We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Cairns Northern Beaches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castaways Trinity Beach
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best location in Cairns Northern Beaches”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We returned to Trinity Beach Castaways for our annual July holliday break as we did last year. Love it. Best location in Northern Beaches. Friendly hosts who commit to making your stay happy and comfortable. Love the sound of the birds in the beautifully kept gardens. Handy to restauraunts and tavern and of course close to the beach. Family arrived for a short stay and and were welcomed and accomadated for without a fuss. Very clean appartment with all we needed for a long stay. Great price too. Back next year.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon_freeman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed here at the end of May and were cheerfully surprised at how comfortable it was. Yes it is an older style of accommodation, but the beds were comfortable, the shower worked, the kitchen was well appointed, the staff are friendly and helpful. Great value for money. It is in a great location away from the crowds of Cairns, close to the beach and corner shop. If you are looking for something that has a big wow factor when looking at it, then you will be disappointed, but I have found over a long period of traveling that modern looking does not mean comfortable and friendly, this place is both, in bucket loads. I would happily recommend it to family and friends as a value for money place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have trouble negotiating stairs ask for a ground floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleLJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This motel was great! I loved being so close to the beach and close to the restaurants. It's far enough away from Cairns to give a private feeling to your vacation.

Our beds were perfectly comfortable and the sitting area was nice, including the little patio outside, by the pool.

I'll come back and stay here, again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank epalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is definitely a budget accommodation. I just have to say I didn't book it, my boyfriend did, through a 3rd party. I think it was $120 for three nights. Then we had to pay an additional $90 for the 4th. The decor is very outdated. The place was clean. The bathroom looks like the one from my dorm days in College. After five minutes in the bedroom the main light exploded and went out and the other two lamps provided very dim lighting. Which was probably a good thing because in the daylight the bed looked very tatty. In the morning we couldn't sleep in because our window, although it had a lovely garden outlook, faced the busiest road in trinity beach and early in the morning you could hear the trucks rumbling by. The building is on a very busy street corner. When I tried to make some tea and breakfast, ants were all over the counter, our food, and me. I know it is the tropics, but you can kill the buggers with some honey and boric acid. The manager was very helpful and responsive when called on him with a problem we were having in the unit. The unit had a very good washer/dryer unit ( &laundry basket) and a newer dishwasher. The oven/stove was very old however, and it looked like the oven door might fall off. We checked out and went to a holiday apartment across from the beach with an ocean view. This is more like a backpackers and would work if you are on a very tight budget and going to spend all day, every day at the reef. If you want a relaxing, romantic holiday, give it a miss.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trinity Beach hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The staff here were very nice and helfull.
The dates I requested for a 1 Bdrm apt were all full so they upgraded me to a 2 Bdrm Apt..
The 2 bedroom Apartment was lovley inside, clean, Comfy, spacious... A good bed to sleep on, a little balcony.there were plenty of fans and air con...Was Very happy with standard of room..
The 3 advertised pools were ok 2 were very small but nice with bubble action aswell the large one not very appealling but apart from that it was a good location, Trinity beach was great and for the price a bargin really....

Thanyou my stay was very enjoyable..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bexda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Having traveled around the district a bit for work with accomodation allocated to me, when it came to actually looking for myself given the array of places I've stayed, I was really scratching to find accomodation that would give me and my guests a taste, feel and example of living and genuine Tropical Australin culture without the head in the sky commercialism. Castaways turned out to be prefect! Centrally loacted, bus stop out front and just a block from the beach, was a great base for just about anything we wanted to go see or do. We found it was clean, great having a full laundry too! Was quiet, and the staff were most obliging and accomodating, we hired our car through them, and even more, were most accomodating by letting us stay and freshen up before tackling Tiger's late evening departure, and being able to return our hire car at the Airport !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank outlooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2008

For A$150/night for a 2BR apartment - this was cheap. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are very dated and being at the cheaper end of the spectrum, there were plenty of bogans making noise well into the early hours.

On the positive side, it was really cheap (oh, I said that already) and the position is great - really close to the beach and small strip of shops/reataurant.

Bathroom was old but clean. Dryer didn't work and the TV remote was broken. Kitchen was basic - with the utensils being so cheap and nasty that they were barely usable.

Great holiday digs for students, I would imagine........

  • Liked — Close proximity to Beach
  • Disliked — Most of the other things
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank afxdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trinity Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apartments
Trinity Beach Club Holiday Apart...
#11 of 21 in Trinity Beach
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
#10 of 21 in Trinity Beach
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
#4 of 21 in Trinity Beach
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Trinity Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Trinity Beach

Property: Castaways Trinity Beach
Address: Cnr Trinity Beach Rd & Moore St, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castaways Trinity Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Units at Castaways Trinity Beach are set amongst spacious tropical gardens and lawn areas. Our three swimming pools with spas incorporate outdoor entertainment and BBQ areas for guests to use at their leisure. For those who like to swim in the sea, or just lie on the most popular beach in the Cairns region, it is only a 75 metre walk to the esplanade.Consisting of three adjoining blocks of 17 one bedroom and 26 two bedroom fully self-contained apartments, Castaways Trinity Beach has all the comforts of home including: full kitchen facilities with microwave oven, private laundry, air-conditioning & ceiling fans, insect screens, colour TV, free cable TV, ISD/STD telephones, private balcony/patio, 3 saltwater pools & BBQ areas, undercover parking, free tour desk and competitive car hire rates.Apartments are serviced weekly and all linen is provided excluding beach towels which can be hired from reception.Other facilities include cot and high chair hire, baby sitting services, car washing areas and fax services.Our relaxed friendly atmosphere, tropical climate and 3.5 star rating ensure a comfortable family environment that blends in with the tropical character of Trinity Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Castaways Trinity Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Trinity Beach Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing