We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"VeryFamily Friendly"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"VeryFamily Friendly"”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have just recently spent 5 nights (end of Jan. to the beginning of Feb.2014) at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort. Our appartment was very clean, we made use of the fully equipt kitchen with what looked like new cutlery, crockery, Pots and Pans. We swiming in the beautiful pool every night and had breaky and dinner on our balcony every day to the sound of the Ocean. Trinity Beach is a beautiful peaceful place, it has some lovely restaurants and a hotel within walking distance. The Resort is roughly a 20 min. drive from Cairns and an 3/4 of an hour to Port Douglas. We hired a Car at the Airport, drove to Kurranda although the train trip is also a lovely was to get there.
We will definately be staying here again. The manager Graeme was very helpful with things to do and was very friendly

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HayleyVictoria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    138
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
283
143
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I spent 28 wonderful days at Coral Sands which made me even happier. I watched sunrise 28 consecutive days--thanks to superb location of Coral Sands--and recharged my batteries after delivering Happiness courses in the infinity pool and enjoyed the company of Marilyn and her attentive staff. Coral Sands was home for me away from home. I shall definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BGungoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Sensationally located, friendly staff and beautifully renovated apartment-what more could you ask for?? Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend it to others-no question! We booked through the Expedia website which made choice and pricing easy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Great spot to get away from hustle and bustle of Cairns.
Excellent reception staff. Helpful with tour reservations.
Great pool. Beautiful grounds.
Across from beach and very near protected swimming area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ExplorerAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 BRM apartment over New Years & the location on Trinity Beach was great, the rooms & furnishings are a little dated, but the pool was great for the kids & close to restaurants. Shopping is quite a way away - approx 20 min cab ride or accessible by bus. Overall a lovely holiday spot - nice & relaxing!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I didn't actually get to stay here. I booked through booking.com and, although booking.com claim to have sent me confirmation, I didn't receive it. Coral Sands certainly didn't bother to confirm my booking either. So, after searching for several hours for the booking (I couldn't recall the name of the resort) I believed I must've made a mistake and not booked after all. There was no evidence of my booking on the booking.com website even where there should've been in "My reservations". So, the day after I didn't show up to accommodation I didn't know I had booked my credit card was charged $2400. Yes, I agreed to this and for my mistake I would've gladly accepted to pay for the first night. As the Coral Sands resort pointed out it was school holidays - a peak time for business - therefore they would've been able to re-let the apartment. Anyhow, they weren't helpful at all and neither they, nor booking.com accepted any responsibility even though neither saw fit to send me a confirmation email (Coral Sands) or store my booking details (booking.com). They were very happy to take my hard earned money though....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mummao5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicsTrinityBeach, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Coral Sands resort only sends confirmations for bookings made direct with the resort, we do not send confirmations for bookings received from third parties as often these bookings only provide the names of the guest and no contact details. Booking.com have an automated confirmation sytem which confirms bookings at the time the online booking is made.

On the morning after the day the reviewer was due to arrive, staff phoned this reviewer with the telephone number given by Booking.com. Staff could only leave a message as the call was diverted to message bank. Staff also notified Booking.com of the 'No Show' to ascertain if they knew the reason why the reviewer had not shown up. This 'No Show' of the reviewer was of particular concern as the booking was for a 3 bedroom apartment for 7 nights during the heavily booked September school holidays.

The reviewer did not return our phone call but in an email later that day told us they had forgotten about this booking and were already on another holiday. To quote from the guests email ‘Sorry for the mix up”. Coral Sands Resort does have a cancellation policy and unfortunately in such circumstances we do not have any choice but to enforce it as the owner of the apartment would have suffered a loss by not having a booking in their apartment.

On the 3rd day of the booking the guest emailed us and said as they had paid for the accommodation they planned to come and ‘make use of our apartment.’ We confirmed that we had not been able to relet the apartment at such short notice and it was available for when they arrived. We also sent a follow up email a short time later detailing our late arrival procedure in case they arrived during the night.

We hold copies of the booking.com reservation and emails from this reviewer to support our response to this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Coral Sands for six days in a three bedroom apartment. It was clean, well looked after, with a view out over Trinity Beach to the sea and a gate through which we could walk out into the swimming pool. The apartment itself was one of the best places we have ever stayed in.

So why not five stars. Two reasons: first, it's self catering, which we like, but a long way from any decent shops. There's a small shopping centre about 15 minutes up the road, but it's overpriced, or the Smithfield shopping centre, which is good but a twenty five minute bus ride away. (we took one look at some of the ridiculous prices in the small shop over the road and decided that the 15 minute walk was manageable!)

The other reason was that after about 7 o clock a group of teenagers came in each night and used the pool in a way which, whilst not actually obnoxious, made our kids feel uncomfortable. We didn't think they were residents, as there's little to stop anyone coming in and using the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrddraigllwglyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearsky261642, Manager at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review of the apartment you stayed in on your holiday, we are so pleased you found the apartment ‘one of the best places you have ever stayed in’. Graeme and I work very hard at maintaining a high standard at the complex.
You have mentioned the high prices for items being charged at the local shops but unfortunately these prices are out of our control. These shops are very good ‘convenience’ shops and often involve the shop owner travelling some distance to purchase only a couple of items from another supermarket so that they can be made available. The appeal of Trinity Beach as a popular holiday destination for holiday makers is that we are not over developed or crowded as so many other holiday destinations.
We are disappointed that you did not mention your concerns to us about the behaviour of some teenagers while you were inhouse or when you checked out. If we were aware this was happening we would have checked if the teenagers were staying in the resort. The only open entry into the resort is through the reception area as a key is required for all other gates. The reception area is monitored by CCTV and no unusual activity was observed. There is also a telephone at the reception area which connects to our afterhour’s service for the reporting of any incidents such as you observed.
As with many complexes, other guests can sometimes be a problem on occasion and we are sorry you and your family have had this experience. Please accept our apology for their behaviour and we hope we can welcome you back to Coral Sands Resort another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinity Beach
0.3 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#6 of 21 in Trinity Beach
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Apartments on Trinity Beach
0.2 mi away
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
Bellevue at Trinity Beach
#5 of 21 in Trinity Beach
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
On the Beach Holiday Apartments
#10 of 21 in Trinity Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sands Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Beachfront Resort

Property: Coral Sands Beachfront Resort
Address: Cnr Trinity Beach Road & Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Sands Beachfront Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at Coral Sands Beachfront Resort enjoy the best of everything. There's the resorts fantastic location opposite the beach and beside the beachfront restaurants and local bus stop - as well as the very large, child friendly, lagoon-style swimming pool and the extra spacious guest rooms with their private balconies and ensuites. Here, you have a choice of 1,2 or 3 bedroom stylishly furnished, fully equipped apartments - all with lovely aspects of the beautiful resort gardens, the Esplanade right outside, and the lovely swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Coral Sands Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Beachfront Hotel Trinity Beach
Coral Sands Beachfront Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing