same great service, great value and of course, Trinity Beach will remain the same great piece of Paradise.

Thank you for your feedback.
Melissa Speer - Owner Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is long overdue, as we stayed here for three weeks Oct/Nov '12. Due to various reasons(health, computer probs etc) I am only just now writing this review.
My husband and I had previously stayed at Trinity Beach six/seven years ago but in a different property. We had no views at all and a poorly equipped apartment. When we arrived at TB this time and were shown to our top floor On The Beach apartment we couldn't believe how lovely it was. We had the most amazing views over the beach and Ocean from our well furnished balcony. Waking up every morning to the sound of the waves lapping on the beach was like paradise! Our apartment was spotlessly clean wwith everything we needed.

The pool area is beautiful with a lovely Jacuzzi that I made good use of. There is a BBQ area near the pool with all the equipment you need. We regularly used the BBQ, spending some wonderful evenings there before having a last glass of wine on our balcony!

The owners/managers, Melissa and Kevin are wonderful people with a sound knowledge of the area. It is obvious they love living here and nothing was too much trouble for them. In fact all the staff we met were just as lovely. The girls on reception, Mel and Jane were so kind and helpful as were all the maintenance/gardening staff. They were never too busy to have a chat.

Trinity Beach itself is our own personal favourite place in Australia. This was our fourth visit to Oz staying in other areas, but this place holds of piece of our hearts.

The only disappoining thing for us was that we only booked for three weeks! We must have been mad as we could easliy have stayed longer.
Book this place... you won't regret it! Hope to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaSpeer, Owner at On the Beach Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

It is lovely to hear you love Trinity Beach so much, and On The Beach even more.

All staff try to make everyone have a great holiday and it is appreciated that you name all of us, including Jane and Mel, who often go over and beyond their duties to ensure a memorable stay.

We hope your health issues have improved and that we see you back again soon.Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this feedback - it doesn't matter how late it might seem, it all helps other travelers get the right idea of what we have to offer and the efforts we go to for each Guest.

Have a great year.
Kind regards - Melissa and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
Roydon Beachfront Apartments
#3 of 21 in Trinity Beach
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Change Beachfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On the Beach Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Holiday Apartments

Address: 49-51 Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range: $111 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly opposite the patrolled swimming area of beautiful Trinity Beach and within a two minute walk to local shops and restaurants. On The Beach Holiday Apartments offers 35 self-contained apartments. We have 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments each with its own private ocean facing balcony to capture the cool sea breezes and wonder at the amazing sunrise. Apartment types include Beachfront and 2 bedroom Ocean View - something for everyone. Stay for a night (one bedroom), a week or a month. WELCOME TO TRINTY BEACH, CAIRNS FAVOURITE BEACH. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your On the Beach Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Hotel Trinity Beach
On The Beach Holiday Apartments Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing